Asus X55Sr DualBoot problem HELP

bodjitsa

1 post in this topic

I recently needed to install Snow Leopard in order to use XCode 4 developing iOS apps for my class at the university. As far as I was currently using Win7 I have to work a way to dualboot both systems on my configuration. I'm new to this, so I was reading this forum and some others for days and days on, just to get a bit familiar. My laptop specs:

Asus X55Sr, Intel Core 2 Duo T5550 1.83 GHz, Intel Crestline PM965/ICH8, BIOS vs 204 (latest vs)

3 GB Ram, 250 GB HDD, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3470 256 MB, Realtec ALC888, JMicron JMB36X

I have external HDD 1 TB WD, which I partitioned in GPT, using virtual machine with SL in 3 partitions - first one (50 GB) in Mac Osx extended case-sensitive journaled.

I tried:

1. Followed LifeHacker tutorial to make my own DVD, but when I try to boot from this one, laptop restarts immediately.

2. Snow Leopard 10.6.6 SSE2 SSE3 Intel/AMD by Hazard - here I have the most success. DVD booted and I was actually able to install my system on the ext HDD, choosing as option to install also Chameleon RC3 with PCEFI 10.5, IOATAFamily_fix (for chipset), AppleHDA (audio). Problem is that after restart I can't boot into my SL. If I choose to boot from ext HDD it writes 4 lines, last one finishes at "something: init" and than before even reaching darwin bootloader it restarts automatically. I tried different kexts included in the dvd (ATY_init for video), Rosetta, X11 and basically installed it 13-15 times with different configurations. It always installs successfully, but can't boot. Tried EasyBCD to utilize windows bootloader, but when i choose Mac Osx option it again restarts. I used also -v cpus=1 arch=i386 as optional parameters on some of the installs, but they didn't change anything.