Jump to content

HWSensors

FakeSMC Plugins Hardware Monitoring Sensors SuperIO Temperature Voltage Tachometer Frequency

  • Please log in to reply
1026 replies to this topic

#301
kdtt

kdtt

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
It seems everything is working nicely.
I changed configuration default value to that of evga.
I can't get screenshot upload working.
One question
VRM Supply 1 1.458v
VRM Supply 2 1.140v
There's quite difference there. Is that normal?

#302
Mohamed Khairy

Mohamed Khairy

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,135 posts
  • Gender:Male

As I remember in your AIDA or HWMon dump it was EC controller methods for temperatures, fans and maybe voltages. You could try it. I have tested APCISensors with code like this inside LPCB device:

Device (MON0)
{
	Name (_HID, "monitor")
	Method (VIN0, 0, NotSerialized)
	 {
	  Store (0x2FCF, Local0)
	  Return (Local0)
	 }
	
	 Method (VIN1, 0, NotSerialized)
	 {
	  Store (GO02, Local0)
	  Return (Local0)
	 }
	
	 Method (VIN2, 0, NotSerialized)
	 {
	  Store (GO03, Local0)
	  Return (Local0)
	 }
	
	 Method (VIN3, 0, NotSerialized)
	 {
	  Store (GO04, Local0)
	  Return (Local0)
	 }
	
	 Method (VIN4, 0, NotSerialized)
	 {
	  Store (GO05, Local0)
	  Return (Local0)
	 }
				}

Generally it's not important where you going to insert monitor device. In the code above I was checking GPIO methods returning values. They already was in my DSDT:
					OperationRegion (GPIO, SystemIO, 0x0800, 0x05)
					Field (GPIO, ByteAcc, NoLock, Preserve)
					{
						GO01,   8,
						GO02,   8,
						GO03,   8,
						GO04,   8,
						GO05,   8
					}

For this monitoring ACPI code I have modified "Keys Associations" node in ACPISensor's info.plist like this (thought it is voltages so it's Voltages section):

<dict>
<key>VVBS</key><string>VIN0</string>
<key>VVCS</key><string>VIN1</string>
<key>VVDS</key><string>VIN2</string>
<key>VVFS</key><string>VIN3</string>
<key>VVAS</key><string>VIN4</string>
</dict>

There is in the left side is valid SMC keys and in the right side monitor ACPI device methods to read values from



Thank you, should be completely fixed now in the latest rev.


thanks will try to simulate it on my notebook

#303
beta992

beta992

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hi kozlek,

Sorry to bother you.. but I can't see the voltages with the new version.

Is there a cache somewhere? I have deleted Fakesmc.kext, install using the Installer, and rebuild with Kext Utility.

Is there something I missed?

Thanks for your work! :)

Attached Files



#304
kozlek

kozlek

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 331 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Israel

Hi kozlek,

Sorry to bother you.. but I can't see the voltages with the new version.

Is there a cache somewhere? I have deleted Fakesmc.kext, install using the Installer, and rebuild with Kext Utility.

Is there something I missed?

Thanks for your work! :)


Please provide you kernel.log and ioreg dump

thanks will try to simulate it on my notebook


Ok, we could try to make an example of usage ACPISensors with your system. It will take a time for investigation and tests and we couldn't know if it will be a result, so I am not going to help for everyone who wants to use ACPISensors.

I need from you unmodified ACPI tables, from windows or linux live cd. For Windows you can use RWEverything or AIDA64 trial, for linux use Google to find terminal commands you should enter to dump tables

#305
Goron

Goron

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:somewhere out there ...
Thanks kozlek! Total reinstall brought some light ;)

Attached File  Ohne Titel.png   32.7KB   2 downloads

Now, there only two states: lowest x16 und highest x33! In Bios it´s set to max. multiplier x42 in turbo mode ???

How are the states generated, or are they static values depending on CPU model?

Thanks for clearing up!

#306
Mohamed Khairy

Mohamed Khairy

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Please provide you kernel.log and ioreg dump



Ok, we could try to make an example of usage ACPISensors with your system. It will take a time for investigation and tests and we couldn't know if it will be a result, so I am not going to help for everyone who wants to use ACPISensors.

I need from you unmodified ACPI tables, from windows or linux live cd. For Windows you can use RWEverything or AIDA64 trial, for linux use Google to find terminal commands you should enter to dump tables


ok thanks kozlek

here what do you want full acpi dump from windows

Attached File  ACPI Tables.zip   27.07KB   8 downloads

if it will work you can make a guide line for acpisensors or if i understood what we must do for that will try write this guide line

thanks very much :)

#307
kozlek

kozlek

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 331 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Israel

ok thanks kozlek

here what do you want full acpi dump from windows

Attached File  ACPI Tables.zip   27.07KB   8 downloads

if it will work you can make a guide line for acpisensors or if i understood what we must do for that will try write this guide line

thanks very much :)


Misfortune, sorry. I don't found any useful ACPI code in your tables. There is temperatures and fans and powers names in one of SSDTs but it doesn't contains any registers to read values from. AIDA report txt also contains nothing. Only sensors I can see is on your AIDA screenshot. But I don't know what is DELL SMI and how to get access to it.

#308
Mohamed Khairy

Mohamed Khairy

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Misfortune, sorry. I don't found any useful ACPI code in your tables. There is temperatures and fans and powers names in one of SSDTs but it doesn't contains any registers to read values from. AIDA report txt also contains nothing. Only sensors I can see is on your AIDA screenshot. But I don't know what is DELL SMI and how to get access to it.


that is right

slice said that he know the way for getting access to it but he didnt have intention to make it :(

hope if you dont mind to have this intention to make it :)

any way iam thankful to you for your attention with my problem ;)

#309
Pietruszka

Pietruszka

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi kozlek, i would like to inform you that now, the gpu sensor works great here on my 9800gt GFX card.


Hi



Can I ask for help one more time ?


the same problem here (8800gs g92)


gpu temp shows 15 (slice ver.) or 0 with kozlek latest ver.


should be something about 42-45



do I have to change something with nvclockx.kext???

this is my kernel.log


NVClockX: Card: 0, Device ID: 606, Architecture: 40000, G92 [GeForce 8800 GS]

NVClockX: BIOS successfully read
Apr 8 19:16:05 localhost kernel[0]: NVClockX: Parsing BIOS complete
Apr 8 19:16:05 localhost kernel[0]: NVClockX: Adding temperature sensors

with windows tools this value: NV_20400 (0x20400): 00000028 shows temp

I'm sure this is G92 arch.
maybe with my card I should use G84 getting temp method (I see 0x20400 value) in this method?


thank you for any help



#310
DarkUser89

DarkUser89

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany / Saarbrücken
09.04.12 12:29:07,000 kernel: NVClockX: [Warning] it seems your card isn't officialy supported yet
09.04.12 12:29:07,000 kernel: NVClockX: [Warning] please tell the author the pci_id of the card for further investigation
09.04.12 12:29:07,000 kernel: NVClockX: [Warning] continuing anyway
09.04.12 12:29:07,000 kernel: NVClockX: Adding temperature sensors

Geräte-ID: 0x1201

#311
deckert

deckert

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
Hi, finally have fans and voltages showing in the latest release

Posted Image

Now I am trying to rename them and work out the gain for them in the SuperIOSensors.kext Info.plist
Here is the information displayed in the bios:

Posted Image

I have started making a new profile for my motherboard in the Nuvotron NCT677X Monitor section above the ASUS motherboards (as it appears all the profiles have been entered in alphabetical order):

<key>ASRock</key>
<dict>
   <key>Z68 Pro3-M</key>
   <dict>
	  <key>FANIN0</key>
	  <string>CPU Fan</string>
	  <key>FANIN1</key>
	  <string>Chassis Fan #1</string>
	  <key>FANIN2</key>
	  <string>Chassis Fan #2</string>
	  <key>FANIN3</key>
	  <string>Power Fan</string>
	  <key>FANIN4</key>
	  <string></string>			  
   </dict>
</dict>

Do I need to add all the keys that are in the other profiles? Or can I build it up as I work out which fan/temp/voltage is which?
Also, I have not been able to work out which voltages are the 5v and 12v from the dumps I got from AIDA64 and OpenHarwareMonitor.

The following is from the OpenHardwareMonitor dump
+- ASRock Z68 Pro3-M (/mainboard)
|  |
|  +- Nuvoton NCT6776F (/lpc/nct6776f)
|  |  +- CPU VCore	  :	0.944	0.944	1.192 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/0)
|  |  +- Voltage #2	 :	1.864	1.856	1.872 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/1)
|  |  +- AVCC		   :	3.376	 3.36	3.376 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/2)
|  |  +- 3VCC		   :	 3.36	3.344	3.376 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/3)
|  |  +- Voltage #5	 :	0.152	0.104	0.248 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/4)
|  |  +- Voltage #6	 :	1.696	1.696	1.696 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/5)
|  |  +- Voltage #7	 :	0.864	0.856	0.864 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/6)
|  |  +- 3VSB		   :	3.472	3.472	3.472 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/7)
How can I find out what each of the unnamed voltages are?

#312
sacaman1

sacaman1

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:www
kozlek,


there are a problem with the last version i lost all the sensors
please can you check it

thanks

#313
Pietruszka

Pietruszka

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi



Can I ask for help one more time ?


the same problem here (8800gs g92)


gpu temp shows 15 (slice ver.) or 0 with kozlek latest ver.


should be something about 42-45



do I have to change something with nvclockx.kext???

this is my kernel.log


NVClockX: Card: 0, Device ID: 606, Architecture: 40000, G92 [GeForce 8800 GS]

NVClockX: BIOS successfully read
Apr 8 19:16:05 localhost kernel[0]: NVClockX: Parsing BIOS complete
Apr 8 19:16:05 localhost kernel[0]: NVClockX: Adding temperature sensors

with windows tools this value: NV_20400 (0x20400): 00000028 shows temp

I'm sure this is G92 arch.
maybe with my card I should use G84 getting temp method (I see 0x20400 value) in this method?


thank you for any help



OK

I've checked with NVClock Linux port and this is what I got:


-- General info --
Card: G92 [GeForce 8800 GS]
Architecture: G92 A2
PCI id: 0x0606
Subvendor id: 0x0000
GPU clock: 576.000 MHz
Bustype: PCI-Express

-- Shader info --
Clock: 1458.000 MHz
Stream units: 96 (11110011b)
ROP units: 12 (1110b)
-- Memory info --
Amount: 384 MB
Type: 192 bit DDR3
Clock: 848.568 MHz

-- PCI-Express info --
Current Rate: 16X
Maximum rate: 16X

-- Sensor info --
Sensor: NV50 GPU Internal Sensor (correction=32)
GPU temperature: 48C

-- VideoBios information --
Version: 62.92.1f.00.09
Signon message: GeForce 8800 GS VGA BIOS
Performance level 0: gpu 575MHz/shader 1438MHz/memory 850MHz/0.00V/100%
VID mask: 3
Voltage level 0: 0.95V, VID: 0
Voltage level 1: 1.00V, VID: 1
Voltage level 2: 1.05V, VID: 2
Voltage level 3: 1.10V, VID: 3

So my card (Architecture: G92 A2 PCI id: 0x0606) should use nv50 (not g84, not g92) get_temp function to get proper TEMP value

I've found that in info.cpp of nvclockx



case 0x600: /* G92 */

case 0x610: /* G92 */

arch = G84; //NV50;


so adding my device id (0x0606) and arch = nv50 should fix my problem???

can you kozlek make a small change in the code of nvclockx

thanks for help , great tool :)

#314
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,294 posts
  • Gender:Male
hi friend , why there is error in voltage?
I use Fake smc 4.0 and plug in intelthermal.kext and NuvotonNCT677x.kext
Lol
Voltage is very strange in +12 +5 -12 -5
where it is error?

Attached Files



#315
GhaleonX

GhaleonX

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
I have Nuvoton NCT6775F which is partially working with this. Anything I can do to help bring full support?

#316
kozlek

kozlek

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 331 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Israel

Hi, finally have fans and voltages showing in the latest release



Now I am trying to rename them and work out the gain for them in the SuperIOSensors.kext Info.plist
Here is the information displayed in the bios:



I have started making a new profile for my motherboard in the Nuvotron NCT677X Monitor section above the ASUS motherboards (as it appears all the profiles have been entered in alphabetical order):

<key>ASRock</key>
<dict>
   <key>Z68 Pro3-M</key>
   <dict>
	  <key>FANIN0</key>
	  <string>CPU Fan</string>
	  <key>FANIN1</key>
	  <string>Chassis Fan #1</string>
	  <key>FANIN2</key>
	  <string>Chassis Fan #2</string>
	  <key>FANIN3</key>
	  <string>Power Fan</string>
	  <key>FANIN4</key>
	  <string></string>			  
   </dict>
</dict>

Do I need to add all the keys that are in the other profiles? Or can I build it up as I work out which fan/temp/voltage is which?
Also, I have not been able to work out which voltages are the 5v and 12v from the dumps I got from AIDA64 and OpenHarwareMonitor.

The following is from the OpenHardwareMonitor dump
+- ASRock Z68 Pro3-M (/mainboard)
|  |
|  +- Nuvoton NCT6776F (/lpc/nct6776f)
|  |  +- CPU VCore	  :	0.944	0.944	1.192 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/0)
|  |  +- Voltage #2	 :	1.864	1.856	1.872 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/1)
|  |  +- AVCC		   :	3.376	 3.36	3.376 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/2)
|  |  +- 3VCC		   :	 3.36	3.344	3.376 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/3)
|  |  +- Voltage #5	 :	0.152	0.104	0.248 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/4)
|  |  +- Voltage #6	 :	1.696	1.696	1.696 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/5)
|  |  +- Voltage #7	 :	0.864	0.856	0.864 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/6)
|  |  +- 3VSB		   :	3.472	3.472	3.472 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/7)
How can I find out what each of the unnamed voltages are?


Good question. We could make a tests, see post #264

kozlek,


there are a problem with the last version i lost all the sensors
please can you check it

thanks


As usual I need kernel.log and IOReg dump. Please, provide them.

OK

I've checked with NVClock Linux port and this is what I got:


-- General info --
Card: G92 [GeForce 8800 GS]
Architecture: G92 A2
PCI id: 0x0606
Subvendor id: 0x0000
GPU clock: 576.000 MHz
Bustype: PCI-Express

-- Shader info --
Clock: 1458.000 MHz
Stream units: 96 (11110011b)
ROP units: 12 (1110b)
-- Memory info --
Amount: 384 MB
Type: 192 bit DDR3
Clock: 848.568 MHz

-- PCI-Express info --
Current Rate: 16X
Maximum rate: 16X

-- Sensor info --
Sensor: NV50 GPU Internal Sensor (correction=32)
GPU temperature: 48C

-- VideoBios information --
Version: 62.92.1f.00.09
Signon message: GeForce 8800 GS VGA BIOS
Performance level 0: gpu 575MHz/shader 1438MHz/memory 850MHz/0.00V/100%
VID mask: 3
Voltage level 0: 0.95V, VID: 0
Voltage level 1: 1.00V, VID: 1
Voltage level 2: 1.05V, VID: 2
Voltage level 3: 1.10V, VID: 3

So my card (Architecture: G92 A2 PCI id: 0x0606) should use nv50 (not g84, not g92) get_temp function to get proper TEMP value

I've found that in info.cpp of nvclockx



case 0x600: /* G92 */
case 0x610: /* G92 */
arch = G84; //NV50;

so adding my device id (0x0606) and arch = nv50 should fix my problem???

can you kozlek make a small change in the code of nvclockx

thanks for help , great tool :)


Just added.. Please, give feedback

hi friend , why there is error in voltage?
I use Fake smc 4.0 and plug in intelthermal.kext and NuvotonNCT677x.kext
Lol
Voltage is very strange in +12 +5 -12 -5
where it is error?


Sorry, I don't support slice's branch

I have Nuvoton NCT6775F which is partially working with this. Anything I can do to help bring full support?


See this post.

09.04.12 12:29:07,000 kernel: NVClockX: [Warning] it seems your card isn't officialy supported yet 09.04.12 12:29:07,000 kernel: NVClockX: [Warning] please tell the author the pci_id of the card for further investigation 09.04.12 12:29:07,000 kernel: NVClockX: [Warning] continuing anyway 09.04.12 12:29:07,000 kernel: NVClockX: Adding temperature sensors
Geräte-ID: 0x1201


Added!

#317
Pietruszka

Pietruszka

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male

Just added.. Please, give feedback


Thanks for help but doesn't work... still gpu temp is 0
maybe adding my device id is not enough???
tried with latest installer :(

I'll try to compare some code with this version http://www.projectos...?showtopic=1246
with this, temp is ok 48c

thank you for help

#318
sacaman1

sacaman1

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 113 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:www
hi Kozlek

this is the requested files
i adjust the plist file
but i get a double value for the fan and i lost more sensors

Attached Files



#319
GhaleonX

GhaleonX

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

See this post.


I'm not sure if I understand correctly, because I'm failing to see where *exactly* you got the vraw values for 5V and 12V; It seems as though you're saying that should be the value that I currently have reporting from HWMonitor, but the screenshot you provide suggests otherwise. I obtained a dump from both Open Hardware Monitor, and HWMonitor (both in Windows), but I couldn't find your 'vraw' values in what you posted there, either.

I obtained my vref values from my BIOS:
vcore - ~1.240
+ 3.30 V - 3.216
+ 5.00 V - 5.064
+12.00 V - 12.830

Another downer about the reports I got from Windows is that neither program recognizes my chip as NCT6775F; instead, Open Hardware Monitor detects it as NCT6771F, and HWMonitor detects NCT6771for LPCIO and then NCT6776 for hardware monitors. Everest says W83677HG / NCT6771F.

I'm including what I've got so far.

Attached Files



#320
deckert

deckert

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
OK, I got some more information from another Windows app (HWinfo32) that corresponds to the information I got from OpenHardwareMonitor
OpenHardwareMonitor							   HWinfo32
CPU VCore	 :	0.944	0.944	1.192 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/0)   Vcore	   0.952 V
Voltage #2	:	1.864	1.856	1.872 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/1)   +12V	   12.355 V
AVCC		  :	3.376	3.36	3.376 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/2)	AVCC		3.376 V
3VCC		  :	 3.36	3.344	3.376 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/3)   +3.3V	   3.360 V
Voltage #5	:	0.152	0.104	0.248 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/4)   VIN4		0.160 V
Voltage #6	:	1.696	1.696	1.696 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/5)   +5V		 5.112 V
Voltage #7	:	0.864	0.856	0.864 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/6)   VIN6		0.992 V
3VSB		  :	3.472	3.472	3.472 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/7)   3VSB		3.472 V
So this would mean that 12V will be VIN1 in the Info.plist profile and 5V will be VIN5 correct?
These equate to Power Supply 2 and Power Supply 6 in HWMonitor.app right?

From my BIOS screenshot I get values of 1.184V, 12.302V, 5.088V and 3.360V for VCore, +12V, +5V and +3.3V
So to get the gain for +12V I have Vref=12.302, Vraw=1.864
Gain = (Vref - Vraw) / Vraw = (12.302 - 1.864) / 1.864 = 10.438 / 1.864 = 5.59978540772532

Therefore in the SuperIOSensors.kext Info.plist I would need to enter the following correct?
<key>VIN1</key>
   <dict>
   <key>gain</key>
   <integer>5599</integer>
   <key>name</key>
   <string>Main 12V</string>
   <key>offset</key>
   <integer>0</integer>
   <key>reference</key>
   <integer>0</integer>
</dict>






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: FakeSMC, Plugins, Hardware Monitoring, Sensors, SuperIO, Temperature, Voltage, Tachometer, Frequency


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy