Jump to content

Workstation 8/9/10, Player 4/5/6 and Fusion 4/5/6 Mac OS X Unlocker


  • Please log in to reply
525 replies to this topic

#341
gunslinger0007

gunslinger0007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

I have not tried a fresh install of ML. I will give this a go this evening and see how it goes. I used the downloaded ML.vmdk file. I will post my feedback.

 

Thank you for the quick response



#342
gunslinger0007

gunslinger0007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

No luck so far. The only way I can get the vm to boot it to change the OS from OSX 10.8 to other non 64bit. But then again I get a gray Apple screen with a stop sign.

 

Weird I must say.



#343
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 964 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

No luck so far. The only way I can get the vm to boot it to change the OS from OSX 10.8 to other non 64bit. But then again I get a gray Apple screen with a stop sign.

 

Weird I must say.

OK,

 

I think we need to step back a stage inorder to help make progress. Do you have a vanilla .dmg or .iso of ML, where did your .vmdk come from and do you have the associated files, i.e. .vmx, .nvram and .vmxf?



#344
gunslinger0007

gunslinger0007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Morning,

I downloaded the a copy of the unlocker software from here and from ih#chent0sh. Then I searched for a copy of the 10.8.3 ML .vmdk file. I downloaded it and I also had a copy from a friend that had not problems with his .vmdk file.

 

I have Windows 8 64bit with vmware workstation 9.0.2 clean install. The desktop is a novotech and have the virtualisation bit enabled in the bios.

 

After the install of the vmware workstation I run the unlock install script with Admin privileges. This then allow me to select MAC OSX within VMware. I then do a file open from vmware workstation and browse to the ML .vmdk file. This then create the vmware machine. I up the memory to 4 GB and the CPU to 2. Then I try to start the vm. This is where I get the error about the cpu not being supported.

 

"OSX is not supported with binary translation error"

 

The only way I get the vm to start is to change the OS selection from Mac to other non 64bit

 

I am going to do a fresh install of vmware workstation and redownload the lot

 

Downloaded so far:

- vmware workstation 9.0.2 (reinstall complete)

- unlocker from here

- busy with ML retail copy (download complete)

 

I am going to try again

 

!!!!!UPDATE!!!!!!

Its now working. I did a repair on vmware workstation, downloaded a 10.8 base copy and run the unlocker. Its now booting and doing the updates.

 

Thank you guys and I hope this helps someone



#345
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 964 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Morning,

I downloaded the a copy of the unlocker software from here and from ih#chent0sh. Then I searched for a copy of the 10.8.3 ML .vmdk file. I downloaded it and I also had a copy from a friend that had not problems with his .vmdk file.

 

I have Windows 8 64bit with vmware workstation 9.0.2 clean install. The desktop is a novotech and have the virtualisation bit enabled in the bios.

 

After the install of the vmware workstation I run the unlock install script with Admin privileges. This then allow me to select MAC OSX within VMware. I then do a file open from vmware workstation and browse to the ML .vmdk file. This then create the vmware machine. I up the memory to 4 GB and the CPU to 2. Then I try to start the vm. This is where I get the error about the cpu not being supported.

 

"OSX is not supported with binary translation error"

 

The only way I get the vm to start is to change the OS selection from Mac to other non 64bit

 

I am going to do a fresh install of vmware workstation and redownload the lot

 

Downloaded so far:

- vmware workstation 9.0.2 (reinstall complete)

- unlocker from here

- busy with ML retail copy (download complete)

 

I am going to try again

 

!!!!!UPDATE!!!!!!

Its now working. I did a repair on vmware workstation, downloaded a 10.8 base copy and run the unlocker. Its now booting and doing the updates.

 

Thank you guys and I hope this helps someone

Glad to hear you are up and running.

 

In summary one of the few guaranteed routes to a seemless virtual installation of OS X ML (10.8.x) on an Intel (VT-x enabled) PC or Notebook is VMware Workstation 9.0.2 or Player 5.0.2, Donk's (based on work by both Donk and Zenith432) v1.1.0 "Unlocker" from this site and a vanilla download of OS X ML from the Apple App Store.



#346
gunslinger0007

gunslinger0007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Thats what I did now... stuck with the information on this site and it all worked. I think I was mixing installs from different sites. Thank you for the help and the info that you guys have on this site. It was a great help.



#347
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 964 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Thats what I did now... stuck with the information on this site and it all worked. I think I was mixing installs from different sites. Thank you for the help and the info that you guys have on this site. It was a great help.

Unfortunately plenty of people on other sites want to replicate original work done here by the likes of Donk, Zenith432 and others, even myself! and claim to be the font of all knowledge. However while I would be the first to dispute a similar claim for the Sages, Legends and Dietys on this site, often as the originators I would claim the additional insite and a willingness to continue to improve and help make your virtual OS X experience as enjoyable and technically straightforward as possible sets this site and forum apart.

 

Thank you for your vote of confidence, and keep coming back as we gear up for the new challenge of OS X 10.9 Mavericks!



#348
czar

czar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

I guess only windows users have the advantage of using the unlocker =/ hmm..



#349
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,974 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

I guess only windows users have the advantage of using the unlocker =/ hmm..

Nope Linux, OS X, ESXi as well



#350
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 964 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

I guess only windows users have the advantage of using the unlocker =/ hmm..

Sorry for any confusion, since this is the Workstation forum I commented on OS X VM's running on Workstation, Player and Fusion, which means Windows, OS X and Linux. However, we have a separate forum for running OS X VM's on ESXi, as Donk has stated the "Unlocker" supports all the above OSes / Hypervisor.



#351
czar

czar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Erm yeah.. I guess x32 linux has a bug as you stated before to another user. Been trying that linux unlocker without any mac option even after successful attempt or workarounds. Even the darwin.iso isn't working nor resizing to guest or drag or drop even after vmtools is installed. Seems the only way is to get Workstation working on windows. Was thinking of doing a native installation multiboot Mac on my machine through Vmware. Didn't installed Workstation on windows because its a resource eater and ram usage is higher then that of linux.



#352
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,974 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

New build available with the Linux 32-bit fix plus some other changes.

http://www.insanelym...ocker-for-os-x/



#353
czar

czar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

New build available with the Linux 32-bit fix plus some other changes.

http://www.insanelym...ocker-for-os-x/

Works! Thanks!! :D



#354
myname367

myname367

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Like gunslinger0007, I am having trouble with my installation.

 

I bought ML from the app store and proceeded with the guide on making my own VMDK. Then I followed the second guide to use that VMDK. However, the problem I have is that I get stuck/freeze on the grey loading installation apple screen. The wheel starts off spinning then it freezes and nothing happens.

 

My computer actually has a dual boot of ML and windows 8 but I would rather be booted in win8 and have ML as vmware.

 

Any help would so very greatly appreciated!!



#355
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 964 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Like gunslinger0007, I am having trouble with my installation.

 

I bought ML from the app store and proceeded with the guide on making my own VMDK. Then I followed the second guide to use that VMDK. However, the problem I have is that I get stuck/freeze on the grey loading installation apple screen. The wheel starts off spinning then it freezes and nothing happens.

 

My computer actually has a dual boot of ML and windows 8 but I would rather be booted in win8 and have ML as vmware.

 

Any help would so very greatly appreciated!!

We would not recommend the above method for installing OS X (10.8) Mountain Lion under VMware Workstation 9.0.2 or Player 5.0.2, not least of which we can do a vanilla install from media created from the App Store download. It is important for the method detailed below to work you must be running a relatively recent Intel processor with VT-x support which has been enabled in BIOS.

 

Install the "Unlocker" to enable support for OS X in either VMware Workstation 9 or Player 5, see Donk's post #352 in this thread, once installed on your OS X machine extract the InstallESD.dmg from your App Store download of "Install OS X Mountain Lion" in the Applications folder, right click the icon and select "Show Package Contents" open folder "SharedSupport" and copy the InstallESD.dmg to your desktop.

 

In order for you to be able to use this as install media in Workstation 9 or Player 5 (Fusion 5, ESXi 5.1 and U1 support .dmg files directly) the .dmg will have to be converted to a .iso, this can be done at the command line in OS X see below or in Windows using a third party product like ImgBurn.

 

In an OS X terminal session run the following:

 

cd Desktop

hdiutil convert ./InstallESD.dmg -format UDTO -o InstallESD.iso

mv InstallESD.iso.cdr InstallESD.iso

 

If the "Unlocker" has been installed correctly you should now be able to create a new OS X Mountain Lion virtual machine in Workstation 9 or Player 5 and select the InstallESD.iso you have created as the "Installer disc image file (iso):" and select Apple Mac OS X as the "Guest operating system" and Mac OS X 10.8 64-bit as the "Version".

 

Next choose a name and location for the virtual machine, then specify the "Maximum disk size (GB):" (I always select a minimum of 64 GB) and whether to "Store virtual disk as a single file" or "Split virtual disk into multiple files", (I select single file for ease of portability, but in theory selecting multiple files should offer better performance, but the default settings will work fine).

 

You now have the option to either Finish and create the Virtual Machine or "Customize Hardware...", I generally add a second core under the "Processors" section and change the "Network Adapter" to "Bridged" (but these are optional enhancements, the default settings will work fine) select Close and Finish.

 

Power on this virtual machine and the OS X installation should proceed. This will create a vanilla install of OS X which can be patched via "Software Update..."

 

To install "VMware Tools" go to the Virtual Machine Settings for the OS X VM and select CD/DVD (IDE) and under "Connection" click on "Use ISO image file:". It is quite likely your InstallESD.iso will still be selected, so just "Browse..." to the location of the darwin.iso and select "Open". The darwin.iso is not present in a standard install of either Workstation 9 or Player 5, it is added as part of the "Unlocker" install and is located in the VMware Workstation folder under "Program Files (x86)\VMware" in a default install, make sure the "Device status" has "Connected" ticked generally "Connect at power on" is ticked by default.

 

You may get an error when switching mounted .iso's in the Virtual Machine Settings "The guest operating system has locked the CD-ROM door..." it is OK to answer "Yes" to the question "Disconnect anyway and override the lock?".

 

In your OS X desktop a VMware Tools icon should appear in the upper right corner, double click and select "Install VMware Tools", it is recommended to install VMware Tools as it offers an enhanced user experience when working with the Virtual Machine. Please note VMware Tools cannot be installed from the menu in Workstation 9 or Player 5 to an OS X Virtual Machine (unlike Fusion 5, ESXi 5.1 and U1 which support VMware Tools installation from the menu).

 

Once you are up and running with your virtual OS X machine we need to do a couple of housekeeping tasks to ensure your virtual machine does not freeze. Firstly go to "System Preferences" and select "Energy Saver" and set "Computer sleep:" and "Display sleep:" to Never and also untick "Put hard disks to sleep when possible", "Wake for Ethernet network access" and "Allow power button to put the computer to sleep". In "Desktop & Screen Saver" set "Screen Saver" to "Start after:" Never.

 

One final note, occasionally you can come across an unsupported CPU error, in which case add the following line to your OS X virtual machine configuration file (.vmx):

 

cpuid.1.eax = "0000:0000:0000:0001:0000:0110:1010:0101"



#356
myname367

myname367

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
I dunno how to say. YOU ARE FREAKINGGG AWESOMEEEEE. I would so kiss you right now. I spent hours banging my head and trying random things to make it work but none of them worked. Your method worked like a charm and from the git go. Thank you soooo much!!!!!!!!

#357
tywtyw2002

tywtyw2002

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

hi

 

 

i can successful to unlocker osx in vm 9, but it cannot  unlocker `shared vms` .

do you have a plan to unlocker shared vms?

 



#358
myname367

myname367

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
the unlocker unlocks Vmware in general. After that, you just have to click on or create a vmware image and when editing it you have to go to Options tab>select Apple Mac OS X and Mac OS X 10.8 (64-bit)

#359
rsherman76

rsherman76

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Ok folks...brand new to this forum. And, as of yesterday, a noob in the Hackintosh realm.

 

I am trying to get OSX 10.6.4 loaded into VMWare Workstation 8.0.3

I ran Unlocker 1.1.1 and Workstation now shows the assorted OSX versions/options.

 

I have a factory(Apple) iMAC DVD that I am attempting to install from.

 

Right after I select "English" for my language, it comes up with a message saying: "Mac OS X can't be installed on this computer"

 

Then it gives me the option to "Restore From Backup" (which I obviously don't have) or "Restart".

 

Any clue? What do I need to do/change?

 

Thanks in Advance,

Ryan

 

Attached Files



#360
wheel

wheel

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

The restore discs that come with specific Macs are locked to that particular model, you need a retail disc or image from the App Store.

 

I have a factory(Apple) iMAC DVD that I am attempting to install from.







6 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 6 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy