How to know if OC is working on Hackintosh?

Costanegra

13 posts in this topic

Hey guys.

So, I've been trying to understand how OC works on hackintosh. So far, I have not learned much. After spending a lot of time reading threads in various forums, I'm still at square one. I've yet to find a simple, clear explanation of what is required to achieve stable OC'ing on Macs. I am, of course, a total noob. I've came across mentions of SpeedStepper and AppleIntelCPUpwm, but I still have no idea what they are (or what they do), and if I need them or not.

I've only been able to OC my system to a stable 4.4GHz on my Win7 drive just by messing with the BIOS. I have two other drives, one with Snow and one with Lion. Both Snow and Lion were made bootable with Andy's Boot CD 5. With the mentioned OC configuration, I can boot to Snow with no problem, but I don't know how to test if Snow is recognizing the OC (or if those settings are actually applied to the OS). I downloaded Geekbench, and my scores with and without the OC are the same.

My Lion drive, on the other hand, does not boot with my 4.4GHz OC configuration; I get a nasty kernel panic right after Chameleon. Again, I have no idea why. Do I need SpeedStepper for this? Is poking around with the BIOS not enough for Lion?

If anyone here can share their knowledge on this topic with me, I would very much appreciate it. So please, if you have any suggestions or if you can point me to a good OC'ing guide, I bed that you do.

Thanks in advance.

PS.- You'll find my system configuration on my signature below.

I've overclocked my Pentium D from 2.66 GHz to 3 GHz; in Snow Leopard it is recognized and utilized.

I would try reinstalling Lion with the overclock enabled during the install. If the installer panics, post a pic here.

I've overclocked my Pentium D from 2.66 GHz to 3 GHz; in Snow Leopard it is recognized and utilized.