Jump to content

[Guide] Dell XPS 15 L502X (Early 2011) Snow Leopard Install (possibly L702x too)

* * * * * 5 votes

  • Please log in to reply
2974 replies to this topic

#2181
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male
Just tried with a debug version of VoodooPS2 i had around .. the keys do not emit regular scan codes when pressed, so they remain as WMI.
What the heck may have happened .. I remember they worked when I first tried swapping VBIOS for v2130.0 from an Inspiron 17R SE. I remember @Florin mentioning that his brightness control keys got inverted.. but mine worked at that time. Now it doesn't seem to matter which BIOS version I try .. it refuses to work.

#2182
killer567

killer567

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
Hi @DoiX,

Have you confirmed PlatformSmm.efi (GUID of CB73C3D9-2F01-4342-AE67-04DDE5264092) backported from A06 to newer BIOS can actually fix sleep/wake?

Thanks

#2183
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male
Guys from L702x thread have conformed it.
I can't decompress L502x bioses for some reason, but I can compress them perfectly fine though... otherwise I would have backported it couple of days ago.

#2184
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@killer, i don't have a working windows else i would have compiled the bios.

@TimeWalker, i can try to send you the decomped version if you feel like compiling. As long as i can disassemble it in vbox window.

@Jkbuha, i burned hiren's boot cd and also restored it to a usb stick. Every time I encounter some kernel image related error. Looks like i'll have to reinstall, damn it i hate backuping wiindows.

Does anyone know some os x program that can create an image of windows, one that can restore a fully functioning windows?

#2185
Cisar Alexandru Marius

Cisar Alexandru Marius

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Medias, Sibiu
  • Interests:web design, programming
@DoiX try carbon copy cloner, i use it to make a full bootable backup of os x.

#2186
jkbuha

jkbuha

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 195 posts
I use ghost (for dos) or acronis trueimage. Quite good.
I'm a bit perplexed though by the error. Have you booted the win7 image that is on the Hiren cd? Works quite well for me and I can do all my fixes there...

#2187
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male

@TimeWalker, i can try to send you the decomped version if you feel like compiling. As long as i can disassemble it in vbox window.

Please do ... decompressed A12 along with VBIOS (29206FC2-9EAB-4612-ACA1-1E3D098FB1B3) and PlatformSmm (CB73C3D9-2F01-4342-AE67-04DDE5264092) from A06.

#2188
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male
Also I've noticed I can't even change brightness while in BIOS or bootloader .. which wasn't the case previously. Only windows and ubuntu react to brightness hotkeys and adjust it accordingly..
Going back to stock bios with no mods and doing 'clear variables from nvram' when donwgrading doesn't help either ... what the hell ?

#2189
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@TimeWalker, i see Kasar made a bios for OS X, no point now.

Back to your brightness problem, could it be you stumbled upon another ME-like region that gets flashed? Did the latest bios present new modules/bigger increase in size than the average of the last updates?

#2190
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male
Didn't .. nothing changed.
I have found that A07 has some fixes to apparently similar issues - "10.Brightness hotkey loss pop up after flash BIOS ", but I now suspect Windows 8 is to blame.
I've flashed A07 and brightness controls worked at bios .. after rebooting from Windows 8 and going to the bios setup they were broken again .. so it has something to do with Windows 8 WMI .. or QuickSet or something... ?

#2191
DoiX

DoiX

    Homo discens

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Terra
  • Interests:Photography, design, beer.
@TimeWalker, W8 storing something in the bios? I can't even understand why it would do that, and if it doesn't... how does W8 affect it? I guess you could try to remove the bios battery if it's a simple task on your laptop.

#2192
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male
@DoiX
not in bios .. in nvram presumably. to restore to the same brightness level after reboot .. ?
battery is deep down there and I don't feel like dismantling the unit would actually help as I can clear the CMOS just by loading up the recovery capsule. same goes for nvram .. reflash with /cvar flag and it will wipe nvram to factory state.. but it won't help sadly. I will play with this tomorrow .. it's not a HUGE deal afterall .... but I believe my broken Fn+F1 (vidmirror) key is somewhat connected with this rotten set of events ..

#2193
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male
for the life of me can't get i to respond to hotkeys... tried restarting windows, shutting down the laptop completely, removing AC, battery .. resetting cmos via recovery .. nothing bloody helps.

Edit:

Noticed this in my log:

Nov 13 12:03:11 localhost kernel[0]: Notice - new kext com.apple.iokit.IOHIDSystem, v1.8 matches prelinked kext but can't determine if executables are the same (no UUIDs).
Nov 13 12:03:12 localhost kernel[0]: Notice - new kext com.apple.iokit.IOHIDSystem, v1.8 matches prelinked kext but can't determine if executables are the same (no UUIDs).
Nov 13 10:03:37 --- last message repeated 1 time ---
Nov 13 12:03:12 localhost kernel[0]: DellWMIController: WMI driver version 1.0 Device name: AMW0
Nov 13 12:03:12 localhost kernel[0]: DellWMIController: No object of method WQBC
Nov 13 12:03:12 localhost hidd[60]: Posting 'com.apple.iokit.hid.displayStatus' notifyState=1
Nov 13 12:03:12 localhost hidd[60]: void __IOHIDLoadBundles(): Loaded 0 HID plugins


I suspect this has something to do with my issue as well ...

#2194
Cisar Alexandru Marius

Cisar Alexandru Marius

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Medias, Sibiu
  • Interests:web design, programming
my laptop also behaves strange after i downgraded to bios a06 and reinstalled win 7 a while ago. if i hit fn + f3 the trackpad doesn't disable, the orange led turns on but that's all. fn + f11/f12 don't work all the time (win only) and also quickset doesn't work all the time. upgrading to a11/reinstalling all drivers didn't work.

#2195
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male
Touchpad won't disable with generic driver, you have to use the one that Dell provides (for your machine!) to be able to disable the surface.
QuickSet is buggy I admit it, I loose VidMirror and Wi-Fi hotkeys frequently for no reason while in Windows.

#2196
iMac2009

iMac2009

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aachen, Germany
  • Interests:Techstuff, Gaming, Whisky
Hey,

Any way getting 10.8.2 working?

Trying to update from 10.8.1 with comboupdate fails after 25-30 minutes.

Updating with Applestore works and after patching kexts form Doix' Kextpack system reboots fine.
Except Sound and Battery, which where mentioned before won't work without patching on 10.8.2.

Problem is, I'm not able to patch kexts anymore.
Tried to replace and fix permission fails while fixing - runs forever.
Same for Kext Wizzard - trying to install a kextfile results in a never finishing installation.

Any advice for me? Which kexts are really necessary after 10.8.2 update and are there any important steps I missed?
Secondly, there is no patched AICPUPowemanagement for 10.8.2, is there?

#2197
t6590

t6590

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
@TimeWalker i formatted as gpt and installed clover EFI i atleast get the boot screen(as opposed to system operations not found ) from clover but other than that when i try to boot disk i get nothing ...it simply returns to boot screen.....any ideas what i have overlooked.

#2198
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male
You have to have proper drivers in the driver64UEFI folder..
here they are: http://puu.sh/1fbjn

#2199
t6590

t6590

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
thank you once again for the quick reponse once again ..and i will look to use them but if i may ask how do these drivers differ from the ones that come with the clover installer when you customize?

#2200
TimeWalker75a

TimeWalker75a

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Gurus
  • 951 posts
  • Gender:Male
afaik there's no HFSPlus driver in the installer because it was stolen from apple's firmware and those can't be included for legal reasons.
the emuvariable driver was coded for our Tiano bioses by @dmazar based on my feedback and report I have supplied. I have no idea if the same one would be included in the package. it may have the same name, but the functionality may be totally different. this is the package that has been proven to work for me and another person, it's up to you if you use it or not :)





2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy