Jump to content

[HowTo] Fix Network Problem with Intel PRO/100 VE


  • Please log in to reply
163 replies to this topic

#41
vakakush

vakakush

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
do not install vanilla kernel + acpi fix
after doing this you will be able to boot

#42
milmacman

milmacman

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin, USA

do not install vanilla kernel + acpi fix
after doing this you will be able to boot



OK, I selected the default stuff, and vanilla stuff isn't selected. Install finished and yielded a b0 error. Even with the repairs, I get the b0 error.

I've found how to fix it--so let me go back into the terminal:

http://wiki.osx86pro...ex.php/B0_error

Of course--I have an Asus P5LP-LE (HP/Compaq name Leonite) mobo and intel 945 chipset. Pentium D 820 2.8GHz processor. So I know I have the guts for it (unlike my old pc).

#43
jamesah

jamesah

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
Thanks a million!!!!!!!! I have a Gateway GT5026E with the original post's NIC specs.



The purple post worked. Auto DHCP didn't work until I tried using the DHCP with assigned address. XD XD XD

I'm so happy.


I'm using Leopard.

#44
sfrot21

sfrot21

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

I don't see this posted, so I'm making a HowTo.

Anyways, this for when you have Intel PRO/100 VE. When you go into System Preferences/Network and your Built-In Ethernet is not show/grayed out, this is the fix for you.

You are required to add a product ID AppleIntel8255x.kext, which is located here:
/System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleIntel8255x.kext/Contents/Info.plist

If you don't know how to get into the kext, right click it and choose "Show Package Contents."

Anyways, you will find the following line.


You will have to add the following bit to the end of that line.


In the end, it will look like this:


Save the .plist file (save it to the desktop with the name "Info.plist" and then drag it into the Contents folder for AppleIntel8255x.kext. It will ask for authentication, which you say yes to (must type password if you have one).

Open up Terminal and type in the following



Open Disk Utility and Repair Disk Permissions.

Reboot.

Completed! Open up System Preferences/Network and you should see your Built-In Ethernet


Hey man.... thanks a lot for the instructions.... I did exactly like you said... but now when i click on network icon in the system prefrences it stops responding... i dont know what i did wroge but i definately could use some help... thanks

#45
ericjackson

ericjackson

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
ok, im new to this. i know i shouldnt even be fooling with this but oh well. im having the problem w/ the built in ethernet will not show up. im using the jas 10.4.8. ive tried everything in this thread and it still will not work (all the steps go smoothly without any errors but in the end it still will not show up). i have tried multiple reinstalls and no go. is there something wrong w/ this version?

next step will be to reinstall windhoes and throw this peice of {censored} in the back yard

#46
ctbaker

ctbaker

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Better try this... :)


Worked on a Thinkpad A31p using JAS 10.4.8! Thanks!!

#47
alessandrobuono

alessandrobuono

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam

I don't see this posted, so I'm making a HowTo.

Anyways, this for when you have Intel PRO/100 VE. When you go into System Preferences/Network and your Built-In Ethernet is not show/grayed out, this is the fix for you.

You are required to add a product ID AppleIntel8255x.kext, which is located here:
/System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleIntel8255x.kext/Contents/Info.plist

If you don't know how to get into the kext, right click it and choose "Show Package Contents."

Anyways, you will find the following line.


You will have to add the following bit to the end of that line.


In the end, it will look like this:


Save the .plist file (save it to the desktop with the name "Info.plist" and then drag it into the Contents folder for AppleIntel8255x.kext. It will ask for authentication, which you say yes to (must type password if you have one).

Open up Terminal and type in the following



Open Disk Utility and Repair Disk Permissions.

Reboot.

Completed! Open up System Preferences/Network and you should see your Built-In Ethernet



Hi everybody,

this is one of my first posts, so I apologize for any mistake I might be doing... :(

I installed Kalyway 10.5.1 on a old HP dc7600 small form factor and with the help of all your great instructions/patches I managed to have everything working, everything but the Ethernet that is an Intel PRO/100 and is not showing in System Preferences/network and following your instructions, it doesn't show still.

The Ethernet controller I have is an INTEL 82566DM, so is maybe the kext (AppleIntel8255x.kext) is not the right one?
Does anybody have any suggestions? I'm desperate... :)

#48
DivisionByZero

DivisionByZero

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, California, USA
I got the card to show but it says cable not connected...

if it says cable is unpluggedsudo -snano /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plistthen I added -f under the kernal flags sectionthen ctrl+xthen ythen enteryou should have a working internet.

The plist is blank on my system!!! (ToH Leopard)

Edit: Is it because I installed Tiger first then Leopard over it??? I did that to fix the blinking cursor...

Edited by DivisionByZero, 08 February 2008 - 06:54 AM.


#49
DivisionByZero

DivisionByZero

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, California, USA

The plist is blank on my system!!! (ToH Leopard)


I figured out why it was blank-I installed Tiger first then I installed leopard.

But still no luck with internet!! (for me it's cable not plugged in, the card is detected)
:censored2: :thumbsdown_anim: :angry2: :help: :wallbash: :wallbash: :wallbash: :wallbash: :wallbash: :wallbash: :wallbash: :wallbash: :wallbash: :stretcher:
:blowup: :blowup: :blowup: :blowup: :blowup: :blowup: :blowup:

#50
marek_b

marek_b

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
I use leopard method from vakakush post nr. 37, but I have problem with Intel 100VE. Card randomly work, or Cable unpluged and sometimes I will get consolidation :-(

I'm hopeless at this, but this status make after install VMWare Fusion ... by that time card working without problem.

#51
Bimmer

Bimmer

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
If your card is detected, but cable unplugged, click the drop down arrow next to DHCP, select "OFF", click "APPLY", than click drop down arrow again, click "DHCP" click"APPLY". Works for me everytime. I wish there was a better solution, but it works.

#52
jcc6655

jcc6655

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Hey guys. I've tried several of the solutions on this thread & many others. They all refer to editing kexts which i have done. Here is my device ID from windows for my intel pro /100 ve PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DC&SUBSYS_30868086&REV_01\4&1E46F438&0&40F0. I've tried adding the ID with the letter in it & i've tried my own 30868086 both at the beginning of the string & at the end i then repaired the permissions. i also downloaded a kext off the internet with a kext helper that made the changes for me thinking i did something wrong but that doesnt work either. Also i have no file named extensions.kextcache, anyone know whats up with that?

I'm using a intel 945GNT mobo with a Pentium D 3.73 1033 FSB with 4 gigs of ram. The network card runs under intel pro/100 VE

thanks guys



EDIT: I found a realtek NIC i had laying around that was natively supported with no extra work!

#53
Zeitgeist BR

Zeitgeist BR

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

I wanted to add what I did to get the network to work under Leopard 10.5.0 on my Dell 4700 with the Intel Pro/100 VE onboard nic. The network was saying the cable was unplugged so I opened terminal and typed this:

sudo -s
nano /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist

then I added -f under the kernal flags section

then ctrl+x
then y
then enter

go here for screen shots to get a clearer picture of what you might see :
http://www.neonkoala...tent/view/33/34


Thank you very much! That's what was missing. Now it's working perfectly ;-)

#54
yan.kun

yan.kun

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts

PNP Device ID PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27DC&SUBSYS_30868086&REV_01\4&1C11C&0&40F0
if you are using tiger

after installing this asus p 4800vm.pkg

follow the instructions given below
this package is working driver for intel pro/100ve lan
and you will be able to connect to internet
this for when you have Intel PRO/100 VE. When you go into System Preferences/Network and your Built-In Ethernet is not show/grayed out, this is the fix for you.

You are required to add a product ID to AppleIntel8255x.kext, which is located here:
/System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleIntel8255x.kext/Contents/Info.plist

If you don't know how to get into the kext, right click it and choose "Show Package Contents."

or you can also use
nano /System/Library/Extensions/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleIntel8225x.kext/Contents/Info.plist
PICTURE

Anyways, you will find the following line.
QUOTE
<key>IOPCIMatch</key>
<string>0x10518086 0x10508086 0x10298086 0x10308086&0xfff0ffff 0x12098086 0x12278086 0x12288086 0x12298086 0x24498086 0x24598086 0x245d8086 0x10918086 0x10608086&0xfff0ffff </string>
You will have to add the following bit to the end of that line.
QUOTE
0x27dc8086
In the end, it will look like this:
QUOTE
<key>IOPCIMatch</key>
<string>0x10518086 0x10508086 0x10298086 0x10308086&0xfff0ffff 0x12098086 0x12278086 0x12288086 0x12298086 0x24498086 0x24598086 0x245d8086 0x10918086 0x10608086&0xfff0ffff 0x27dc8086</string>
Save the .plist file (save it to the desktop with the name "Info.plist" and then drag it into the Contents folder for AppleIntel8255x.kext. It will ask for authentication, which you say yes to (must type password if you have one).

Open up Terminal and type in the following
QUOTE
sudo rm /System/Library/Extensions.kextcache

QUOTE
sudo kextcache -k /System/Library/Extensions
Open Disk Utility and Repair Disk Permissions.

Reboot.

Completed! Open up System Preferences/Network and you should see your Built-In Ethernet

from anand
thanks to wtcnbrwndo4u

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

if you are using leopard

install this asus p 4800vm.pkg


then using kext helper http://www.cheetha.n...20b7.zipinstall this kext


reboot
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
if it says cable is unplugged

sudo -s
nano /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist

then I added -f under the kernal flags section

then ctrl+x
then y
then enter
PICTURE

you should have a working internet.

:P :) :P :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D


After doing this, Time Machine fails to Backup because of following reason:

09.03.08 21:59:32 System Preferences[353] Failed to get MAC address for machine

What to do?

#55
DvP

DvP

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
Hi guys,
i've got here a Toshiba P100-354 which is supposed to have a Intel Pro/100 VE too. The problem is now that i cant boot Calyway after installation if i leave the lan network adapter enabled in bios. if i disable it osx boots up. what can i do?

Panic: Kernel loadable modules in backtrace.....
........com.apple.driver appleintel8254xethernet......
dependency com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily.....
dependency com.apple.iokit.IONETWORKINFAMILY........

Installed vanilla kernel + acpi fix. Is this the problem?

#56
ixFOCUSxi

ixFOCUSxi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:US New Jesrey Passaic
Network / Intel 82566DC -2 Gigabit

How can i get It to work>?

#57
time ed

time ed

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, MO
Here is a list of device ID's + ICH that will work with 8255x kext. ICH7 or earlier controllers:
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1030, 0),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1031, 3),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1032, 3),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1033, 3),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1034, 3),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1038, 3),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1039, 4),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x103A, 4),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x103B, 4),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x103C, 4),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x103D, 4),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x103E, 4),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1050, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1051, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1052, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1053, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1054, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1055, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1056, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1057, 5),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1059, 0),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1064, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1065, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1066, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1067, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1068, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1069, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x106A, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x106B, 6),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1091, 7),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1092, 7),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1093, 7),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1094, 7),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1095, 7),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1209, 0),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x1229, 0),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x2449, 2),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x2459, 2),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x245D, 2),
INTEL_8255X_ETHERNET_DEVICE(0x27DC, 7),
If you have ICH8 or later, you're probably out of luck for this fix.
e.g.: 82566DC is supposed to have 82562v PHY, but the only controller mentioned in the Intel architecture doc is 82577.

After you add your devID to IOPCIMatch string in 8255x Info.plist, you will have to REMOVE or RENAME AppleIntel8254XEthernet.kext to avoid using -f boot flag or other problems.

Remember permissions and cache.

#58
kevinduboski

kevinduboski

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
im running iatkos 10.5.1 on an HP Mediacenter PC m7160n and not a single one of these methods has worked for me

it still says the cable is unpluged even if i do the "add -f" thing

#59
time ed

time ed

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, MO
What is device ID of you NIC?

Look in System Profiler >Software >Extensions. If you see AppleIntel8254XEthernet loaded, you are not configured correctly.

#60
oxyigen

oxyigen

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Bomb a$$ method...

on the computer it was only showing Built-in serial port, no matter how i play with the thing, it will never show up ethernet ...

with this method.. booooooom ... behold ... we got internet !





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy