HELP, Please (Can't boot)

ZoroLives

56 posts in this topic

I have been running a hackintosh for a couple years now, occasionally I do something dumb and cant get back in to my system - like now. I have three disks, two are normally bootlable. For some reason I can no longer get into either disk and my boot CD ISO disks are not getting me in either. All I have to work with is this old 12" PowerBook running 10.4.11. It will not run the modern Hackinstaller scripts. I can work with my formerly bootable Seagate External drive as it can run as an external disk on this PowerBook or boot (as it normally did) in my i7 configuration. To be as clear as I can, here is what I can do now, I can boot from an ISO cd (have two different emergency boot disks) but all that will do is allow me to look at all my disks in pre-boot and select any of them to boot, boot verbose, single user, etc. In fact, I can still do that with my old configuration, get to that pre-boot choice menu screen.

The problem is, I cannot successfully boot further in anything that I have tried to do. I get a KP or I get a hang and a perpetual attempt to boot (apple logo with spinning circle symbol) depending on which preboot and options I select. THe only positive thing that I Can do is that in one disk, the same one I can examine on my Powerbook, I can boot in single user mode. I have done that and run sbin.fsck -fy a few times and it always finds and corrects a directory count. THen I read the man pages for anything I think could help to change the boot volume or finish booting, but I am not at all skilled at UNIX so I dont know if there is a work around that way or not?

The last little problem is that, during this process, my powerbook CD drive pooped out so I can no longer burn additional boot CDs. In theory I should still be OK as I can still work on my external Seagate drive and then boot from it.