Jump to content

Fermi 5XX works with Lion DP4/GM!


  • Please log in to reply
313 replies to this topic

#61
VooD

VooD

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

So I also have the 560 Ti and I don't think the power management kext is working properly because I cannot have it sleep on command. It will usually reboot itself after a few seconds. Otherwise I am not sure but I don't think mine is running in full 3D clock mode all time, but if someone has a way to check I would be very grateful.

Have you tried to mod the AGPM kext?
On the other hand, I just installed Lion with a 8600GT and everything was choppy until I disabled AppleUpstreamClient.kext

#62
camoguy

camoguy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts
Here's my info.plist file from AGPM.kext. My cinebench opengl score was 33 after I added this entry, it was 7 before.
I simply copied another entry and created a sibling, also note that in this plist, I enabled LogControl = 1, so my log shows each time the graphics card is switching gears.

Last night I played starcraft ii at full effect, amazing! and the fan would spin up gradually, it was perfect, just like windows.

Attached File  Info.plist.zip   2.79KB   261 downloads

#63
VooD

VooD

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 781 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain

Here's my info.plist file from AGPM.kext. My cinebench opengl score was 33 after I added this entry, it was 7 before.
I simply copied another entry and created a sibling, also note that in this plist, I enabled LogControl = 1, so my log shows each time the graphics card is switching gears.

Last night I played starcraft ii at full effect, amazing! and the fan would spin up gradually, it was perfect, just like windows.

Attached File  Info.plist.zip   2.79KB   261 downloads


Great. Then the 560 ti is the way to go :gun:
Physix in Windows, CUDA in both, OpenCL, and just a bit slower than the 6870 and a bit more power hungry.

#64
agalex

agalex

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece
Does OpenCL work on 590 GTX? I mean does it recognize that you have three devices. 2 GPUs 1 CPU? I am sure that the new Mac Pros will have support for multi GPUs so I am guessing that it probably does.

#65
TouchMyBox

TouchMyBox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
So how come a blank graphics mode entry for you guys allows you to get 3D an video playback, but it does jack all for me and my GTX 580? I've followed the steps in this thread to a T with no luck.

#66
Naitec

Naitec

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

So how come a blank graphics mode entry for you guys allows you to get 3D an video playback, but it does jack all for me and my GTX 580? I've followed the steps in this thread to a T with no luck.


My GTX580 works with "-v" Bootflag, inserting the blank line does not work and screws my system.

#67
TouchMyBox

TouchMyBox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

My GTX580 works with "-v" Bootflag, inserting the blank line does not work and screws my system.


Just tried that, no dice...

Do you just have the spinning wheel during the grey apple boot screen? I don't

in verbose mode, it just stalls at PCI Configuration Begin, but oddly enough, it boots up a few moments later which no additional messages.

edit: I tried using npci=0x2000, and it gives me the spinning thing, but it doesn't help any.

#68
T.B.B.

T.B.B.

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
@touchmybox: use npci=0x2000 and -v and tell us where it stops then

#69
mg100796

mg100796

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas
  • Interests:Computers, Programming, Golf, Basketball, and my blog.
I'm getting ready to buy a GTX 5xx card. Any suggestions on a specific card?
PS- I'm an Adobe CS5 video editor. Thanks.

#70
TouchMyBox

TouchMyBox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

@touchmybox: use npci=0x2000 and -v and tell us where it stops then


I've done both, despite stalling there, it still boots up oddly. with the npci, it just works as normal, but no flash, games, video etc.

#71
hannibal1969

hannibal1969

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 75 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint Oedenrode
  • Interests:MAC OSX and Apps | Hackintosh | Hardware | Gadgets | Tits, Cameltows and Asses
Dear topic starter.

Is this still valid ?

6. Install ATY_Init. Use a kext utility for that. Don't forget to rebuild cache and kexts.

AFIK is installing ATY_Init not necessary at all.

What I did for full GTX580 support:

1) DEV-ID in NVDAGF100hal.kext
2) Open CL addition netkas instructions (hexedit) in file GeforceGLDriverBundle
3) Cuda 4.019 install
4) AGPM adjustment (add at correct system type MacPro4,1 for mine your devID with a copy of an existing profile)
5) Remove AppleUpstreamKext for removing mouse lag
6) Adjust bootplist with Graphics Mode with an empty value
7) Rebuild the Kexts and reboot


attached Full MacPro4,1 entry of AGPM (not the full info.plist!, just replace MacPro4,1 part if you have GTX580)

Attached Files



#72
T.B.B.

T.B.B.

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
@hannibal1969: in my case, my graphic card didn't get recognized at all without that kext. As far i know, the kext only identifies the graphic card and sends the device id to the system. But I'll give it another try and remove the kext and see if it is still being recognized.

@touchmybox: could you provide us with some more infos? Like system profiler pics? Can you also check if your card is being recognized during booting? (try with -v) There should be something like: NVG.100HAL is registered and loaded.

#73
AdobeEditor

AdobeEditor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
So its really strange. I was trying to test my performance with Cinebench 11.5 and while my CPU tests fine and gets a rating of 6.72 (don't know if its that great), I try using the OpenGL test and it takes a long time to prepare. I ended up walking away from my computer for like 5-10 minutes and when I came back the screen was all multi-colored static! I was completely locked out of any commands and restarted manually.

Has this happened to anyone else? Is there a solution?

#74
camoguy

camoguy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

So its really strange. I was trying to test my performance with Cinebench 11.5 and while my CPU tests fine and gets a rating of 6.72 (don't know if its that great), I try using the OpenGL test and it takes a long time to prepare. I ended up walking away from my computer for like 5-10 minutes and when I came back the screen was all multi-colored static! I was completely locked out of any commands and restarted manually.

Has this happened to anyone else? Is there a solution?


when i step away and the computer and screen fall asleep, I hit a key and occasionally the colored pixelated static appears for a split second before the login box appears. i see this colored static quite often when i wake it from sleep but only lasts for a brief moment. if you're getting low benchmark tests, i think it has to do with the card not being told to switch to full memory and clock speed, this is where applegraphicspowermanagement.kext comes into play. open that plist up, find your mac model i.e. iMac12,1 or MacPro4,1 then follow the previous posts and add your own entry with the card's dev id and vendor id. the way i did it was, opened up macpro4,1 saw two dev/ven entries, took a look at heuristics, then just copy and pasted a duplicate entry with my own vendor/device id's instead, also i enabled logging.

#75
AdobeEditor

AdobeEditor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

when i step away and the computer and screen fall asleep, I hit a key and occasionally the colored pixelated static appears for a split second before the login box appears. i see this colored static quite often when i wake it from sleep but only lasts for a brief moment. if you're getting low benchmark tests, i think it has to do with the card not being told to switch to full memory and clock speed, this is where applegraphicspowermanagement.kext comes into play. open that plist up, find your mac model i.e. iMac12,1 or MacPro4,1 then follow the previous posts and add your own entry with the card's dev id and vendor id. the way i did it was, opened up macpro4,1 saw two dev/ven entries, took a look at heuristics, then just copy and pasted a duplicate entry with my own vendor/device id's instead, also i enabled logging.


Well I gave this a try and unfortunately I have run into some complications. First, I realized that my build was not on the list in the kext's Info.plist file. So I decided to run ##### and change my configuration from MacPro3,1 to MacPro4,1. I should have rebooted first but instead I copied the .plist file that was posted at the start of this thread into the contents of the AppleGraphicsPowerManagement.kext and then I got a kernel panic.

Since that I decided I might try using my bootable flashdrive of Lion Installer to restore from a Time Machine backup. If this wasn't clear already, my system is a hackintosh so of course I forgot about the bootloader then going missing...

So I screwed that up and before I try to reinstall Lion from scratch (I had a lot of preferences and changes I would like to keep), the only thing standing in my way right now is trying to boot it properly. ##### seemed like my only shot at booting correctly but for whatever reason my screen will flash after the bootloader is loaded and I have chosen my Lion partition.

If anyone has any thoughts it would be much appreciated.


Just did a fresh install. It all worked out for the best I guess.

#76
elpopo

elpopo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Actually with Lion I was able to get my Nvidia Tesla C2050 recognized by the system with just the Graphic Enabler in the boot.plist.
Using the Netkas patch I could use opencl and it is very fast now.
Only problem is that if I add a second tesla card or another GPU I get a kernel panic just on displaying the login window. So I can only use one tesla and hook up the display to that card.
With SL I used the editing of the boot.plist to add both tesla (+another one for the video), but I didn't get opencl working.
I don't know if maybe I can use the same trick with Lion, I am not doing it now as at least everything is working (I have a 2 hexacores processors computer 3.33 GHz) and it was easy with Lion, but not easy at all with SL.

#77
hannibal1969

hannibal1969

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Donators
  • 75 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sint Oedenrode
  • Interests:MAC OSX and Apps | Hackintosh | Hardware | Gadgets | Tits, Cameltows and Asses

my Nvidia Tesla C2050 ....I have a 2 hexacores processors computer 3.33 GHz....


Man your loaded no doubt ... what are you doing with that setup ? Garageband ?

AFIK multi GPU setups are possible by Graphics Enabler for the first and NVCaps EFI injection for 2nd 3rd and so on. Maybe you want to consider a quad Tesla setup ...

@hannibal1969: in my case, my graphic card didn't get recognized at all without that kext. As far i know, the kext only identifies the graphic card and sends the device id to the system. But I'll give it another try and remove the kext and see if it is still being recognized.

What I noticed with the usage of ATY_Init was an extremely lagging performance.

I'm not sure but ATY_Init is an injector yes but also a helper for use of DVI-Ports in case you HDMI / Displayports aren't recognized.My experience is that ATY_Init forced the output to DVI. Without ATY_init I got displayport working but when I remove ATY_Init it still works @DVI so for now I use DVI. Good enough for me.

#78
elpopo

elpopo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Man your loaded no doubt ... what are you doing with that setup ? Garageband ?

AFIK multi GPU setups are possible by Graphics Enabler for the first and NVCaps EFI injection for 2nd 3rd and so on. Maybe you want to consider a quad Tesla setup ...


Thanks a lot for the advice. Actually yesterday I tried it with partial success and today after seeing your post I experimented a little more as I am not sure I do it the way you advice.

I do intense computation using my own written programs and if I can get the second Tesla in I can speed up another 50% roughly. I develop mainly on mac and I am targeting opencl on both GPUs and CPUs (I get roughly the same speed with the tesla and the 24 threads of the 12 CPU cores) to get maximum power. I have also a Mac Pro with nearly the same configuration, but just the ATI card instead of the 2 Tesla and a little less GHz (2.93). So I would like to get the most powerful mac I can for my project.

So in order what I tried (I'll post at the end the GFX strings I use, basically using the Aquamac way for one or two GPUs). I do not have installed ATY_INIT:

- One tesla with only GraphicsEnabler to Yes -> fully recognized, QE/CI (and OpenCL) working
- One Tesla with GFX strings (with or without GraphicsEnabler) -> recognized, no QE/CI (and OpenCL)
- Two Tesla with only GraphicEnabler to Yes -> kernel panic just before the login screen
- Two Tesla with GFX strings -> both recognized, no QE/CI (and OpenCL), I can use two monitors and add even a third GPU this way
- Two Tesla with GraphicEnabler Yes for the first one (the one used for boot and with the monitor) and GFX strings for the second -> stuck at PCI Configuration Begin, using npci=0x2000 it goes further but I get a kernel panic in the NVIDIA next.

I tried exchanging the PCI slots usage but nothing changed (used also the user cache kernel flag with no improvements).

Using these GFX strings is the same you meant for "NVCaps EFI injection for 2nd 3rd and so on" ?
If so maybe I'm not using the correct strings.

I post in the following the plist used to generate the GFX strings for the case of the two tesla (with only the second tesla with GFX strings) and the boot.plist (omitting the hex code for brevity).

com.apple.Boot.plist in extra folder:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>04040000010000000100..........omitted.......</string>
</dict>
</plist>


the in.plist used to generate the hex strings in device-properties (only one Tesla for the hybrid method):


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x7,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)</key>
<dict>
<key>@0,can-hot-plug</key>
<string></string>
<key>@0,compatible</key>
<string>NVDA,NVMac</string>
<key>@0,device_type</key>
<string>display</string>
<key>@0,name</key>
<string>NVDA,Display-A</string>
<key>AAPL,aux-power-connected</key>
<string>0x00000001</string>
<key>AAPL,backlight-control</key>
<string>0x00000000</string>
<key>AAPL,gart-width</key>
<integer>64</integer>
<key>AAPL00,blackscreen-preferences</key>
<string>0x00000000</string>
<key>AAPL01,blackscreen-preferences</key>
<string>0x00000000</string>
<key>IONVRAMProperty</key>
<false/>
<key>NVCAP</key>
<data>
BAAAAAAAAwAcAAAAAAAACgAAAAA=
</data>
<key>NVDA,Features</key>
<string>0x108006ff</string>
<key>NVPM</key>
<data>
AQAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA==
</data>
<key>VRAM,totalsize</key>
<string>0xA8000000</string>
<key>device_type</key>
<string>NVDA,GeForce</string>
<key>model</key>
<string>Tesla C2050</string>
<key>name</key>
<string>NVDA,Parent</string>
<key>rm_board_number</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>rm_multiboard_capable</key>
<data>
AQAAAA==
</data>
<key>rom-revision</key>
<string>70.00.2B.00.02</string>
<key>subsystem-id</key>
<string>0x00001080</string>
</dict>
</dict>
</plist>

If hannibal1969 or someone else can give me an hint I would be grateful

Thanks

Elpopo

#79
agalex

agalex

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Dear topic starter.

Is this still valid ?

6. Install ATY_Init. Use a kext utility for that. Don't forget to rebuild cache and kexts.

AFIK is installing ATY_Init not necessary at all.

What I did for full GTX580 support:

1) DEV-ID in NVDAGF100hal.kext
2) Open CL addition netkas instructions (hexedit) in file GeforceGLDriverBundle
3) Cuda 4.019 install
4) AGPM adjustment (add at correct system type MacPro4,1 for mine your devID with a copy of an existing profile)
5) Remove AppleUpstreamKext for removing mouse lag
6) Adjust bootplist with Graphics Mode with an empty value
7) Rebuild the Kexts and reboot


attached Full MacPro4,1 entry of AGPM (not the full info.plist!, just replace MacPro4,1 part if you have GTX580)


Will this work for the GTX 590? I mean will the two GPUs get recognized for CUDA and OpenCL?

#80
Denieru

Denieru

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
Sorry for bothering you guys, but I'm a n00b and I basically don't really get it. If I were to follow this guide successfully would I then have full support for my GTX 560Ti enabling me to use flash, play 3D games like Starcraft II etc. or will it just enable me to have the max resolution my monitor supports?

Thanks





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy