Jump to content

GPU load / AGPM check tool - OpenGL Triangles


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#21
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Mitch!

So it can be that the freeze can be avoided by putting some x% gnu load on the gnu.

I have created this amazing work of art in your honor. I call it "gnu load":

Attached File  Gnu_Load.jpg   172.1KB   46 downloads

:tomato:

#22
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
LOL Yep, 3 triangles can be rendered even with gnu 9400M ;)

#23
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Updated the Bench:
- removed CUDA need (was only used to get gpu GHz which is always an fixed value - uninteresting), now can run also on AMD or NVIDIA without CUDA installed.
- changed slider to fixed steppings. better to compare results
DL at first posting

I get around 8,5 FPS with the slider in middle positon (13888 Traingles), and 4,3 FPS at max-. Triangles (30000)
WARNING: Low end gpus may stall whole GUI/SYSTEM if you set triangles to high - start with lower steps and wait a few seconds if your system (GPU) can handle that fast enough.
FPS is limited by screen fps (Hz) because it uses vsync.
If very fast gpus can handle even at 30000 triangles(slider max.) 60,0 FPS, i will rise the max. Triangles slider to higher value (60000).


This OpenGL Bench is using CPU very less, limited by GPU speed (VRAM + Texture speed)

Attached Files



#24
SuperHack

SuperHack

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
With the slider far right with my GTX480 on 10.7.2, I get 15 hz. Does anyone have comparisons between 10.7.2, 10.7.3, and 10.7.4 (worried about updating and losing performance!)?

#25
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
This Traingles OpenGL Bench uses very low OpenGL commands (up to OpenGL 1.1), so it is mostly an Bench for testing AGPM and/or general Test.
Its limited mostly by GPU hardware, not the OS X driver speed diffs.
To look after FPS diff for driver updates use better OpenGLExtension viewer , Test, Boxing King and compare that results OpenGL 1.2up.
Or use even more game related (and complex) Unique Heaven Benchmark.
use there fullscreen but lower res (800x600 or equal) to compare driver speed diffs - the lower the res the more you can see driver speed diffs, because the gpu is not so much limited by hardware like using fullscreen high res.

#26
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Retired
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff
I beat the game?:) Anyway, here's some ATI for comparison, 10.8 DP3 upd2. After ML DP3 upd1, all benches went through the roof, now with upd2, they went back down to below Lion scores,, but it was fun while it lasted.

Attached Files



#27
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
mitch

Do you take requests? :) Could you add a fixed "200 triangles" setting for the Fermi Freeze impeded?
At 60Hz, 200 triangles is enough to completely prevent the freeze on my 460 GTX.

I have no idea how much work it would be so please don't get mad if it's a lot to ask, I really have no idea.
It doesn't even have to be in the GUI.
I'd like to be able to do two things specifically, set from info.plist:

Hide Icon
Draw 200 triangles on app start (default is 0)

like this:
Attached File  plist.png   90.65KB   57 downloads
Or it could be TrianglesToDrawOnStart and you could specify any number?
This way I could leave it as hidden login item and forget all about it.

#28
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
i will try to make such an 200 tria app. I think the fermi gets problems when it goes into the most idle gpu pstate. Any chance to edit AGPM to avoid the lowest PSTATE (by edit this threshouds) ?

#29
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
It doesn't work, I tried everything, even several custom BIOS with altered power states provided by Rominator, both flashed to the card and loaded with Chameleon. I use MacPro3,1 so no AGPM, but I've tried with modified AGPM as well. The only thing that works consistently is keeping the GPU busy with something.

Thanks for anything you can do!

#30
miliuco

miliuco

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 396 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spain
Hello, mitch_de, I get 20 FPS with the slider in middle positon (13888 triangles) and 10 FPS at max (30000 triangles).

Radeon 6850 1gb and 10.7.4.

#31
Musicode

Musicode

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
same here

#32
eep357

eep357

    Triple Platinum

  • Retired
  • 2,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dark Side of The Wall
  • Interests:things and stuff

It doesn't work, I tried everything, even several custom BIOS with altered power states provided by Rominator, both flashed to the card and loaded with Chameleon. I use MacPro3,1 so no AGPM, but I've tried with modified AGPM as well. The only thing that works consistently is keeping the GPU busy with something.

Thanks for anything you can do!

Don't know if this would work, but instead of using macpro 3,1 to avoid agpm, make it work for you by using 4,1 or 5,1 smbios and in agpupm.kext add your device ID under appropriate macpro model and change the Low Threshold; item0 value from zero to the same value as items 1-3.

#33
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Why would I do that when I can change 4,1 or 5,1 to 3,1 while I'm editing AGPM anway.

Modifying AGPM.kext does not fix the fermi freeze.

...

GTX 460 GPU temps. 10.7.4, May 2012 Nvidia driver, kozlek NVClockX fakesmc plugin

Normal desktop use, risk of Fermi Freeze at any moment: 38 degrees celcius
Constantly drawing ~200 triangles with hidden OpenGL Triangles Bench: 58 degrees celcius.

Meh. 20 degrees seems like a high price to pay for 200 triangles.

#34
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
updated info / programm / atmonitor
Please report any probs: AMD+ATOM cpu may fail, ....

Also your gpu & load values for 20 triangles(min) + 2000 triangles + 20000 triangles(max) would be interesting.

9600 GT 512 MB:
20 tri : 3% gpu load
2000 : 57% gpu load
20000: 93% gpu load (above around 9000 tri gpu load max. at around 92%) = full load

#35
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Uploaded an OpenGL Triangles AGPM version which is same as OpenGL Triangles Bench sept version, but more usable for lowend - midrange gpus.
Diff: Slider for triangles count 10....5000 vs 20....20000 other version.
Most gpus will get full gpu % load (>= 75%) for AGPM checks already with 5000 triangles.

AGPM normally is working (up/down) in 0% gpu load up to 75. Thats the gpu load sector which is interesting.

#36
beta992

beta992

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
I don't get any freeze if AGPM.kext is removed.
The only freeze I get is when resume from sleep. :( (Stripes/colours/blocks/etc.)

There must be some value that needs to be tweaked, or maybe some values are hardcoded into the ROM from a nVidia Apple GPU?

#37
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Freeze under what condition? I never get/got any freeze with my 9600 GT runnung most OpenGL tasks. But after 10.8.1/2 i cant run Unique Heaven Benchmark and some games like RAGE anymore. No probs with other OpenGL task, also OpenGL triangles can run forever without any freeze.
I know (from the past) that fermi gpus had some major freeze problems even running non OpenGL tasks like Flash/Safari & Co.
I think my freeze is a bit different.

#38
beta992

beta992

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male

Freeze under what condition? I never get/got any freeze with my 9600 GT runnung most OpenGL tasks. But after 10.8.1/2 i cant run Unique Heaven Benchmark and some games like RAGE anymore. No probs with other OpenGL task, also OpenGL triangles can run forever without any freeze.
I know (from the past) that fermi gpus had some major freeze problems even running non OpenGL tasks like Flash/Safari & Co.
I think my freeze is a bit different.

I meant the Fermi freezes, maybe I also need to downgrade to get no freezes anymore.

#39
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,902 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Yep, i understand that you mean fermi freezes. But under what condition (running what OpenGL tasks).
For my knowledge fermi freezes are also (like my non fermi freezes since 10.8.2) because of that well known (hackintosh + orig Macs) : NVDA(OpenGL): Channel exception! l
listed in the console after such an freeze.

#40
Derek12

Derek12

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 287 posts
  • Gender:Male
20 : 20%

2000: 99% and computer becomes very laggy

20000: freeze.

GT520





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy