Jump to content

Workstation 8/9/10, Player 4/5/6 and Fusion 4/5/6 Mac OS X Unlocker


  • Please log in to reply
514 replies to this topic

#321
trungpt

trungpt

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Because I broke it with a silly mistake.

Will there be a fix soon?

I Used v1.1.1 to unlock 9.0.2 on both Linux (RHEL) and Windows. No issues to report so far.

Thank you for your confirm. I plan to update to v9.0.2 soon :D

#322
Akai92

Akai92

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
Does version 1.1.1 work?, Why a strikethrough?

#323
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Does version 1.1.1 work?, Why a strikethrough?


1.1.1 was a bug fix just in the ESXi script. 1.1.0 is fine for everyone and does work on ESXi just make sure it is run from a VMDS datastore volume. For Workstation there were no changes.

I will go back and look at the ESXi script again, but at the moment I am on holiday with just an iPad.

#324
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 936 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Does version 1.1.1 work?, Why a strikethrough?

Unlocker 1.1.1 currently offers no functional advantage over 1.1.0, it was released to fix a problem with the install.sh script for ESXi, and to quote Donk:

"It was mistakenly saved on Windows and does not have Unix end of line characters. Just use 1.1.0. Sorry about that, happened when I was packaging it up."

1.1.1 was a bug fix just in the ESXi script. 1.1.0 is fine for everyone and does work on ESXi just make sure it is run from a VMDS datastore volume. For Workstation there were no changes.

I will go back and look at the ESXi script again, but at the moment I am on holiday with just an iPad.

Donk,

Sorry must have replied at the same time, LoL, MSoK.

#325
Zenith432

Zenith432

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 416 posts
  • Gender:Male
FYI, Successfully installed OS 10.8.3 under Workstation 9.0.2.

#326
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 936 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

FYI, Successfully installed OS 10.8.3 under Workstation 9.0.2.

Just for expanded confirmation of Zenith432's post, OS X 10.8.3 update was released 14th March 2013, and successfully installed under both ESXi 5.1 and Workstation 9.0.2 using both the downloaded combo update and software update in OS X.

#327
Sp0oner

Sp0oner

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
Has anyone lost sound in 10.8.3 under workstation 9.0.0? Everything was working perfectly but after the update my sound has gone and there are no output devices listed. This is on a Dell Inspiron 5520 and the sound card on all other vms comes up as a Conexant Smartaudio H. It worked on 10.8.1 but updating to 10.8.3 it has disappeared.

Also what is the correct version of darwin.iso to use as I have several up to 5.0 but i'm getting errors when running 5.0 although after a reboot the screen resolutions are all present so vmware tools is installing.

Edited to add i've uninstalled vmware tools and reinstalled using darwin.iso version 5.0 and installed fine. I then installed ensoniq audio 1.03 and rebooted and still no output devices in sound preferences.

Any ideas?

#328
Zenith432

Zenith432

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 416 posts
  • Gender:Male

Edited to add i've uninstalled vmware tools and reinstalled using darwin.iso version 5.0 and installed fine. I then installed ensoniq audio 1.03 and rebooted and still no output devices in sound preferences.

You should set
sound.virtualDev = "hdaudio"
in VMX file and use AppleHDA. I stopped maintaining EnsoniqAudioPCI since OS 10.7/Workstation 8 - when they added HDA support.

#329
Sp0oner

Sp0oner

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts

You should set

sound.virtualDev = "hdaudio"
in VMX file and use AppleHDA. I stopped maintaining EnsoniqAudioPCI since OS 10.7/Workstation 8 - when they added HDA support.



Thanks Zenith however the vmx file is set to that. Don't know if it using AppleHDA, surely it would have been before I installed ensoniq audio?

Audio part of vmx file:

sound.present = "TRUE"
sound.virtualDev = "hdaudio"
sound.fileName = "Speakers (Conexant SmartAudio H"
sound.autodetect = "FALSE"

This is the same on all my vms where the sound is working fine.

#330
Zenith432

Zenith432

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 416 posts
  • Gender:Male

Thanks Zenith however the vmx file is set to that.

Then you don't need EnsoniqAudioPCI. That's only loaded if sound.virtualdev = "es1371".

On another subject - Fusion 5.0.3 - The darwin.iso in there is byte-for-byte identical to darwin.iso from Fusion 5.0.2, so there's no need to reinstall it.

#331
Sp0oner

Sp0oner

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts

Then you don't need EnsoniqAudioPCI. That's only loaded if sound.virtualdev = "es1371".

On another subject - Fusion 5.0.3 - The darwin.iso in there is byte-for-byte identical to darwin.iso from Fusion 5.0.2, so there's no need to reinstall it.


So if everything is set correctly in the vmx file where else can I look to troubleshoot? AppleHDA not loading for some reason?

Also the darwin.iso I have is 5.0.0 so will there be any benefit trying 5.0.3?

Edit to add i've gone back to 10.8.1 via a snapshot and everything is working fine. I'll stay on this for now unless there is an easy fix for the audio issue i'm experiencing on 10.8.3

#332
locke

locke

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hey, guys. New here and having trouble trying to unlock vmware 9.0.1 with unlocker 1.1.0 (linux x86)

____________________________________________________________
first some helpful info:
++++++ debian 6.0.7
:$ uname -a
Linux 2.6.32-5-686 #1 SMP Mon Feb 25 01:04:36 UTC 2013 i686 GNU/Linux
++++++
:$ dmesg
forget it... if really needed I post here 1747 lines
++++++
:$ dmesg | grep -i vmware | wc -l
0
good
++++++
:$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor DRAM Controller (rev 18)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Core Processor PCI Express x16 Root Port (rev 18)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 18)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset HECI Controller (rev 06)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 06)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 06)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev 06)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 2 (rev 06)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 3 (rev 06)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 5 (rev 06)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 06)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev a6)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 5 Series Chipset LPC Interface Controller (rev 06)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 6 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 06)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBus Controller (rev 06)
00:1f.6 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Thermal Subsystem (rev 06)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GT218 [GeForce 310M] (rev a2)
01:00.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)
12:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller (rev 01)
13:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
++++++
:$ lspci -vnn | grep -i vga
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0046] (rev 18) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation GT218 [GeForce 310M] [10de:0a75] (rev a2) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])

(prog-if 00 [VGA controller]) means the VGA is in power on state
method used to do so
acpi_call: Calling \_SB.PCI0.P0P1.PEGP._ON
acpi_call: Call successful: 0x1
++++++
:$ lscpu
Architecture: i686
CPU op-mode(s): 32-bit, 64-bit
CPU(s): 4
Thread(s) per core: 2
Core(s) per socket: 2
CPU socket(s): 1
Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
CPU family: 6
Model: 37
Stepping: 5
CPU MHz: 1197.000
Virtualization: VT-x
L1d cache: 32K
L1i cache: 32K
L2 cache: 256K
L3 cache: 3072K
++++++
:$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 3 (0, 1 ,2 the same)
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 37
model name : Intel® Core™ i5 CPU M 480 @ 2.67GHz
stepping : 5
cpu MHz : 1197.000
cache size : 3072 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 4
core id : 2
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 5
initial apicid : 5
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 11
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt lahf_lm ida arat tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
bogomips : 5319.99
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:
++++++
:$ /bin/vmware --version
VMware Workstation 9.0.1 build-894247
++++++
:# /foo/../install.sh
VMware Unlocker 1.1.0
=====================
Copyright: Dave Parsons 2011-12
Patching...
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx
File mapped @0xb686c000 length 15339496
Found OSK0 @ 0xb71919ad
Found OSK1 @ 0xb71919dd
Found SRVR @ 0xb71a964a
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx-debug
File mapped @0xb6434000 length 19759872
Found OSK0 @ 0xb6e9384d
Found OSK1 @ 0xb6e9387d
Found SRVR @ 0xb6eab94e
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx-stats
File mapped @0xb65f3000 length 17930716
Found OSK0 @ 0xb6f3c24d
Found OSK1 @ 0xb6f3c27d
Found SRVR @ 0xb6f54d9a
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/lib/libvmwarebase.so.0/libvmwarebase.so.0
File mapped @0xb70b6000 length 6646660
`../tools/darwin.iso' -> `/usr/lib/vmware/isoimages/darwin.iso'
`../tools/darwin.iso.sig' -> `/usr/lib/vmware/isoimages/darwin.iso.sig'
Finished!
____________________________________________________________

So far so good, I think. But when I open VMware Workstation 9.0.1 there is no "Mac OS" or "Server" option and does not recognize the iso image converted from a retail dmg using poweriso (wine hehe)

Am I missing something?

One more question:

I've downloaded a vmware image of Mountain Lion
the one with this description
OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion Retail
-------------------------------------------
Courtesy of ZackehSoul
-------------------------------------------

- For instructions on setting up resolution and sound, visit the link in the downloaded folder.
- Based on Mountain Lion Retail as of 25/07 (release date).
- If you need to contact me quickly, you can find me here; http://q.gs/wQNX
- You can also email me at zackehsoul@hotmail.co.uk, or find me on http://souldevteam.net.


but it is running too slow even when I change to 2 or 4 cpus with optirun (if optirun causes some acceleration, what I think it does based on some tests here

user@machine:~/optirun$ ./a.out
hello
2929 frames in 5.0 seconds = 585.703 FPS
2872 frames in 5.0 seconds = 574.285 FPS
user@machine:~/optirun$ optirun ./a.out
hello
4999 frames in 5.0 seconds = 999.724 FPS
4935 frames in 5.0 seconds = 986.897 FPS
5025 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1004.841 FPS
4886 frames in 5.0 seconds = 977.059 FPS
user@machine:~/optirun$ ./a.out
hello
2937 frames in 5.0 seconds = 587.319 FPS
2944 frames in 5.0 seconds = 587.966 FPS
2724 frames in 5.0 seconds = 544.725 FPS
2858 frames in 5.0 seconds = 571.475 FPS

i.e., If the code I run with optirun forks, creates a child and invokes another process without optirun, it "inherits" the VGA

code bellow of my test
+++++ a.c ++++ gcc a.c -Wall -Wextra => clean
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <unistd.h>
#include <sys/wait.h>
#include <sys/types.h>

int main (void)
{
...int q[1]; /* oO at least it worked... */
...if((q[1] = fork()))
......system("./a.sh");
...else
......wait(q);

...return(EXIT_SUCCESS);
}
/*indentation here is broken, that's why I put those dots..*/
+++++ a.sh +++
#!/bin/bash
echo hello
glxgears

+++
)

I can boost CPU MHz listed above with 'for i in $(seq 0 3); do cpufreq-set -c $i -g performance; done' but the performance is still poor.

Last thing, when I install and unistall the unlocker, the addresses change
for instance (real one):
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx
First time: Found OSK0 @ 0xb71bb9ad
Second time: Found OSK0 @ 0xb71919ad

Is that OK?

Tried to unlock two different ways: stopping vmware daemons and not stopping (/etc/init.d/vmware[-workstation-server, -USBArbitrator] stop)
Thanks in advance for helping me ^^

EOF

#333
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Hey, guys. New here and having trouble trying to unlock vmware 9.0.1 with unlocker 1.1.0 (linux x86)

:$ uname -a
Linux 2.6.32-5-686 #1 SMP Mon Feb 25 01:04:36 UTC 2013 i686 GNU/Linux

VMware Unlocker 1.1.0
=====================
Copyright: Dave Parsons 2011-12
Patching...
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx
File mapped @0xb686c000 length 15339496
Found OSK0 @ 0xb71919ad
Found OSK1 @ 0xb71919dd
Found SRVR @ 0xb71a964a
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx-debug
File mapped @0xb6434000 length 19759872
Found OSK0 @ 0xb6e9384d
Found OSK1 @ 0xb6e9387d
Found SRVR @ 0xb6eab94e
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx-stats
File mapped @0xb65f3000 length 17930716
Found OSK0 @ 0xb6f3c24d
Found OSK1 @ 0xb6f3c27d
Found SRVR @ 0xb6f54d9a
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/lib/libvmwarebase.so.0/libvmwarebase.so.0
File mapped @0xb70b6000 length 6646660
`../tools/darwin.iso' -> `/usr/lib/vmware/isoimages/darwin.iso'
`../tools/darwin.iso.sig' -> `/usr/lib/vmware/isoimages/darwin.iso.sig'
Finished!
____________________________________________________________

So far so good, I think. But when I open VMware Workstation 9.0.1 there is no "Mac OS" or "Server" option and does not recognize the iso image converted from a retail dmg using poweriso (wine hehe)

Am I missing something?

One more question:

I've downloaded a vmware image of Mountain Lion
the one with this description
OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion Retail
-------------------------------------------
Courtesy of ZackehSoul
-------------------------------------------


Last thing, when I install and unistall the unlocker, the addresses change
for instance (real one):
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx
First time: Found OSK0 @ 0xb71bb9ad
Second time: Found OSK0 @ 0xb71919ad

Is that OK?

Tried to unlock two different ways: stopping vmware daemons and not stopping (/etc/init.d/vmware[-workstation-server, -USBArbitrator] stop)
Thanks in advance for helping me ^^

EOF


Hi

1. No entry in dialog is my fault it is a bug in unlocker when running on 32-bit Linux which is what you have. It is fine on 64-bit Linux and VMware. I will look at it (again as I forgot about it!), but not until weekend due to work commitments.

2. Any "distro" isn't really supported as we don't know what has been added to it. You can create an ISO from the DMG or APP but the instructions are on my desktop machine. Will update later.

3. Address changes are fine as it is the loaded address of the executable not the file offset.

#334
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
New Home for Download
http://www.insanelym...ocker-for-os-x/

#335
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 936 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

New Home for Download
http://www.insanelym...ocker-for-os-x/

I have also uploaded the latest darwin.iso (5.0.3) to the new InsanelyMac download area see link below:

http://www.insanelym...e/31-darwiniso/

#336
RiskyRis

RiskyRis

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
hey, thanks the installation is done :thumbsup_anim: , but when i got the select your language then set up but after create an account then select the arrow button back to the select your language, pls help me :worried_anim: . sorry bad english

#337
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 936 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK
A quick heads up, just updated to 10.8.5 (12F9) developer preview, running fine under Workstation 9.0.2 (build-1031769) and unlocker 1.1.0, will try ESXi 5.1.0 U1 and report back in the relevant thread.

#338
czar

czar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Hey guys, new here.. Is there any updates for VMware 9.0.2 build-1031769 unlocker for linux x32 regarding the bug yet? I'm having the same issue using Unlocker v1.1.0 on ubuntu 12.10 without any mac option on it or any luck..



#339
gunslinger0007

gunslinger0007

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Guys,

 

I have been trying to get my vmware workstation 9.0.2 to install with Mountain Lion 10.8.3.vmdk file. I ran the unlocker and the patch. I have also enabled the VT in the bios. I keep on getting the error when trying to start up the vm that the cpu is not supporting (OSX is not supported with binary translation error) I have also tried a few different combinations for the cpu settings but no luck.

 

Any thing else I can try. Its a intel i5 desktop (Intel Core I5 4430 Processor)

 

Many thanks



#340
MSoK

MSoK

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 936 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darlington UK

Guys,

 

I have been trying to get my vmware workstation 9.0.2 to install with Mountain Lion 10.8.3.vmdk file. I ran the unlocker and the patch. I have also enabled the VT in the bios. I keep on getting the error when trying to start up the vm that the cpu is not supporting (OSX is not supported with binary translation error) I have also tried a few different combinations for the cpu settings but no luck.

 

Any thing else I can try. Its a intel i5 desktop (Intel Core I5 4430 Processor)

 

Many thanks

I cannot see why your desktop should not work with ML, if the unlocker has been installed and VT-x is enabled in BIOS (Intel spec. says the i5 4430 supports VT-x). Have you tried doing a fresh install of ML or have you updated the hardware compatibilty to Workstation 9?







7 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 7 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy