Any way to get Prism USB WLAN working with this?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

mcfresh

mcfresh

InsanelyMac Protégé

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
Hi!

I searched the net to get my Netgear MA111v1 WLAN stick working. Then i found the following:

http://www.soulman.de/mac.html (scroll down to see english guide)

Theroetically, it could work, because the MA111 is prism based and it is even listed as device in the "intersil prism2.kext".
I tried it, but i couldn't get it working. I think it's a matching issue, as when i boot with -v, i can see that there is something like "IOUSB bla bla not matched" (very often the same text), later is reads "IOUSBHUB bla bla matched".

So i think i may be close to it, but some kexts may need some tuning (matching id's or smth). As im no pro, i don't know what to edit.
If this guide is real and no fake, then it could work.....
Any helps appreciated!

thx

mcfresh

mcfresh

InsanelyMac Protégé

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
Hm, as i never read about anyone who got a prism based USB Wlan working with Mac OS, maybe i should just forget about it and not waste my time, right?
i was just curious about that guide, which somehow looked easy and promising....

regards,

mcmurderman

mcmurderman

InsanelyMac Protégé

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
McFresh,
I was able to get a Siemens SpeedStream usb wlan adapter to work correctly with my iBook running OS X 10.4.7. Its a prism based wireless adapter. I think I may still have the kexts I used if you need them. Id be glad to walk you through what I did. Repost, or email me if you still need some help.

galexkiss@gmail.com

mcfresh

mcfresh

InsanelyMac Protégé

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
hi mcmurderman,