Total Noob needs expert help

ulic3190

23 posts in this topic

This is a request to the experts in the field to please give me some advice.

The Goal: To run a geforce 570gfx on my true/real mac pro.

Progress so far: I have installed the new Lion OS, updated kexts for the cards pid and opengl math

Problem: Total noob to this area, complete interest resides in operating this card in the machine and have no experience messing with the boot sequence of a mac.

I have ready numerous posts in many different forums and it seems to boot this card and to "Inject" it I must install Chameleon and enable graphic acceleration. However many posts say never to install chameleon on a true mac system as this will ruin the boot sequence.

Hence my dilemma please can someone shine some light on this for me and point me in the right direction, it would honestly be greatly appreciated!

DO NOT INSTALL CHAMELEON ON THE REAL MAC. Why? Chameleon is intended to be used on PC ONLY. Macs have EFI instead of BIOS. PC has BIOS/UEFI instead of EFI. Chameleon is designed to emulate the missing EFI environment (plus many other features) on a PC to enable OS X boot and work. You don't need to emulate EFI on a real Mac, cos' it's already there. On a Hackintosh Chameleon can enable VGA card (like it is native Mac card). It has a build-in module for this. Hence recommendations to use Chameleon to enable graphics with none-Mac card. BUT YOU CAN'T use Chameleon on Mac. There are other solution(s) for your problem.

To use the PC card on a Mac, the card has to have EFI enabled ROM (all Mac versions of PC cards has that, pure PC cards don't have EFI part, hence the difference between the Mac card and PC card).

However the EFI part can be "injected" on-fly thus making it look like EFI enabled to Mac OS. Therefore such card can be made to work in Mac OS (injector, for the most part, provides all needed date for the Mac OS to recognize the card and enable it like natively supported).