Alienware m11x: Install Lion

Harshboy

3 posts in this topic

How to install OSX Lion on Alienware m11x

Hello everyone. This is my first time writing a guide to do anything. My current Laptop is an Alienware m11x R1 and it makes a great laptop as a college student, but there were certain things that were limiting me while only using Windows 7. There is also a reason why I chose Lion over Snow Leopard too, despite myself liking Snow Leopard more. That is because it's actually easier to install, and you'll see why below ;)

I hit up the internet one night and found a nice little Lion installer helper by nawcom made specifically for the m11x. It literally does everything so I'm going to summarize it and tell you how to do a couple things.

Oh, and I take no credit for any of this, I'm simply relaying the facts. The people you should be thanking are the developers on insanelymac and other sites, especially nawcom - without him this wouldn't be nearly as easy! Please consider donating to him if you find his work as helpful and amazing as I did!

First there are a few things you need to know before you try all this.

1) This is only for the m11x R1 (Sorry R2/R3 users).

2) The stock wireless card (Dell 1520) doesn't work, buy a 1510 for $20 (It works out of the box)

3) SD Card reader doesn't work.

4) Firewire doesn't work.

5) You will need a 8GB or larger Flash Drive/External Hard Drive.

6) You will need access to a friend's Mac or run a VM of OSX SL (there are several guides on how to do this) to create the customized Install USB Stick.

Now, lets get on with the guide.

If you want to Dual/Tripple boot, install those OS's (Windows/Linux) first on separate partitions. My personal setup is a 500GB HDD split into 2 250GB partitions (one for Lion, one for Windows 7). We're going to start fresh so backup all important data. If you don't want to dual/tripple boot, go right to the "Preparing Lion Install Stick" section.

Dual/Tripple Booting: