Jump to content

OpenCL Oceanwave & Bandwidth Bench - 07. March 2013

OpenCL AMD NVIDIA

  • Please log in to reply
343 replies to this topic

#261
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Two Mac results from Rob (barefeats) - http://www.barefeats.com/index.html
2012 iMac
OS X 10.8.2 Intel® Core™ i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz 3400 MHz
GPU GeForce GTX 680MX 0 MHz 283.2 fps
Bandwidthes: device>host:8090.6MB/s host>device:5351.9MB/s device >device: 65785.4MB/s

2012 Retina MacBook Pro 15"
OS X 10.8.2 Intel® Core(™) i7-3820QM CPU @ 2.70GHz 2700 MHz
GPU GeForce GT 650M 0 MHz 145.3 fps
Bandwidthes: device>host:6092.7MB/s host>device:5847.6MB/s device >device: 35775.6MB/s

an other real Mac result (from someone else)
2010 Mac Pro 6-core
OS X 10.8.2 Intel® Xeon® CPU W3680 @ 3.33GHz 3330 MHz
GPU GeForce GTX 285 1476 MHz 130.7 fps
Bandwidthes: device>host:4615.4MB/s host>device:5569.4MB/s device >device: 76426.2MB/s

Mac Pro 6-core (2010)
OS X 10.8.2 Intel® Xeon® CPU W3680 @ 3.33GHz 3330 MHz
GPU Quadro 4000 950 MHz 218.7 fps
Bandwidthes: device>host:6191.4MB/s host>device:5520.8MB/s device >device: 53334.2MB/s

#262
choocha777

choocha777

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow, Russia
10.8.2 (12C60)...

Attached Files



#263
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Wow - GTX 680 rocks in that bench :)

#264
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Hi, can anyone tell me what patch is needed (for 10.8.2) to activate OpenCL on an GTX 680 ? Rob (barefeats) asks for his GTX 680 in an MaPro.EDIT: I fond that:
sudo perl -p -i.old -e '$c+=s/\x8b\x81\x1c\x0c\x00\x00\xeb\x06\x8b\x81\x20\x0c\x00\x00/\xb8\x02\x00\x00\x00\x90\xeb\x06\xb8\x00\x00\x00\x00\x90/; END { printf "%s: %d substitution%s made.\n",($c==1 ? "Success" : "Error"),$c,(!$c || $c>1 ? "s" : ""); $?=($c!=1); } ' /System/Library/Extensions/GeForceGLDriver.bundle/Contents/MacOS/libclh.dylib
is that patch working for native 10.8.2 Apple drives also or must Rob (GTX 680 in MacPro) install the Nvidia drivers 10.8.2 first?
EDIT: THat patch worked for rob :)
That worked.
I get 1094.6 FPS max for this EVGA GTX 680 Classified
CPU> PCIe > GPU = 5.35 GB/s
GPU > PCIe > CPU = 6.22 GB/s
GPU <> GPU VRAM speed = 86.48 GB/sRob

The other GTX 680 (Zotak) has significant more VRAM bandwidth - perhaps reason for more FPS than the EVGA GTX 680?

#265
www.weihongchang

www.weihongchang

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male

...just passin' through



Your thinkcentre completely shut down?
I also thinkcentre m57

#266
gothic860

gothic860

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany, Bavaria
:worried_anim:

Edited by gothic860, 08 March 2013 - 06:29 AM.


#267
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
You don't need the patch (for fermi/kepler) again - that only for enabling OpenCL NOT to speed it up.
I dont know why only 482.4 fps.
First run again and look at the realtime fps counters (bottom line of the rendering window) if they are same (in general) as the max result.
Thats to be sure that not first char was truncated showing the fps - like 482 vs 1482 fps.
But i don't think thats an cosmetic (truncation ) problem, because some other 680 GTX user has 1200 fps shown in the result window.
Perhaps AGPM setting problem?


NEW VERSION V 1.6.1 is out!
DL first post

Attached File  Bildschirmfoto 2013-03-07 um 19.32.58.jpg   171.12KB   6 downloads

#268
Wayang-NT

Wayang-NT

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 132 posts
  • Gender:Male
12D76 ... OceanWave v1.6.0

AA off
Attached File  AA-off.jpg   178.17KB   12 downloads


AA-on
Attached File  AA-on.jpg   181.75KB   10 downloads

#269
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Yep - the faster the gpu the less effect of the added AA gpu load rendering the waves. My 9600 GT gets 10% less fps AA ON.
Slower gpus ( getting << 85 fps AA ON / old version) will have even more OpenCL task power missed using AA.

You may check if AA ON / OFF has more effect running in fullscreen. press f key fast after pressing Bench button.
I think AA ON will now reduce fps more than 1-2% as before (fixed window).

PS: The bench automatically checks (by the GLUT framework) if AA is available - if not it uses AA OFF.
So in case of drivers bugs or in case GLUT supports AMD devices not right, the switch AA OFF / ON has no effect.

If your fullscreen AA ON / OFF are also near same , it can be that GLUT cant handle AMD AA settings correct.

Normally you see the diff of AA ON / OFF also in the smooter rendered FPS counter text of the rendered window.
In may case it looks significant differemt. If it looks identical than AMD cant handle AA in this bench.
screenshoots Nvidia gpu AA ON vs AA OFF

Attached Files



#270
TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

TH3L4UGH1NGM4N

    (~_~)

  • News Team
  • 1,154 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wonderland
  • Interests:(~_^)
12C60 OW v1.6

Posted Image

#271
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Would be interesting if AMD check if AA ON vs AA OFF gives different (smoother / multisampled) FPS counter info line (in the rendered window) - would show that AA is enabled on AMD also.
if fps diff even running fullscreen (f key) + AA ON vs fullscreen AA OFF is very similar (less than 1-2% diff) - thats also an check for working AA.
I ask because one AMD user has near same fps AA ON/OFF in the normal (windowed) bench. Can be OK on very fast gpus but should be more different than 1-2% , which happens also with multiple runs of same settings.

#272
gothic860

gothic860

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany, Bavaria
All other benchmarks (OSX and Windows) working like a charm so i think i can forget this one :angel_not: thanks anyway.

Edited by gothic860, 07 March 2013 - 07:59 PM.


#273
gils83

gils83

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,467 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique
:)

Posted Image

#274
Riley Freeman

Riley Freeman

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 816 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Streets
Here's my new 670. I've been running the updated 10.8.2 build (12C2034) that came with the Retina Macs since it came out so I have newer nVidia drivers (304.10.20f04) than stock 10.8.2. I tried updating to the "newer retail" ones (304.00.05f02) but the system stopped loading before the login window (just a dead stop, no KP). Had to run the driver restore package from my install disk to get back in. This is with no AGPM. I also used the same AGPM edit I had for my GTX 460 (just edited the device id) and the results were pretty much the same.

Posted Image

Edited by Riley Freeman, 07 March 2013 - 11:05 PM.


#275
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
500 FPS for GTX 670 isnt bad!

#276
gils83

gils83

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,467 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique
:)

HD 4850 1024


Posted Image


Posted Image

#277
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
What was the diff between to two runs? Same System?
I see CPU wasnt clocked maximum (also other powermanagement functions may run idle).
Try to view the CPU load / CPU Mhz ( iStat others) beside the bench. CPu / Chipset should wake up otherwise, GPU cant work as fast as possible.
GPU load % is very high by the bench. CPU load much less.

multisampling on AMD: works. AMD user with 5770 got different fps AA ON/OFF.
fullscreen AA OFF: 122 fps vs AA ON : 112 fps ,
windowed AA ON : 139 fps AA OFF: 140 fps - near no diff , because the 5770 (and similar others) gpu is fast enough to handle AA with OpenGL without slowing down OpenCL tasks.
So the faster the gpu the less effect has AA - at least in the windowed mode it can be none.
Slower gpus, like my 9600 GT or others in range of 20-100 fps windowed AA OFF will loose some fps.

conclusion: AA OFF puts OpenCL speed more in the focus - the slower the gpu the more fps lost on AA on.
So the default AA OFF changes nothing for faster - highend gpus but let get more valide OpenCL power values for the lowend - midrange gpus.

Old fps values (AA was ON) can be comapred to new with AA OFF if the gpu got at least >= 150 fps in the older versions.

#278
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,034 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

You don't need the patch (for fermi/kepler) again - that only for enabling OpenCL NOT to speed it up.


For the record, OpenCL works for me with no patching.
10.8.2, latest Nvidia drivers, EVGA vanilla GTX 660 2GB.

#279
gils83

gils83

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,467 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:le soleil du var et l'informatique

What was the diff between to two runs? Same System?
I see CPU wasnt clocked maximum (also other powermanagement functions may run idle).
Try to view the CPU load / CPU Mhz ( iStat others) beside the bench. CPu / Chipset should wake up otherwise, GPU cant work as fast as possible.
GPU load % is very high by the bench. CPU load much less.

multisampling on AMD: works. AMD user with 5770 got different fps AA ON/OFF.
fullscreen AA OFF: 122 fps vs AA ON : 112 fps ,
windowed AA ON : 139 fps AA OFF: 140 fps - near no diff , because the 5770 (and similar others) gpu is fast enough to handle AA with OpenGL without slowing down OpenCL tasks.
So the faster the gpu the less effect has AA - at least in the windowed mode it can be none.
Slower gpus, like my 9600 GT or others in range of 20-100 fps windowed AA OFF will loose some fps.

conclusion: AA OFF puts OpenCL speed more in the focus - the slower the gpu the more fps lost on AA on.
So the default AA OFF changes nothing for faster - highend gpus but let get more valide OpenCL power values for the lowend - midrange gpus.

Old fps values (AA was ON) can be comapred to new with AA OFF if the gpu got at least >= 150 fps in the older versions.



hello :)


there are 2 different CPU, the first is a FX 6100 clocked at 3.3 in reality (Clover) and the second a Phenom x4 960 t unlocker 3.0 ghz in x6 to 3.4 ghz and not as revealed by the test.
the graphics card is an HD 4850 1024 HD 4870 and not as shown in the test.
This is to demonstrate the operation of the graphics card under ML10.8 reveals quite an anomaly.
the 112 fps are coherant for the graphics card.

#280
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Ok, different CPU. But it should have not such an big effect. Especially not in the bandwidth VRAM, which is near independend from the CPU.
Can it be that on one system the timebase goes wrong? Means 1 sec (all benches needs correct time) is only 0.5 sec or 2 Sec because fsb clock or somethink else is wrong?
Also geekbench would show much bigger diffs in speed as the speed diffs of the cpus - also needs correct time.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy