Jump to content

AirDrop - Wifi compatible cards


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#1
RN95

RN95

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
Hi,

First, has anyone managed to get AirDrop working or even just showing on their sidebar?

AirDrop doesn't seem to work on all Apple Macs and rumour has it that it is hardware dependent, that is it works with some chipsets only.

Please tell us if you have got it working and with which card?

Thanks

#2
Armacham

Armacham

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
Interfaces:
en1:
Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0x8E)
Firmware Version: Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.100.98.75.6)
MAC Address: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
Locale: ETSI
Country Code: DE
Supported PHY Modes: 802.11 a/b/g/n
Supported Channels: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 120, 124, 128, 132, 136, 140
Wake On Wireless: Supported
AirDrop: Supported
Status: Connected

Model see Signature.

#3
RN95

RN95

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts

Interfaces:
en1:
Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0x8E)
Firmware Version: Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.100.98.75.6)


Model see Signature.


Thanks - That's good to know:

WiFi: Original Apple AIRPORT BCM94322MC + miniPCIX PCIx riser card

Cheers

#4
sparkythewondersquid

sparkythewondersquid

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chouteau, Montana
Air drop is no longer available on mine since update 11A494e

#5
tantan

tantan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
i cant remember if it was working before, but now its definately not in the finders sidebar.
is there any way to fix airdrop on a hackintosh?

#6
joeschmo

joeschmo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
en1:
Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x168C, 0x203)
Firmware Version: Atheros 9280: 4.0.55.4-P2P
MAC Address: 78:e4:00:bf:00:00
Locale: Unknown
Country Code:
Supported Channels: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 34, 36, 38, 40, 42, 44, 46, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 120, 124, 128, 132, 136, 140, 149, 153, 157, 161, 165
Wake On Wireless: Supported
AirDrop: Supported
Status: Connected

========

Dell WLAN 1525

#7
HeyYoWL

HeyYoWL

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
Hey guys, a quick request. I'm still on 10.6.3 because when I upgraded to 10.6.7 or 10.6.8 my wi-fi stopped working. Even with the same broadcom card you have. Could you please tell me where I could get a kext for it, or better yet, even send me it? Thanks! :)

#8
cili0

cili0

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 3,009 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy
Does anybody know if the AR5BXB72 model is compatible with AirDrop?

thanks!
ciao!

#9
JBraddock

JBraddock

    Ph.D (Can) in Human Rights

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:UK

Does anybody know if the AR5BXB72 model is compatible with AirDrop?

thanks!
ciao!

I have that card and yes, it is compatible with AirDrop. I used one extracted from a HP laptop (Search for 'HP Atheros 9280') and it works out of the box. But I used a DSDT code to make it look like a Apple's one.

Software Versions:  CoreWLAN:	2.0 (200.46)  CoreWLANKit:	1.0 (100.43)  Menu Extra:	7.0 (700.42)  configd plug-in:	7.0 (700.57)  System Profiler:	7.0 (700.3)  IO80211 Family:	4.0 (400.40)  WiFi Diagnostics:	1.0 (100.26)  AirPort Utility:	5.5.3 (553.20)  Interfaces:en1:  Card Type:	AirPort Extreme  (0x168C, 0x8F)  Firmware Version:	Atheros 9280: 4.0.55.4-P2P  MAC Address:	Removed  Locale:	RoW  Country Code:	US   Supported Channels:	1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 120, 124, 128, 132, 136, 140, 149, 153, 157, 161, 165  Wake On Wireless:	Supported  AirDrop:	Supported  Status:	Connected


#10
cili0

cili0

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 3,009 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

I have that card and yes, it is compatible with AirDrop. I used one extracted from a HP laptop (Search for 'HP Atheros 9280') and it works out of the box. But I used a DSDT code to make it look like a Apple's one.

Software Versions:  CoreWLAN:	2.0 (200.46)  CoreWLANKit:	1.0 (100.43)  Menu Extra:	7.0 (700.42)  configd plug-in:	7.0 (700.57)  System Profiler:	7.0 (700.3)  IO80211 Family:	4.0 (400.40)  WiFi Diagnostics:	1.0 (100.26)  AirPort Utility:	5.5.3 (553.20)  Interfaces:en1:  Card Type:	AirPort Extreme  (0x168C, 0x8F)  Firmware Version:	Atheros 9280: 4.0.55.4-P2P  MAC Address:	00:23:4e:66:7e:bb  Locale:	RoW  Country Code:	US   Supported Channels:	1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 120, 124, 128, 132, 136, 140, 149, 153, 157, 161, 165  Wake On Wireless:	Supported  AirDrop:	Supported  Status:	Connected


Do you think the DSDT modification will be still necessary if I decide to use an original apple airport with AR5BXB72?

thanks!
ciao!

#11
JamesLittler

JamesLittler

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,022 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portsmouth, England

Hey guys, a quick request. I'm still on 10.6.3 because when I upgraded to 10.6.7 or 10.6.8 my wi-fi stopped working. Even with the same broadcom card you have. Could you please tell me where I could get a kext for it, or better yet, even send me it? Thanks! :D


Just use the working IONetworkingFamily.kext from 10.6.3

#12
JBraddock

JBraddock

    Ph.D (Can) in Human Rights

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:UK

Do you think the DSDT modification will be still necessary if I decide to use an original apple airport with AR5BXB72?

thanks!
ciao!

It is not even completely necessary for HP Atheros 9280 so it should be fine.

#13
tantan

tantan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
it would be nice to know what feature makes a wifi card airdrop compatibe.
is it the adhoc mode, must it be N....
does anybody know the hardware requirements for airdrop?

#14
JBraddock

JBraddock

    Ph.D (Can) in Human Rights

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:UK

it would be nice to know what feature makes a wifi card airdrop compatibe.
is it the adhoc mode, must it be N....
does anybody know the hardware requirements for airdrop?

As far as I know, it is the ad hoc mode.

#15
tantan

tantan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
strange, my card supports adhoc but it doesnt work...
its the asus wl 133g v2.
it works oob, but is not recognized as airport.
would it maybe help to do the dsdt trick to make airport work?

#16
MiniHack

MiniHack

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 638 posts
  • Gender:Male

Do you think the DSDT modification will be still necessary if I decide to use an original apple airport with AR5BXB72?

thanks!
ciao!


Okay, so my card is supposedly an atheros AR5BXB72 but does not seem to support Airdrop.
I see the device ID is slightly different. Could it be a different firmware release with some of these cards working and others not?
If you could share your DSDT device mod for this card then I'd like to try that to see if I can get airdrop functional.
Thanks.
Here's what my sys profiler says about the card.


en1:
Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x168C, 0x87)
Firmware Version: Atheros 5416: 2.1.14.6
MAC Address: 00:1c:b3:bc:98:c3
Locale: APAC
Country Code: GB
Supported PHY Modes: 802.11 a/b/g/n
Supported Channels: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 120, 124, 128, 132, 136, 140
Status: Connected
Current Network Information:

#17
JBraddock

JBraddock

    Ph.D (Can) in Human Rights

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:UK
Sorry guys, my wifi card is actually "HP Atheros AR9280' and its code name is "AR5BXB92" (AR5009).
Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x168C, 0x87)
Your card already has Apple's id (0x87) so I don't what might be the problem. The DSDT code I am using only changes this id and I'll share it when I go home.

#18
MiniHack

MiniHack

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 638 posts
  • Gender:Male

Sorry guys, my wifi card is actually "HP Atheros AR9280' and its code name is "AR5BXB92" (AR5009).

Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x168C, 0x87)
Your card already has Apple's id (0x87) so I don't what might be the problem. The DSDT code I am using only changes this id and I'll share it when I go home.


Thanks JBraddock.

Odd that the system profiler in that case would show my card as not supported. Maybe I should check the BIOS settings next time I get on it. Perhaps I have a setting disabled and that is blocking it.

If you could share the DSDT mod (just in case) it'd be worth trying too though to try and track down the cause.

I did see on the russian site that they reckon the '92 card is supported for airdrop out of the box, but that the '72 needs IDs adding to the Atheros40 plugin inside the IO80211Family.kext - I did try and add the device iDs into the plists on that kext, but I think that advice was outdated as the plugins in the retail version of Lion don't seem to be the same as discussed over on the russian site.

Anyway, any help appreciated.

#19
JBraddock

JBraddock

    Ph.D (Can) in Human Rights

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • Location:UK

Thanks JBraddock.

Odd that the system profiler in that case would show my card as not supported. Maybe I should check the BIOS settings next time I get on it. Perhaps I have a setting disabled and that is blocking it.

If you could share the DSDT mod (just in case) it'd be worth trying too though to try and track down the cause.

I did see on the russian site that they reckon the '92 card is supported for airdrop out of the box, but that the '72 needs IDs adding to the Atheros40 plugin inside the IO80211Family.kext - I did try and add the device iDs into the plists on that kext, but I think that advice was outdated as the plugins in the retail version of Lion don't seem to be the same as discussed over on the russian site.

Anyway, any help appreciated.

I am really sorry as I should have been more careful before posting. I was away from my computer. Please accept my apologies if I wasted your valuable time.

Subsystem id of Apple for Atheros Card is 0x8F and I used the below DSDT code to change sub-system id of HP Atheros 9280, which was previously 0x1382. Below is the code I am using right now. * is a unicode character and the device id (2a) for this particular card.

Device (ARPT)
				{
					Name (_ADR, Zero)
					Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
					{
						Store (Package (0x06)
							{
								"device-id", 
								Unicode ("*"), 
								"subsystem-id", 
								Buffer (0x04)
								{
									0x8F, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
								}, 
								"subsystem-vendor-id", 
								Buffer (0x04)
								{
									0x6B, 0x10, 0x00, 0x00
								}
							}, Local0)
						DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
						Return (Local0)
					}
				}
Previously
Card Type:	AirPort Extreme  (0x168C, 0x1382)
Now
AirPort Extreme  (0x168C, 0x8F)
Check out the screenshot, as you can see Apple is seen as the vendor.
Attached File  Screen_Shot_2011_07_28_at_21.43.20.png   48.56KB   365 downloads
Instead of adding device ids to the vanilla next or creating a legacy next I used the above code for the same purpose as in we use Apple's device ids to have native usb support.
Hope it helps,

#20
MiniHack

MiniHack

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 638 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thanks Jbraddock.

I expect you are aware of this already, but thought it might be worth mentioning in case anyone else makes the same mistake as me - the System Profiler info for the wifi in Lion is NOT listed in the format of (vendorid, deviceid) but is instead (vendorid,boardid), so to check the deviceid you need to go into the Ioreg.

For instance on my MBA here is the relevant sys profiler entry for my wifi:

en0:
Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0xE9)

and here is an extract from the IOreg:


vendorid: 0x14e4
deviceid: 0x4353
radiorev: 0xb2056000
chipnum: 0xa8d8
chiprev: 0x1
corerev: 0x17
boardid: 0xe9
boardvendor: 0x106b
boardrev: 0x2717
driverrev: 0x564624b
ucoderev: 0x28800da
bus: 0x1

So in any case this would indicate that since I was taking the values from my system profiler when trying to patch for my Gigabyte board, I was actually patching the wrong values. So when I get back on that machine I'll need to double check inside the Ioreg to see what my actual deviceid is.

EDIT: Nope, still no joy. No airdrop for me with this card......





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy