Jump to content

[Guide] Dell XPS 15 L502X (Early 2011) Snow Leopard Install (possibly L702x too)

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
2995 replies to this topic

#281
crdnilfan

crdnilfan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
The standard -v -GraphicsEnabler=No busratio=20, but considering that all went fine, I configured everything correctly, and I now boot without any flags, those shouldn't matter anymore.

I guess I'm curious to know if anybody here has working touchpad scrolling with 10.7.2 installed

#282
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@Futuregator15, i don't know what to say, did some test now can't boot from USB stick directly or through rBoot, but i can boot from it using the working chimera from my OS X install. I'm pretty much out of ideas on your problem atm.
Best just burn it on a DVD, or make a small 6gb partition and restore it there, that should guarantee the boot ;)

@crdnilfan TouchPad Scrolling is working perfectly, rebuild cache manually and delete whatever lies in the cache folder and boot with UseKernelCache=Yes (check the answers i gave to SpeBlue a page or two back for detailed explanation of how to do this)

#283
AKennedy_4

AKennedy_4

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Technology, Sports
While I was going back through the process of installing 10.6.3 I found my way into the disk utility and realized that OS X sees the drives differently than windows does. For example disk 0 would be my primary hard drive in windows and disk 1 would be my USB drive. However this is opposite in OS X. for example disk0 is my external USB drive and disk 1 is my internal hard drive. Maybe this we a noob discovery due to my inexperience with OS X, but I think it would be useful for others out there who get the "still waiting on root device" error when trying to use iAtkos

#284
AKennedy_4

AKennedy_4

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Technology, Sports
Just a progress update on anyone in the future that has this problem:

I reinstalled 10.6.3, installed ##### and the sandy bridge update helper suggested by DoiX. Rebooted. Installers 10.6.8 combo update. Rebooted. Them ran into a kernel panic. Once I tried to boot again.

Also the boot loader completely crashed on me and now I can't even get in it. I don't know of this is because I used EasyBCD to create a dual boot system or because of how I installed OS X.

When I tried to specify the location of the USB drive, that failed again too.

Now I'm gonna try and create a partition directly on the hard disk. Reinstall my working 10.6.3 so I can restore the iAtkos image to the partition. Guess this is my last resort. Thanks for the help DoiX. Hope I can fix this curse I have on my computer

#285
Kirky

Kirky

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Filming & Editing!
@Doix

I'm still stuck on the speedstepper issue in 10.7.2, but I'm also experiencing a slight graphics breakup with your Full HD DSDT? (my DSDT just gives the pinkish image in 10.7.2, but worked in 10.7.1?)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Firstly, I've got the i7 2630 processor, 8gb ram, 1920x1080 screen spec. I had speedstepper working in 10.7.1, but without audio as I was still using the E/E folder. I've now installed 10.7.2 and migrated everything across to S/L/E and audio works. I also have Full HD resolution, but no speedstepper and occasional graphics breakup? My Geekbench score has reduced to 7700

I've tried the reinstalling speedstepper steps and I get a message in terminal saying that its already been patched?

I've done the creating my own Extensions.mkext through KextWizard and placed it in the S/L/C/C/Startup folder and deleted everything else in their and rebooted, but still no speed stepper?

I've even tried replacing my AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement.kext with the one you uploaded and still no speedstepper?

Questions...

When using KernelCache instead of E/Extensions.mkext, can you still use the KextUtility.app to repair permissions? or Is it safe to repair permissions in Macs DiskUtility.app?

Also, I'm now unsure if everything is correct in my org.chameleon.boot.plist file? does yours read like this.......

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>Kernel</key>
	<string>mach_kernel</string>
	<key>Kernel Flags</key>
		<string> PCIRootUID=1 npci=0x2000</string>
	<key>device-properties</key>
<string>600000000100000001000000540000000100000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04001e00
00004100410050004c002c006f0073002d0069006e0066006f0000001800000030490111111108000001f01f01000000
10070000</string>
<key>DSDT</key>
<string>DSDT.aml</string>
	<key>Timeout</key>
	<string>1</string>
		<key>GenerateCStates</key>
		<string>Yes</string>
		<key>GeneratePStates</key>
		<string>Yes</string>
		<key>UseKernelCache</key>
		<string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>


#286
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@Kirky, whats that device property thing? Is it the one from wen1 for graphics under chameleon? You might wanna remove that.. as for speed stepper, that score is equivalent with the 3TS SSDT i made, you are most likely using that, load msrdumper and poster what speedsteps it gets after a while :)

@futuregator i'll thing about it when i'm done with work.

#287
AKennedy_4

AKennedy_4

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Technology, Sports
FIXED MY ISSUE!

I realized that after I forgot to patch my 10.6.3 installation with the mbr support and USB 3.0 drivers, that I got the "waiting for root device" error again. So I found mbr files for 10.7 and patched iAtkos L1 with them and the USB 3.0 kext. I booted again and now I have a weird looking screen. The colors are all put of wack and the installation main screen is docked to the side where you can't click continue.

Update: couldn't use tab or anything to select continue with the install. Booted with -v -f GraphicsEnabler-no cpus=1 busratio=20 any ideas?

#288
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
That weird screen happens because you have 1920x1080p screen, add the FHD DSDT on the stick or delete AppleIntelFSBGraphics (i hope i wrote the name correctly) from extensions folder and boot with it. This should remove QE/CE Graphics from the installer.

#289
AKennedy_4

AKennedy_4

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Technology, Sports
Hi DoiX,

There wasn't a kext with the name you described in S/L/E. but I did copy the DSDT into the root drive and I'm booting from it now..
It worked!!!!!!! Omg yes full resolution! Installing now!

#290
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
Yeah, AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext correct name... after install you will have to copy the DSDT to the root partition again.

#291
AKennedy_4

AKennedy_4

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Technology, Sports
Alright so I got to the customize screen, but it doesn't display anything. And when I click install anyways it says it's missing language packs and it can't install so I have to reboot.. Sorry for all the trouble and noobish questions

#292
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@futuregator15, iAtkos L1 is 10.7.1 did you use the patched 10.7.1 files or 10.7.0 ones? This could be a problem.:)

#293
AKennedy_4

AKennedy_4

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Technology, Sports
Used this guide here and downloaded the MBR patch. However the site says it supports Lion GM to final. and Nawcom also has a patch for 10.7.2 but I didn't see one for 10.7.1

But wait, that patch should be ok since it fixed my waiting for root device error? Or was that what the USB 3.0 patch did?

#294
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
The patch alters the installer itself, thats why it's mandatory to be specifically for your version. Atm it's easier to just burn iatkos on a dvd at 4x speed... you will struggle at the post install screen when booting the first time because you will have the same problem with screen, you can either just estimate where the next button is and use your mouse to click it even tho it's outside the screen, delete/rename the before mention SNB kext or copy DSDT from USB stick to root partition using -v -s single user command.

#295
AKennedy_4

AKennedy_4

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Technology, Sports
Thanks for the reply. I'll plan on burn that image to a DVD and trying to install from there. Hopefully this works. Thanks for all your help

#296
Kirky

Kirky

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Filming & Editing!
@Doix

Great work my friend! I finally have 10.7.2 installed with a geekbench score of 9700. I did as you suggested and replaced your SSDT-3TS with the SSDT-9TS and removed the Wen1's old Device Properties GFX injector that I've had in the boot.plist file since using 10.6.8. Extra/Extensions no longer exists and everything is detected through the KernelCache. My org.chameleon.boot.plist file now reads as follows...

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>Kernel</key>
	<string>mach_kernel</string>
	<key>Kernel Flags</key>
	<string> PCIRootUID=1 npci=0x2000</string>
	<key>Timeout</key>
	<string>1</string>
	<key>GenerateCStates</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>GeneratePStates</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>UseKernelCache</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>


#297
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@Kirky, glad you made it, i recommend smcK-Stat-i to monitor CPU temp. With that SSDT the temps in idle should be around 54C with 22ºC room temp if under normal load its around 70 i recommend getting a cooling pad if you want to keep the TS active so you don't drain the life out of it. I ordered a CoolMaster NotePal U3 it should arrive tomorrow, ill post if its good for anything.


I'll update the tutorial with what i've synthesized from the past posts soon enough.

#298
AKennedy_4

AKennedy_4

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Technology, Sports
I tried to burn iAtkos with transmac, booted with the flags -v -f GraphicsEnabler=no cpus=1 busratio=20 and got stuck at "nstat_lookup_entry_failed: 2" and above that it says no interval found for . Using 8000000

Really frustrated. Is there something I can do to fix the iAtkos customization problem I had earlier? Or maybe reinstall 10.6.3 and then install iAtkos over that? I feel like I'm only one that can't get this thing working

#299
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,132 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
-v GraphicsEnabler=No busratio=20 try only this, the code line you described isn't a always a full stop in the boot process.

I'm going to sleep now, i promise tomorrow when i get home i'll try to assist you as much as i can :( till then good luck with your ordeal.. oh and remember the first time is the hardest, be thankful you have a intel machine.. i went through hell and back to get my AMD one first working years ago.

Edit: did a quick search, that line appear on real macs as well, related to system integrity. (iatkos got corrupted when burning?)

#300
AKennedy_4

AKennedy_4

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 190 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Technology, Sports
Well how about that. I tried to boot again from the cd just for the heck of it. And let it keep running. Well I came back 2 hours later and it was at the install screen. Before I only gave it about 15 minutes to install. But it's installing now! Thank you for all your help DoiX! MUCH appreciated





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy