Jump to content

[GUIDE] Installing Lion DP4 + GM Without USB(Video)


  • Please log in to reply
168 replies to this topic

#1
Still Win Fan

Still Win Fan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK


I can't guarantee that this procedure will work for you I have only tested it on my Asus P6T SE with Intel i7 920.
Im not responsible for any damage this might causes to your pc.



Video Tut:


This method works with Lion GM.
Tested on Asus p6t SE.
Posted Image


Note: Installing Lion Gold Master:

Before you can proceed to step 1 you first have to right click on the install file and select show package contents.
then go to Contents->SharedSupport and mount InstallECD.dmg Then you can proceed with the steps below.



Posted Image


Requirements:


1. OS X Lion dmg.
2. Working Mac OS X(I’m assuming you have only one hdd)


Step 1: Go to Disk Utility and click on the plus sign to create a new 10GB partition.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image


Step 2: Mount your OSX Lion dmg and show hidden files you can download the software i used from here .

Posted Image

Step 3:
1.Mount BaseSystem.dmg.
2.Go to Disk Utility.
3.Select the partition you made earlier and then click on Restore.
4.Chose Mac OS X Base System as Source, and the partition you made as the Destination.
5. Click restore and wait for it to finish.


Posted Image


Step 4:
1.After the restore operation complete unmount Mac OS X Base System.
2.Open the partition you made and go to System->Installation.
3.Delete the Packages file.


Posted Image

Step 5:
1.Open Mac OS X Install ESD and copy the packages folder.
2.Paste the packages folder in System->Installation to the partition you made.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Step 6:
1.Download Chameleon RC5 752 from here.
2.Install Chameleon on both the partition you made and your snow partition.

Step 7:
1.Go to the extra folder on your snow partiton and copy DSDT.aml and your extensions.
2.Paste them in extra on the partition you made.

Posted Image

Posted Image


Step 8:
1.Open Mac OS X Install ECD and copy these five files to the root of your new partition.
1..disk_lable.
2.boot.efi.
3.kernelcache.
4.mach_kernel.
5.MacOSX_Media_Background.png.


Posted Image


Step 9:
1.reboot and make sure to boot from the HDD you made the partition on.
2.From the Chameleon boot screen select the partition you made.
3.carry on with the installation as normal.





















Post-installation:

1. Install Chameleon RC5 752 on your lion partition.

Posted Image

2.I only needed the sound and network drivers for my board you can download them from here.



#2
starobrno1

starobrno1

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 930 posts
  • Gender:Male
Yes please do it it would save so much time. Does one need to get a bunch of new ketxs or can we keep it down to what we use for snow leo with this mobo, stuff like that would bee so cool to know. Im guessing you restored lion to your desktop of your working snow leo and then installed to another hdd using terminal.

Im gonna buy Lion as soon as they release it so Im really interested in what you have so far.

#3
roby777

roby777

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

I successfully installed Mac OSX Lion DP4 on my Asus P6T SE i7 920 using only one hdd with snow installed on it and DP4 image no need for a usb stick if anyone interested, I can make a tutorial explaining how I did it.

Screen Shot
Posted Image

Yes, please make a tutorial if you can.Thanks!!!

#4
caxio

caxio

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
+1
Yes, please make a tutorial if you can.Thanks!!!

#5
HackerWayne819

HackerWayne819

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
how did you upgrade from Snow leopard? Im having a same board as you.. Please make a tutorial. Im stuck with [PCI Configuration Begin] (GT450) after swapping a 9500gt it works fine but i need GT450.

#6
starobrno1

starobrno1

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 930 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thanks man this is good info I´ll try it as soon as they release Lion.

#7
caxio

caxio

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
thanks works now i am on lion :)

#8
Still Win Fan

Still Win Fan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Thanks man this is good info I´ll try it as soon as they release Lion.



thanks works now i am on lion :)



You welcome i'm glad I was of help.

#9
Millen1981

Millen1981

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
Hello. Im new to this forum and i just loooove it. Just wanna say that i have tried many guides on internet and also youtube to get my hackintosh running with lion. And this one is the best and easiest way to do it. It didn work for me with developer 4 so i tried developer 1 and success. All is working, my gpu nvidia gigabyte 8400gs with nvenabler64 kext and also my sound and internet. Uppdates also went well. This is the real guide.Thank you. My spec is a Gigabyte 945gcm-s2l motherboard with 4 gb of ddr2 800 mhz ram and of course the famous gigabyte 8400gs. 250gb sataII hdd and an sata dvdrw-dl.I think this guide will work on the most motherboard.

#10
e1ement

e1ement

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
What DSDT.aml did you use?

#11
Millen1981

Millen1981

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
I dont even know what a dsdt is. But i know in the guide it said that you should copy your dsdt wit the other files but i didnt copy any dsdt file onlo the others in the description.

#12
Still Win Fan

Still Win Fan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

What DSDT.aml did you use?


the DSDT.aml i used is for Asus P6T SE i7 920 you can get it from this post
http://www.insanelym...p...t&p=1394105

I dont even know what a dsdt is. But i know in the guide it said that you should copy your dsdt wit the other files but i didnt copy any dsdt file onlo the others in the description.


You can do it without a DSDT.aml file but this will explain what a DSDT.aml is http://wiki.osx86pro.../index.php/DSDT

#13
Millen1981

Millen1981

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
I have read all about the dsdt but i still dont know what it is, or what its good for.

#14
e1ement

e1ement

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

the DSDT.aml i used is for Asus P6T SE i7 920 you can get it from this post
http://www.insanelym...p...t&p=1394105


Alright, I currently use another one on my Snow Leopard installation. Did ethernet work for you in Snow Leopard without an additional driver? Because it does for me.

#15
Millen1981

Millen1981

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
This guide is amazing. I have tried every developer release this morning but im only getting the developer 1 to work on my computer. In the guide it said that you shold copy your dsdt file but i dont have any dsdt file so i just skipped that one . Is it maybe therefore im not being able to install example developer 4. Or can i take developer 4 dmg and install it over my lion and it vill update do dp4?

#16
Still Win Fan

Still Win Fan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Alright, I currently use another one on my Snow Leopard installation. Did ethernet work for you in Snow Leopard without an additional driver? Because it does for me.


On Snow Leopard I didn't need any additional drivers for network but on Lion I needed RealtekR1000SL.kext to get my ethernet working you can get it from here
http://www.mediafire...n1ocvra31qd74fy

This guide is amazing. I have tried every developer release this morning but im only getting the developer 1 to work on my computer. In the guide it said that you shold copy your dsdt file but i dont have any dsdt file so i just skipped that one . Is it maybe therefore im not being able to install example developer 4. Or can i take developer 4 dmg and install it over my lion and it vill update do dp4?


To be honest im not sure im going to try installing it without DSDT.aml and see what happens.

#17
Millen1981

Millen1981

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
So you think i should try with the dsdt file also. How do i get a dsdt file? From dsdt patcher?
Do you think i can install dp 4 if i use a dsdt file.

#18
Still Win Fan

Still Win Fan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

So you think i should try with the dsdt file also. How do i get a dsdt file? From dsdt patcher?
Do you think i can install dp 4 if i use a dsdt file.

I tried it without DSDT.aml and it worked just fine, so not having DSDT is not the problem.

#19
ROSO

ROSO

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
ican boot it stack in this line


Posted Image

#20
psxdadz

psxdadz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:uk

Yes, please make a tutorial if you can.Thanks!!!

best lion tutorial out there thanks worked a charm
i have tried all the others with no luck this one worked straight away after install i downloaded andycd5 for the internet and sound everything now working
my set up
asus p8p67
sandybridge i7
ati radeon 5770
8gb memory
500 gb hdd with snow leopard already installed

i had to disconnect my other 2 hdd to get the install going
thanks again





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy