Jump to content

OpenCL Oceanwave & Bandwidth Bench - 07. March 2013

OpenCL AMD NVIDIA

  • Please log in to reply
343 replies to this topic

#201
RobertX

RobertX

    InSanelyMac Maverick

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Yep, but GT520 is more an low end gpu, even newer.

...and yet, it does work :wink2:

#202
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,880 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Yep, GT520 has good power consumtion. Only the VRAM bandwidth is low (64 Bit vs 128 /192 Bit others).
I also looking for some newer low end gpu - perhaps GT630 (similar speed as 9600GT, lower Watt). GT630OEM would be even better (much faster Kepler vs Fermi non OEM).

#203
RobertX

RobertX

    InSanelyMac Maverick

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
got opencl working again after update

Attached File  10.8.2.png   384.74KB   25 downloads

#204
stefano.85

stefano.85

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
it seems that in this benchmark i've got a problem...
Nvidia retail 304.00.05f02 drivers + Cuda 5.0.37 + ONLY opencl 2gb+ patch from netkas.
I think i've to do some other patches....right?

Attached File  Schermata 2012-12-04 alle 11.26.04.png   586.27KB   8 downloads

#205
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,880 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Nope - you have already patched for OpenCL available but the newer drivers fail in the code of Oceanwave.
Doesnt matter much if other OpenCL Apps run well.
Perhaps next drivers work well (after patching them also) with that Code.
In the past often (even OpenCL works in general) OceanWave shows now water reflections = driver bug.

#206
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
Attached File  OpenCL OceanWave Benchmark V1.2.jpg   105.15KB   23 downloads

#207
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,880 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
WOW - new pole position with AMD 7970 - added to results list (post 1)

#208
Regi Yassin

Regi Yassin

    Who am I ?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
i have no idea this result is normal or it has an error.

Attached File  Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 20.03.15.png   692.15KB   24 downloads

#209
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,880 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
looks OK!
Error only, if result pic shows no waves or no sun or wont run at all.

As all benches: Your fps result (compared to others) may get different ranking compared to ranking in galaxies or luxmark results.
OpenCL Code + usage of OpenGL (parallel) + usage of CPU give that wide range of different rankings of different OpenCL benches using different gpus+cpus.

#210
maximus

maximus

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia
  • Interests:Everything IT related, Hi-Fi audio, good books
Attached File  result.png   391.97KB   8 downloads

#211
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Supervisors
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
OK, not exactly sure what I did here..Although I still have some cosmetic overclock settings entered in Clover's config.plist, I put all the BIOS overclock settings to bare stock except XMP for RAM...And just ran the best series of benchmarks I've ever done, both GPU ones and CPU ones. I'll post a few others in their threads.
Attached File  OpenCL OceanWave Benchmark V1.2.jpg   112.12KB   14 downloads
Wow! I've never seen it say PS=xxxx before, but have never seen that big of a number either.

Edited by eep357, 24 January 2013 - 11:37 AM.
invalid benchmark, inflated by Clover config error


#212
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,880 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
LOL - too much fps :) I will fix that cosmetic bug (ps = vs fps =) soon for FPS > 999.9

#213
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,880 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
updated to 1.3, minor gui changes, updated reported result list

#214
shatterhenner

shatterhenner

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 108 posts
hi mitch, how to switch the gpu!? i got two nvidias installed?!
thx

#215
k3nny

k3nny

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 538 posts
  • Gender:Male
XFX Radeon HD 7870 DD:
Attached File  Untitled.jpg   159.55KB   7 downloads
Although I usually get about 340 fps. :P

#216
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,880 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany

hi mitch, how to switch the gpu!? i got two nvidias installed?!
thx

Sorry, gpu selection isnĀ“t implemented yet.

#217
rvxtm

rvxtm

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Timisoara, Romania
  • Interests:Tech, Science, Biology, OSX86 stuff
It does not work anymore for me, the system is in the sig. The app opens, i click benchmark and then the submission form shows up, no benchmark, no sun ,no sea and no score. only the submission window.

Any clue as to why this happens ?

PS: i get this in log :







OpenCL OceanWave:bash: line 1: 310 Segmentation fault: 11 ./OpenCL_OceanWave

OpenCL OceanWave:bash: line 1: 313 Segmentation fault: 11 ./OpenCL_OceanWave

OpenCL OceanWave:bash: line 1: 319 Segmentation fault: 11 ./OpenCL_OceanWave

OpenCL OceanWave:bash: line 1: 324 Segmentation fault: 11 ./OpenCL_OceanWave




#218
iFIRE

iFIRE

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Moderators
  • 3,775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bcn-Spain
i7 860 2.80GHZ ML 10.8.2 HD XFX 5770 = 144 FPS


Attached File  Captura de pantalla 2013-01-29 a la(s) 13.28.39.png   391.8KB   1 downloads

#219
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,880 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany

It does not work anymore for me, the system is in the sig. The app opens, i click benchmark and then the submission form shows up, no benchmark, no sun ,no sea and no score. only the submission window.

Any clue as to why this happens ?

PS: i get this in log : seg fault 11


Never seen this before.
First try to download again (and unzip).
OpenCL_Oceanwave (the code called in the bash) is in 64 Bit only - maybe your system doenst run 64 Bit?

#220
rvxtm

rvxtm

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Timisoara, Romania
  • Interests:Tech, Science, Biology, OSX86 stuff

Never seen this before.
First try to download again (and unzip).
OpenCL_Oceanwave (the code called in the bash) is in 64 Bit only - maybe your system doenst run 64 Bit?



"64-bit Kernel and Extensions: Yes"


i'm on OS X 10.7.4 , could it be that ?







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy