Jump to content

Workstation 8/9/10, Player 4/5/6 and Fusion 4/5/6 Mac OS X Unlocker


  • Please log in to reply
514 replies to this topic

#241
frezasaga

frezasaga

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
already did.....but still cant boot it out....dunnu where i am wrong.....so just a guide....already follow msok guide....still cant move...

#242
Zenith432

Zenith432

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Developers
  • 416 posts
  • Gender:Male
FYI, the unlocker still works for
Workstation 8.0.4 for Windows
Fusion 4.1.3

#243
sebus

sebus

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
And for the newest Preview 2012 as well

#244
sbg

sbg

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 66 posts

Apple don't support Ivy Bridge processors yet and so that error is coming form the MACH kernel. You will need to find another kernel to run and boot on Ivy Bridge CPUs.

I am using a Lion (10.7.4) VM (Fusion 4.1.3) on Lion host and this has been running perfectly on my SB (Z68X) machine.
Now, I upgraded the system to IB (Z77X-UD5H with i7-3770) using BridgeHelper 5 to install native kernel, power management extensions etc.. Windows 7 VM on the IB machine works fine.
But I cannot boot the Lion VM any more and get the error message:'CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system'
Are you saying that I need to install the new Ivy Bridge Kernel inside the 10.7.4 VM as well?

#245
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

I am using a Lion (10.7.4) VM (Fusion 4.1.3) on Lion host and this has been running perfectly on my SB (Z68X) machine.
Now, I upgraded the system to IB (Z77X-UD5H with i7-3770) using BridgeHelper 5 to install native kernel, power management extensions etc.. Windows 7 VM on the IB machine works fine.
But I cannot boot the Lion VM any more and get the error message:'CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system'
Are you saying that I need to install the new Ivy Bridge Kernel inside the 10.7.4 VM as well?


Yes
  • kup likes this

#246
no1youknowz

no1youknowz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
I just can't get this to run. Every vm I run has the "CPU has been disabled error".

cat /etc/*release*

DISTRIB_ID=Ubuntu
DISTRIB_RELEASE=12.04
DISTRIB_CODENAME=precise
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Ubuntu 12.04 LTS"

uname -r
3.2.0-26-generic

vmware-installer -l

Product Name		 Product Version	
==================== ====================
vmware-workstation   8.0.3.703057


Except I get this when patching:

sudo ./install.sh

VMware Unlocker 1.1.0
=====================
Copyright: Dave Parsons 2011-12
Patching...
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx
File mapped @0x7f2abad7e000 length 11935864
Found OSK0 @ 0x7f2abb5978f5
Found OSK1 @ 0x7f2abb59792d
Found SRVR @ 0x7f2abb5bbb4e
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx-debug
File mapped @0x7f2abab7a000 length 14051232
Found OSK0 @ 0x7f2abb4d3555
Found OSK1 @ 0x7f2abb4d358d
Found SRVR @ 0x7f2abb4f8036
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/bin/vmware-vmx-stats
File mapped @0x7f2abacc9000 length 12677392
Found OSK0 @ 0x7f2abb51bcb5
Found OSK1 @ 0x7f2abb51bced
Found SRVR @ 0x7f2abb54192e
Patching /usr/lib/vmware/lib/libvmwarebase.so.0/libvmwarebase.so.0
File mapped @0x7f2abb26d000 length 6762720
Found OS entry @ 0x7f2abb8b3d38
Found OS entry @ 0x7f2abb8b3d70
Found OS entry @ 0x7f2abb8b3da8
Found OS entry @ 0x7f2abb8b3de0
Found OS entry @ 0x7f2abb8b3e18
Found OS entry @ 0x7f2abb8b3e50

Can anyone give me some advise on what to do. It was working until I redid my machine with 12.04.

#247
shiecldk

shiecldk

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Taiwan
Thank you Donk!!

Is there any unlocker for Parallels Desktop 7 available?

#248
geolegg

geolegg

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Yes


Hmmm, so it would appear this means virtualization isn't going to be an alternative way to get Snow Leopard running on Ivy Bridge. Bummer.

#249
Nemes

Nemes

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts

I am using a Lion (10.7.4) VM (Fusion 4.1.3) on Lion host and this has been running perfectly on my SB (Z68X) machine.
Now, I upgraded the system to IB (Z77X-UD5H with i7-3770) using BridgeHelper 5 to install native kernel, power management extensions etc.. Windows 7 VM on the IB machine works fine.
But I cannot boot the Lion VM any more and get the error message:'CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system'
Are you saying that I need to install the new Ivy Bridge Kernel inside the 10.7.4 VM as well?

The following comes from the VMWare forums. This is primarily meant for Fusion, but for any Workstation users out there this should also work as well.

Please add the following to your configuration file:


cpuid.1.eax = "----:----:----:0010:----:----:1010:0111"



#250
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
Well actually they got it from me but, yes I do believe that should work. That thread is also interesting for the changes made to the Tech Preview.
  • kup likes this

#251
thecrazy

thecrazy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Caracas - Venezuela
VMware Workstation Tech Preview 2 available: http://blogs.vmware....-available.html

#252
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
1.1.0 works with July 2012 preview.

#253
sebus

sebus

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
Seems like the July preview has again the same problem of VERY LOOOOONG boot (like W8 did) if smc.present = "TRUE" exists

sebus

#254
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Seems like the July preview has again the same problem of VERY LOOOOONG boot (like W8 did) if smc.present = "TRUE" exists

sebus

What version of OS X are you running? I am not seeing any delays with Mountain Lion GM or Lion 10.7.4.

#255
DislikeYou

DislikeYou

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
I have problems installing VMware Tools on ML in both Workstation 1 and

Tech Preview 2.



When i have the vm configured with 1 GB ram and 1 cpu with 1 core then the tools installer hangs and never finishes installing.



When i change to 2gb ram and 2 cpu's with 2 cores, it finishes but gives an error that it could not be installed.



I tried darwin.iso from this thread. Also tried some VMware Tools for

Tech Preview 2 on mediafire. None works. Help please. Need to change resolutions.



#256
sebus

sebus

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

What version of OS X are you running? I am not seeing any delays with Mountain Lion GM or Lion 10.7.4.



Ops, I forgot to run unlocker when I installed the update to latest Preview...
Hence it was staying on the PCI configuration line...

My bad!
  • kup likes this

#257
kup

kup

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts
I'm getting black screens with the Tech Preview. The mouse cursors are there and I can network in to the VM but nothing is showing up on screen..

Any ideas?

#258
kevintap

kevintap

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I'm not sure if this is the best place to post this, but I'm using VMWare Player 4.0.4 build-744019 (for linux). The libvmwarebase.so.0 file was not patched by the unlocker, and the unlocker reported no specific errors for this file. After I saw that the Mac OS X choices did not get enabled when creating a new VM, I dug into the source code for the unlocker (thanks for including it!). The signatures in my copy of libvmwarebase.so.0 are slightly different than what's hard-coded in the unlocker. I manually fixed up the lib and now I see the Mac OS X choices enabled when creating a new VM.

The signature to look for in my copy of libvmwarebase.so.0 is just 4 bytes shorter. I've commented the missing bytes below:
0x00, 0xA0, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x10, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x08, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,
0x02, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, /*0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00,*/ 0xDE, 0x00, 0x19, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00

#259
victrl2

victrl2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
VMWare Workstation 9 with unlocker 1.1.0 works for me only after upgrade a VM hardware up to version 9.
Without VM update I have been seeing black screen.

PS: Lion 10.7.4

#260
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK
Version 1.1.0 worked with the Tech Previews and will work with Workstation 9. Make sure you update the virtual hardware to the version 9 compatibility level for maximum performance.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy