Jump to content

AppleHDA patcher for snow?


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
Hi guyz,
is there anyone who can port the great Taruga AppleHDAPatcher for SnowLeopard and new applehda kexts for snow ?
Or it would be enough to understand what exactly applehda patcher does , so that we may do it manually on our appleHDA using linux codec dump.

To my knowledge, apple hda patching is too complex, expecially because i cannot find any tutorial with example 100$ finished and complete.

Thanks!
Mal

#2
iLeopod

iLeopod

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:ileopod.wordpress.com
No there is no patcher yet and i think there will never be one. AppleHda get in SL more complex and even change from one version to another significantly.
Important things are:

- Layout id in injector (DSDT or Kext) must mach the one in (legacy /AppleHDA)
- if using a 10.6.3 or higher AppleHDA u need Binpatching (for unsupported codecs) and u must delete BuiltInHDA in Info.plist
- Don't use AppleHDA and VoodooHDA at the same time
- if u found an matching legacykext and noting is working changing Codec address (red on the example)is sometimes enough to get sound working

01471C10 01471D40 01471E01 01471F01

#3
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts

No there is no patcher yet and i think there will never be one. AppleHda get in SL more complex and even change from one version to another significantly.
Important things are:

- Layout id in injector (DSDT or Kext) must mach the one in (legacy /AppleHDA)
- if using a 10.6.3 or higher AppleHDA u need Binpatching (for unsupported codecs) and u must delete BuiltInHDA in Info.plist
- Don't use AppleHDA and VoodooHDA at the same time
- if u found an matching legacykext and noting is working changing Codec address (red on the example)is sometimes enough to get sound working

01471C10 01471D40 01471E01 01471F01


Hi ileopod!
thanks for your reply!
May you give me more details about what you said ? Is it possible to have everything inside AppleHDA (legacy file+binpatching and everything) so that it is possible to use one applehda only and no legacy kexts ?
If yes, how?
Thanks!
Mal

#4
iLeopod

iLeopod

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:ileopod.wordpress.com
Directly patching AppleHDA is recommend if your codec is not supported (after a update the kext must be reinstalled).

LegacyKext is best when u can use the stock driver (is nearly unbreakable by updates ) an u have the latest driver.


If u could upload a Linux codec dump i can help u create a fitting Driver.

#5
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts

Directly patching AppleHDA is recommend if your codec is not supported (after a update the kext must be reinstalled).

LegacyKext is best when u can use the stock driver (is nearly unbreakable by updates ) an u have the latest driver.


If u could upload a Linux codec dump i can help u create a fitting Driver.


Hi !
Thanks a lot!!
You can find dsdt and codec dump extracted from Linux from here (2nd attachment) :

http://www.insanelym...p...0g&st=2080#

Thanks!!
Mal

#6
iLeopod

iLeopod

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:ileopod.wordpress.com
i've read the posts there. I modified the legacy hda:
(use 10.6.2 apple HDA and i assume u have still layout id 12 in dsdt)


http://cl.ly/0V261c0x1e2s1q3Z3V3u

#7
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts

i've read the posts there. I modified the legacy hda:
(use 10.6.2 apple HDA and i assume u have still layout id 12 in dsdt)


http://cl.ly/0V261c0x1e2s1q3Z3V3u


Thanks a lot ileopod!
I tried it and unfortunately it doesn't work ... i mean, applehda from 1062 works nice , i can see the volume speaker in taskbar menu near the bluetooth icon in osx , but it doesn't produce any sound . Perhaps there is something to activate to have sound from speakers working. Also if i put headphones it doesn't work, although autosensing seems to be working! I see the name changing to Headphones, when inserted, but NO sound at all , like with internal speakers .
Mic seems to be working because if i try to tap near the mic, i can see the mic-meter moving . I just doesn't hear any sound . Perhaps there is something in "activation" the output in the codec...
Have you got any clue why it happens ?
Also ... may you please explain me how did you build it ? Perhaps Layout ID 12 is not good for alc268 ? Is there any reason to decide to change it or not ?
Any other clue ?
I posted it here in dev trying to learn it by myself too :( and perhaps we may
Thanks a lot again!!
Mal

#8
iLeopod

iLeopod

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:ileopod.wordpress.com
layout id is not the problem it must just match with that set in the plist. The problem is maybe in pin config or pathmap.

Also verbit txt looked a bit strange:
Verbs from Linux Codec Dump File: d.txt

Codec: Realtek ALC268   Address: 0   DevID: 283902568 (0x10ec0268)

   Jack   Color  Description				  Node	 PinDefault			 Original Verbs
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
	1/8   Black  Speaker at Ext Rear		 18 0x12   0x411111f0   01271cf0 01271d11 01271e11 01271f41
	1/8   Black  Speaker at Ext Rear		 19 0x13   0x411111f0   01371cf0 01371d11 01371e11 01371f41
	1/8   Black  HP Out at Ext Front		 20 0x14   0x0221101f   01471c1f 01471d10 01471e21 01471f02
  ATAPI Unknown  Speaker at Int ATAPI		21 0x15   0x99130110   01571c10 01571d01 01571e13 01571f99
	1/8   Black  Speaker at Ext Rear		 22 0x16   0x411111f0   01671cf0 01671d11 01671e11 01671f41
 Mic at Ext Front	0x18 0x18						44144704 01871c40 01871d98	 01871ea1 01871f02  
  ATAPI Unknown  Mic at Int ATAPI			25 0x19   0x99a30941   01971c41 01971d09 01971ea3 01971f99
 Line In at Ext Front	0x1a 0x1a						42020942 01a71c4e 01a71d30	 01a71e81 01a71f02  
	1/8   Black  Speaker at Ext Rear		 28 0x1c   0x411111f0   01c71cf0 01c71d11 01c71e11 01c71f41
 Analog	Pink  Speaker at Ext N/A		  29 0x1d   0x4017952d   01d71c2d 01d71d95 01d71e17 01d71f40
Optical   Black  SPDIF Out at Ext Front	  30 0x1e   0x02451130   01e71c30 01e71d11 01e71e45 01e71f02
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


   Jack   Color  Description				  Node	 PinDefault			 Modified Verbs
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
	1/8   Black  HP Out at Ext Front		 20 0x14   0x0221101f   01471c10 01471d10 01471e21 01471f01
  ATAPI Unknown  Speaker at Int ATAPI		21 0x15   0x99130110   01571c50 01571d00 01571e13 01571f90
 Mic at Ext Front	0x18 0x18						44144704 01871c40 01871d90	 01871ea1 01871f01  
  ATAPI Unknown  Mic at Int ATAPI			25 0x19   0x99a30941   01971c60 01971d00 01971ea3 01971f90
 Line In at Ext Front	0x1a 0x1a						42020942 01a71c70 01a71d30	 01a71e81 01a71f01  
 Analog	Pink  Speaker at Ext N/A		  29 0x1d   0x4017952d   01d71c20 01d71d90 01d71e17 01d71f40
Optical   Black  SPDIF Out at Ext Front	  30 0x1e   0x02451130   01e71c30 01e71d10 01e71e45 01e71f01
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


atm only the bottom part is used because the others have normally no function. Line in and and that strange analog and optical are not in system profiler because they are not implemented in path map.

But since HP detect works im sure that 18 , 19, 22, 18 are not speaker or hp.

#9
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts

layout id is not the problem it must just match with that set in the plist. The problem is maybe in pin config or pathmap.

Also verbit txt looked a bit strange:[code=auto:0]Verbs from Linux Codec Dump File: d.txt
...


i don't know if it may be useful ... but in leopard it worked well with applehda patcher by taruga!
what do you think i may change / experiment to get it working?
If you have some ideas, feel free to let me know...
thanks!
mal

#10
iLeopod

iLeopod

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:ileopod.wordpress.com
May be a screenshot of the patcher after applied
like that:

Attached File  juu.tiff   13.88KB   40 downloads
and the resulting AppleHDA can help

#11
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts

May be a screenshot of the patcher after applied
like that:

Attached File  juu.tiff   13.88KB   40 downloads
and the resulting AppleHDA can help


Ok will do it ... but it will require some time because i have to reinstall leopard (on external drive) and i have to find all necessary files(it may be not easy to find old files...).

I attach here a patched leopard AppleHDA.kext though, that i am using in snowleopard, that works (at 32 bit in snow) with mic, speakers, headphones but after resume from sleep i have no audio at all. Any clue why it happens ? Do you think it is due to problems in sleep ? or in applehda itself ? With voodoohda i am not having such problem. Everything works fine, but i cannot find a voodoohda that enables internal microphone.

Anyway i am having other probs with this laptop ... not only related to applehda : for example , when the computer goes to sleep for the first time, everything is fine, it resumes and everything seems to be ok. But when i try to put in sleep again, it happens something strange ... many times it won't resume at first trying (only after the first time i put it into sleep, first time is always perfect).

Do you think i may patch IOAudioFamily kext too ? I saw many people having audio working patching ioaudiofamily too (dunno how and why tho ... if you know something more, feel free to explain it to me).

I wanted to let you know that in LINUX where i extracted the codec dump audio works nice (speakers, headphones and so on)...

Thanks a lot for your help iLeopod (and sorry to everybody for the partial offtopic ... but it is always related to audio in the same machine). If you need, you have the dsdt of 7720G acer with such ALC268 in the link i gave you before in one of my previous links (with my attachments) i posted.


Mal

Attached Files



#12
iLeopod

iLeopod

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:ileopod.wordpress.com

I attach here a patched leopard AppleHDA.kext though, that i am using in snowleopard, that works (at 32 bit in snow) with mic, speakers, headphones but after resume from sleep i have no audio at all. Any clue why it happens ? Do you think it is due to problems in sleep ? or in applehda itself ?

no sound after sleep could be related to leopard kext but not sure
I updated the legacy : http://cl.ly/3v1u1r061f3Z0Y2i0Q1U

Anyway i am having other probs with this laptop ... not only related to applehda : for example , when the computer goes to sleep for the first time, everything is fine, it resumes and everything seems to be ok. But when i try to put in sleep again, it happens something strange ... many times it won't resume at first trying (only after the first time i put it into sleep, first time is always perfect).

Something strange in kernel log ?

Do you think i may patch IOAudioFamily kext too ? I saw many people having audio working patching ioaudiofamily too (dunno how and why tho ... if you know something more, feel free to explain it to me).

Never heard about that. Link?

#13
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts

no sound after sleep could be related to leopard kext but not sure
I updated the legacy : http://cl.ly/3v1u1r061f3Z0Y2i0Q1U

Something strange in kernel log ?

Never heard about that. Link?


Hi,
thanks a lot!
Now i see 2 internal speakers in output devices, not one only, like before. But same behaviour : no sound from any of them .
It seems something has to be "activated" ...
If i find the link i am talking about i will post here ...
Thanks for your time, dude!
If you need me to test something else just let me know...
Mal

#14
iLeopod

iLeopod

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:ileopod.wordpress.com
We could also add the pinconfigs for the other device . In the last version i added 0x16/22 wath is in the pathmaps in thel leopard kext there are also all other pinouts specified but their nodes are not used in Pathmaps.

I saw u posted on another thread about digital out. When we add info to Path map i should work(nearly the same on all realtek codes)

#15
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts

We could also add the pinconfigs for the other device . In the last version i added 0x16/22 wath is in the pathmaps in thel leopard kext there are also all other pinouts specified but their nodes are not used in Pathmaps.

I saw u posted on another thread about digital out. When we add info to Path map i should work(nearly the same on all realtek codes)


Yes, if i can find a VoodooHDA proper pinconfig, it may be a temporary fix; i would love to go native with applehda anyway, even if patched ... i prefer applehda because it is more "compatible" than voodoohda and less prone to kernel panics ! Using voodoohda.kext i have sometimes kernel panics at startup !
Any other tests could i to do ? If you need something just let me know ...
Thanks!
Mal

#16
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
...

Any news iLeopod ? I cannot find such files to patch with taruga applehda patcher for leopard... but you have patched applehda that works(leopard applehda,not for snow). Anyway i don't have audio after awaking from sleep with applehda. Yes with voodoohda (where i cannot have internal mic working tho...)
Mal

#17
iLeopod

iLeopod

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:ileopod.wordpress.com
To get your codec dump working you need to remove following line in your codec dump:
Function Id: 0x1


#18
manmal

manmal

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts

To get your codec dump working you need to remove following line in your codec dump:

Function Id: 0x1


Thanks for your reply!
I don't understand "how" can i use it .. what do you mean ? How may i use the codec removing such line? May you please provide me a quick tutorial about what to do and where ? In VoodooHDA or AppleHDA ? Last time you provided me your legacyhda file , speakers didn't work...
Thanks!
Mal

#19
iLeopod

iLeopod

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:ileopod.wordpress.com
Install this kext maybe bring audio back after sleep. This is additional and don't replace applehda.

#20
iLeopod

iLeopod

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 435 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:ileopod.wordpress.com
install that kext in S/L/E.

here is 10.6.2 apple hda: http://cl.ly/050A0d1q1v1E2a1r3R2m





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy