Jump to content

Install Snow Leopard on ANY PC for ANYBODY! Includes Windows dual-boot.


  • Please log in to reply
775 replies to this topic

Poll: How does this guide work for you? (43 member(s) have cast votes)

Is it clear to understand?

  1. Yes, it was very clear. (36 votes [83.72%])

    Percentage of vote: 83.72%

  2. No, there is jargon I don't understand... (7 votes [16.28%])

    Percentage of vote: 16.28%

Were you able to successfully install Mac OS?

  1. Yes! The installation worked great! I just have to get hardware working/everything works out of the box! (17 votes [39.53%])

    Percentage of vote: 39.53%

  2. Almost, I had to fix some things first... (18 votes [41.86%])

    Percentage of vote: 41.86%

  3. No, nothing worked at all. (8 votes [18.60%])

    Percentage of vote: 18.60%

Did the dual-boot solution work for you?

  1. Yes! Windows and Mac OS are now dual-booted. (14 votes [32.56%])

    Percentage of vote: 32.56%

  2. No, I had some errors along the way (9 votes [20.93%])

    Percentage of vote: 20.93%

  3. Who wants Windows? (20 votes [46.51%])

    Percentage of vote: 46.51%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#741
PookyMacMan

PookyMacMan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,459 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth–Western Hemisphere, specifically
  • Interests:Computer science, engineering, trumpet performance, and a host of others. :D
@verdant

Interesting...the ModCD by default boots into 32-bit, but I'm not so sure about where the NForce kext came from.

@doomyxx

You don't need to worry about the kext installation, since it's on the ModCD I will recompile the ModCD with the proper kext for you. :)

BTW, thanks verdant for your input on these NForce chipsets! :D

#742
doomyxx

doomyxx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I've tried to change all the settings in BIOS and still no luck.
Here is a screen, maybe it gives you some information
Attached File  DSCN1044.JPG   123.7KB   15 downloads

@doomyxx
You don't need to worry about the kext installation, since it's on the ModCD I will recompile the ModCD with the proper kext for you. :)

Really?
:thanks_speechbubble:
:)

#743
alivh

alivh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I have OSX 10.6.7 running on a Core Duo, 1 Gig Ram, 80 Gig HD, Dell Inspiron E1705 with the following specs:

00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub [8086:27a0] (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:27a2] (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller [0380]: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:27a6] (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:27d8] (rev 01)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 1 [8086:27d0] (rev 01)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 2 [8086:27d2] (rev 01)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 4 [8086:27d6] (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 [8086:27c8] (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 [8086:27c9] (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 [8086:27ca] (rev 01)
00:1d.3 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 [8086:27cb] (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller [8086:27cc] (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge [8086:2448] (rev e1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge [8086:27b9] (rev 01)
00:1f.2 IDE interface [0101]: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7-M Family) SATA Controller [IDE mode] [8086:27c4] (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family SMBus Controller [8086:27da] (rev 01)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX [14e4:170c] (rev 02)
03:01.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394) [0c00]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller [1180:0832]
03:01.1 SD Host controller [0805]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter [1180:0822] (rev 19)
03:01.2 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter [1180:0592] (rev 0a)
03:01.3 System peripheral [0880]: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller [1180:0852] (rev 05)
0c:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection [8086:4222] (rev 02)


Unfortunately, I can only successfully boot into OSX if I have the ModCD from the first post in this thread inserted in the CD drive.

Initially I successfully installed using this ModCD and a retail 10.6.0 disc. I installed using no additional options, as the recommended Mach_Kernel option did not work for me. With that configuration and once installation was complete, I could only boot successfully into OSX if the ModCD was in the CD drive. In that case my problem was that I booted to a black screen if the ModCD wasn't present. I could hear the OSX first start messages being spoken, but had only a black screen. But start up with the ModCD present, and I could boot OK.

Now that I have installed the 10.6.7 combo and can run OSX successfully, with the ModCD present, my issue is that without the ModCD in the CD drive, the "Mock Apple" startup screen stays up indefinitely and the "gear" spins extremely slowly and I see no disk activity.

Aside from that, the system seems pretty good, although I have only 1024x768 screen resolution and no choices for other resolutions.

Any ideas about how to "lose the ModCD" and still boot OK? By the way many thanks for this thead; I would have never tried this without your help.

#744
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,548 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >
@ doomyxx

I assume this is what you are seeing when you try to boot from the ModCD?

If so, and if you have a SATA DVDRW, then I suggest that you get or borrow a PATA (IDE) DVDRW and jumper-set it as Master and connect it as Master to your MOBO IDE connector via an 80-wire IDE cable, and disconnect all SATA devices except for the SATA HDD that you want to install OS X onto.......and boot the ModCD using -v -x cpus=1........and see what happens.....

#745
doomyxx

doomyxx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
You, sir, are my hero! It worked. The DVDRW was IDE and connected to 80wire but it was set as slave. It's installing right now.
Thank you!!

#746
verdant

verdant

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,548 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:At home, I have the following computers......
    >
    >
    >
@ doomyxx

Glad to help.........:)

#747
doomyxx

doomyxx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Hey,
I haven't had much time lately to test it, but I just upgraded to 10.6.8 and I get a panic error.
Attached File  DSCN1046.JPG   135KB   12 downloads
I can't boot at all, even with -x -v
The problem seems to be with fakesmc.kext , i copied it after the upgrade because I saw it was needed for a similar motherboard to mine. Any ideas ?

Thanks!

#748
PookyMacMan

PookyMacMan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,459 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth–Western Hemisphere, specifically
  • Interests:Computer science, engineering, trumpet performance, and a host of others. :D
Did you update the kernel beforehand?

#749
doomyxx

doomyxx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Did you update the kernel beforehand?

Yes, I upgraded to legacy_kernel 10.8.

#750
flashjazzcat

flashjazzcat

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Thanks for this brilliant guide. I managed to get 10.5.4 running on my previous motherboard four years ago, but that machine bit the dust last year and I've just gotten around to attempting a Snow Leopard install this weekend. Thanks to this guide, I've got 10.6.3 running on the following hardware:

Motherboard: AsRock A75-HVS
CPU: AMD A8-3870K
RAM: 4GB Corsair DDR3
GFX: Integrated HD 6550D

Busratio=22 was the key to success, it seems. The wireless card is Mac compatible, so I've got net access, HD audio, but no graphics acceleration yet. I'm getting the impression that HD 6550D GFX support is limited / experimental, but I'm slowly getting reacquinted with all the KEXT editing stuff I've forgotten about over the past couple of years. It would be nice if I could get the graphics card working, since everything else is working a treat.

#751
PookyMacMan

PookyMacMan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,459 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth–Western Hemisphere, specifically
  • Interests:Computer science, engineering, trumpet performance, and a host of others. :D
Flashjazzcat,

The 6xxx series cards are only compatible with 10.6.8 or later. So try updating to 10.6.8 (be careful), and if it still doesn't work you can try Lion with the experimental kernel (it's pretty stable at this point)

Edit: just noticed that it's integrated Radeon graphics. Those are not going to work, you will need to get a discrete card.

#752
flashjazzcat

flashjazzcat

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Edit: just noticed that it's integrated Radeon graphics. Those are not going to work, you will need to get a discrete card.


Ah - damn. Thanks alot for the clarification, though. Any recommended, inexpensive cards which will work without tweaking?

#753
PookyMacMan

PookyMacMan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,459 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth–Western Hemisphere, specifically
  • Interests:Computer science, engineering, trumpet performance, and a host of others. :D
I would get a GeForce GT series card from Newegg - you can grab a GT 5xx or 6xx for under $50

#754
flashjazzcat

flashjazzcat

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Thanks - I'll definitely keep my eyes open for either of those. I appreciate the advice!

#755
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,418 posts
  • Gender:Male
Pooky
...with my gtx 470 dont have resolution...maybe i need a driver nvidia?

#756
PookyMacMan

PookyMacMan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,459 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth–Western Hemisphere, specifically
  • Interests:Computer science, engineering, trumpet performance, and a host of others. :D
@magnifico,

The GTX 470 will only work on Lion and later.

#757
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,418 posts
  • Gender:Male

@magnifico,

The GTX 470 will only work on Lion and later.


Yes of course...but on snow , i need a driver nvidia ?

#758
PookyMacMan

PookyMacMan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Moderators
  • 1,459 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth–Western Hemisphere, specifically
  • Interests:Computer science, engineering, trumpet performance, and a host of others. :D
The only version of Snow that might support that card is 10.6.8. Update to 10.6.8 and install the nVidia driver update from http://www.nvidia.co...f01-driver.html

If that doesn't work you will have no other choice but Lion.

#759
magnifico

magnifico

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Donators
  • 2,418 posts
  • Gender:Male

The only version of Snow that might support that card is 10.6.8. Update to 10.6.8 and install the nVidia driver update from http://www.nvidia.co...f01-driver.html

If that doesn't work you will have no other choice but Lion.


Man , now i have a great resolution....thz

#760
S@Z!

S@Z!

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
I just wanna know that if I pass step 4 in the installation process and reach step 5, can i cancel the installation and do it another time(ie. will it harm my windows 7, already installed ?). I would like do this as I only want to know if snow leopard will install on my pc through this way. I tried the Hazard Distro of SL and Iaktos l2 distro of Lion both showed errors in Verbose mode "Still waiting for root device". I have no AHCI option.

Please Help
Its Urgent :wacko: :( :unsure: :blush:





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy