Porting a NF4 SATA Driver

37 posts in this topic

Well,I guess its high time we got SATA goin on NF4.Inspired by planetbeing,who ported the forcedeth driver,I have decided to try to port the SATA driver. I found sata_nv.c and it is quite a small script actually.. :):) .Nothin compared to forcedeth.But I am an absolute newbie at this and wud like some help from u guys.

I will upload the sata_nv for now.Have a look and continue this thread...

Edit:I have also uploaded the BSD driver (viaide.c).The name says ide but it supports both SATA and ide.

Cheers

Subramanyam

sata_nv.c.zip

viaide.c.zip

• 2 weeks later...

I sent you a PM on this so you don't need to reply to both if you see that. I just wanted it on the forum to see if anyone else can help as well

This is my computer:

AMD Opteron 146

EVGA nForce4 SLI Motherboard

EVGA 7800 GT VidCard

SATA Raptor 74 GB

SATA Raptor 150 GB (Windows on this)

SATA Seagate 300 GB (Data Drive)

I want to install Mac OSX on my 74 GB Raptor. It is completely empty and I formatted Fat32 so Mac OSX could see it. I boot up on the JaS 10.4.7 DVD from Demonoid, osx sees the drive, I format the drive and sometimes it will format for mac file system and then it can't mount - so it freezes. I restart and the drive will usually be mounted. I say usually because different things happen. I try to install and select the VIA SATA drivers but the install freezes usually 1/4 of the way through.

I saw the thread http://forum.insanelymac.com/index.php?showtopic=25879

Can I use that to somehow install OSX on my SATA? I have no IDE HD on this computer, only SATA. I am a complete n00b at doing this but I think if your driver works and I can get it loaded that I can get OSX installed on my computer. If you will please help me with this it would be much appreciated. Thanks.