Unload Kexts ?

djavocado

16 posts in this topic

Hi there..

Im pretty new to OS X, and I use Google and other sites for helping me out. But now I've come to a halt, and dont know how to solve this problem:

I have a M-Audio Audiophile 2496 Sound card installed.. It worked fine untill I rebooted.. Now when I install the kext for it (from http://www.audio-evolution.com/drivers/), it still doesnt work..

Then I tried to remove the kext via terminal, but it says it can't unload Kext because it has 2 instances.. So how do I remove them?

Because I accidently installed the wrong Kext at the first place.. So I think this bugs OS X somehow..

Any ideas may be helpful..

PS: Sorry if this should have been posted elsewhere

-Andy

sudo kextunload /System/Library/Extensions/nameofkext.kext

Then delete it

rm -rf /System/Library/Extensions/nameofkext.kext

Or could just navigate to /System/Library/Extensions, drag the offending kernel extensions to the trash and reboot.

If you can't do that, then boot in safe mode with -x. Sound drivers don't load in safe mod and you should be able to delete them then.

Hi - Thx for the quick answer.. unfortunately that didnt work for me, when i type in "sudo kextun... etc etc" It says "Can't unload kext because it has instances" or something like that..

I cant delete it either in safemode, it says permission denied for some reason.

Thx for the help though!

EDIT: Okay so far so good.. I finally figured how to get it to work.. But the problem is I manually loaded the Kext for it to work..

How do I get this to load automatically?

I read on the site that: " The Envy24 chip can only allocate memory in the first 256mb of address space. If OSX does not have enough memory available for the driver at boot time, the driver will have a high chance of malfunctioning"

If this is what cause's the problem - Then how do I solve that?

In your first post you mentioned that the card worked fine until you rebooted?