Jump to content

Dell Inspiron 530


  • Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#21
themacmeister

themacmeister

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
Check out my Inspiron 580 instructions for a retail 10.6.8 install on this forum...

It may help you get a DSDT-free 100% hackintosh.

I only have two small glitches on mine, one is graphics card related, the other is an issue with esoteric protocols and networking (VNC, PS2).

Apart from that 100% power features, and force 64bit, all fine! Full 64bit kernel and extensions, including TuxeraNTFS & MacFUSE.

Cheers,

themacmeister

#22
desiGeek

desiGeek

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Thanks to Cheezman and MacNB. I was able to successfully install Lion on my Inspiron 530


Here is how I got it working

Set SATA Mode in BIOS to RAID(as there is no AHCI option)
Used MacNB's DSDT (Deleted the SAT0 and SAT1 as per Cheezman's instructions)
Used Cheezman's LegacyPatches.kext and VoodooHDA.kext


I had to use the above for both the USB Drive used for installation and also on the drive where Lion was installed.

For network I used the AppleIntel1000E.kext (Intel82566MM.kext also works)

I also updated successfully to 10.7.2 from the "Software Update" Menu

The only issue I have is that iCloud is not working. When I try to configure iCloud with my Apple ID I get the error message "This Apple ID is valid but is not an iCloud account." My Apple ID works fine with iCloud on my iPhone 4

I tried to upgrade Chameleon to the latest 2.1 version to see if it fixes the issue. But it causes Kernel Panics so I had to refer back on that.
I would appreciate if any of you could share if iCloud is working for you and how you got it working.

Thanks

#23
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

Thanks to Cheezman and MacNB. I was able to successfully install Lion on my Inspiron 530


Here is how I got it working

Set SATA Mode in BIOS to RAID(as there is no AHCI option)
Used MacNB's DSDT (Deleted the SAT0 and SAT1 as per Cheezman's instructions)
Used Cheezman's LegacyPatches.kext and VoodooHDA.kext


I had to use the above for both the USB Drive used for installation and also on the drive where Lion was installed.

For network I used the AppleIntel1000E.kext (Intel82566MM.kext also works)

I also updated successfully to 10.7.2 from the "Software Update" Menu

The only issue I have is that iCloud is not working. When I try to configure iCloud with my Apple ID I get the error message "This Apple ID is valid but is not an iCloud account." My Apple ID works fine with iCloud on my iPhone 4

I tried to upgrade Chameleon to the latest 2.1 version to see if it fixes the issue. But it causes Kernel Panics so I had to refer back on that.
I would appreciate if any of you could share if iCloud is working for you and how you got it working.

Thanks

smbios.plist have proper serial ?
Ethernet built-in ? (also the kext is AppleIntelE1000E.kext missing an E)

#24
themacmeister

themacmeister

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts
I am thinking of trying this with Lion USB install (#####/#####), I had a perfect install without DSDT in Snow Leopard... See my retail/non-retail threads in this forum. Is DSDT a necessity in Lion?

Also, how do you remove SAT0/SAT1 in DSDT.dsl?

Oh, this isn't compiled... Can someone recommend a good GUI dsdt editor/compiler?!

#25
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

I am thinking of trying this with Lion USB install (#####/#####), I had a perfect install without DSDT in Snow Leopard... See my retail/non-retail threads in this forum. Is DSDT a necessity in Lion?

Also, how do you remove SAT0/SAT1 in DSDT.dsl?

Oh, this isn't compiled... Can someone recommend a good GUI dsdt editor/compiler?!


dsdt editor.. file> extract dsdt

patch SAT0 with device id of ESB2 2681

make sure Device (PCI0) has _UID
fix OSID : replace "Windows 2006" with Darwin
fix shutdown _PTS
a few more things.

post your dsdt and ill compare to one i have and add patches

did u have 10.6.8 working fine ?

#26
themacmeister

themacmeister

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 305 posts

did u have 10.6.8 working fine ?


I had 10.6.8 working PERFECTLY, with NO DSDT WHATSOEVER!!!

Sleep/Hibernate and all features, including newest NVIDIA drivers.

Check out my guide to a fully working non-DSDT install here:

http://www.insanelym...howtopic=258949

There is also a more involved explanation in my non-retail guide, link at the bottom of the first post in previous link!

I was hoping that Lion would work the same way... let me know what you think...

PS. I am using the Inspiron 580MT, and there does not seem to be a working DSDT for it anyway!!!

Cheers.

#27
desiGeek

desiGeek

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

smbios.plist have proper serial ?
Ethernet built-in ? (also the kext is AppleIntelE1000E.kext missing an E)


Here are the contents of my smbios.plist
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>SMfamily</key>
	<string>Mac Pro</string>
	<key>SMproductname</key>
	<string>MacPro3,1</string>
	<key>SMboardproduct</key>
	<string>Mac-F42C88C8</string>
	<key>SMserial</key>
	<string>G88451235J4</string>
	<key>SMbiosversion</key>
	<string>[url="http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/279450-why-insanelymac-does-not-support-tonymacx86/"]#####[/url].tonymacx86.com</string>
</dict>
</plist>

And here are the contents of my org.chameleon.Boot.plist

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>Kernel</key>
	<string>mach_kernel</string>
	<key>Kernel Flags</key>
	<string>npci=0x2000 darkwake=0</string>
	<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>Timeout</key>
	<string>2</string>
	<key>Legacy Logo</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>GenerateCStates</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>GeneratePStates</key>
	<string>Yes</string>
	<key>UseKernelCache</key>
	<string>No</string>
</dict>
</plist>

I am getting a Kernel Panic if I set the "UseKernelCache" to "Yes" and I see the following error before KP
11/8/11 10:58:20.000 PM kernel: Sound assertion "!fProvider->open ( this )" failed in AppleHDAController at line 353 goto Exit

I was finally able to get the iCloud working by using ##### 4.10. I used the UserDSDT option in ##### which installed the Chimera Bootloader and the above plist files along with my custom DSDT.

#28
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
desiGeek put the AppleHDADisabler.kext in /System/Library/Extensions as im sure youre using voodoohda :rolleyes:

<key>SMbiosversion</key>
<string>#####.tonymacx86.com</string>
might want to change to the real info
http://www.insanelym...p...t&p=1681524
at bottom.. post installation has the extra folders .. try imac 9,1 or keep macpro3,1

dmi.bios.date: 02/29/08
dmi.bios.vendor: Apple Inc.
dmi.bios.version: MP31.88Z.006C.B05.0802291410
dmi.board.name: Mac-F42C88C8
dmi.board.vendor: Apple Inc.

#29
ws2000

ws2000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
Hello

I have a Dell 530 but mine is the Dual Core version not the Quad. How can I modify your DSDT to work on my system? I would really appreciate the help.

Thank you

This is the DSDT I got to work with my Snow Leopard.
Hitting the Power Button puts the rig to sleep (display off, fans off, USB devices off, power light flashes). Press any key to wake-up (within 2 seconds).

On wake, the only item that does not resume is sound. In the logs I see Assertions from the patched AppleHDA kext. I have tried many different sound drivers put nothing works after sleep (some even KP on boot).

I am on 10.6.7. I have not updated to 10.6.8 yet (but should be OK I believe). Will update to 10.6.8 when Lion releases and then buy Lion through App Store.



#30
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

Hello

I have a Dell 530 but mine is the Dual Core version not the Quad. How can I modify your DSDT to work on my system? I would really appreciate the help.

Thank you


works fine with chameleon2.1 GeneratePStates and GenerateCStates .. use chameleon wizard to set it.

u did say core2duo right not coreduo ? cpu model? E6400 ?
the ones that need kernel legacy is pentium d and possibly core duo not core2duo

#31
ws2000

ws2000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
Hello LatinMcG

My system is a Dell Inspiron 530

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
6 GB Ram
EVGA GT 240
Trendnet TEG-PCITXR Gigabit NIC
Onboard Sound

I have made a little progress. I got the RAID option to work using the following

MacNB's DSDT With SAT1 Removed
Cheezman's LegacyPatches.kext and VoodooHDA.kext

I have my NIC working and have applied updates to 10.7.3. I have not been successful with my video card or sound.
I also get the following error everytime I reboot. " CMOS Checksum error - Defaults Loaded.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks


#32
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
RTC needs patching.. just post your dsdt and ill patch it. (what bios version u have 1.0.18 or 1.0.2 ?

what smbios.plist model are u using ?
are u using GraphicsEnabler from chameleon ?
= use chameleon wizard

the sat1 removed i pioneered a while back with raid aka ahci with the sata id of ESB2 2681 injected.
most people used ide mode with some appleioata patched id... slow sata.

at first i used id 2828 and gave me 2 ports not 4.. so i found 2681 is best with 3 or 4 ports working.


the network card
There are 3 versions (3.xR, 2.1R, A) of this product. which do u have device id ?

try 4 gb of ram as a test. also 2

#33
ws2000

ws2000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
LatinMcG

First... Thank you for the help!

Bios = 1.0.18

Chameleon 2.1 1701

GraphicsEnabler from chameleon ? Yes
= use chameleon wizard ? No

No Sound
Video is only 1024 x 768

com.apple.Boot.plist
<dict>
<key>Kernel</key>
<string>mach_kernel</string>
<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>npci=0x2000</string>
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>Timeout</key>
<string>2</string>
<key>EthernetBuiltIn</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
</dict>
</plist>

smbios.plist
<dict>
<key>SMbiosdate</key>
<string>02/29/08</string>
<key>SMbiosversion</key>
<string>MP31.88Z.006C.B05.0802291410</string>
<key>SMboardproduct</key>
<string>Mac-F42C88C8</string>
<key>SMfamily</key>
<string>MacPro</string>
<key>SMmanufacter</key>
<string>Apple Inc.</string>
<key>SMproductname</key>
<string>MacPro3,1</string>
<key>SMserial</key>
<string>G88014V4XYK</string>
</dict>
</plist>

Extra Folder Extensions
VoodooHDA.kext
NullCPUPowerManagement.kext
LegacyPatches.kext ( From Chezman...how can I tell what is all in here?)
FakeSMC.kext
NVEnabler.kext.zip



S-L-E
I have added nothing.


NIC is working and I'm not sure about the version. I will post it this weekend.

The 6 GB of ram and the GT240 worked well in Snow Leopard on the machine. But I will try it. I have attached the DSDT.

Thanks!

Attached Files



#34
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
nullcpupm is bad if using
<key>GenerateCStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>GeneratePStates</key>
<string>Yes</string>

graphicsenabler might not work right if u have nvenabler.

here try this dsdt i remade from yours.

use voodoohda not legacy hda
i remember problems with patched and wake issue so i removed complete and works fine with voodoohda.

theres 2 versions one has a tweak for built in intel LAN wake (dsdt.aml) but youre using pci so let me know if any side effects on wake.
other does not (dsdt2.dsl) u have to compile the dsl if u want to try it.

remove legacypatches , nvenabler, nullcpupower and any hda enabler or legacy kexts

Attached Files



#35
ws2000

ws2000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
LatinMcG

WOW! The DSDT is great. Fixed the CMOS Checksum error and sleep seems to work. Its great!

I deleted all the kexts except FakeSMC.kext and that made my video card very happy. Its fixed.

So I am down to the sound. I'm afraid I still need a little help. I have never had much luck with VoodooHDA.

I went here and followed this process. http://olarila.com/f...?f=18&#38;t=454 and downloaded VoodooHDA 2.7.3.

I deleted the the AppleHDA (S-L-E) and installed the VoodooHDA.kext via the Kext Helper to (S-L-E).

Then I installed the VoodooHDA.prefPane (all users) and rebooted. No luck.

How can I open the VoodooHDA.prefPane? I dropped VoodooHDA.prefPane into the Utilities folder and everytime I attempt to open it the System Preferences opens and I get the message "An older version of the prefPane is already installed. Do you want to replace it with a newer version?" I tried both the "cancel" option and the "replace" option.

Never installed anything Voodoo prior to this attempt...

Thank you!!!!!!!!!!

#36
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
lion and voodoohda. inever tried

lol who told u to drop that prefpane in utilities ?

go to sound settings and look at output.. what is it set to?

#37
ws2000

ws2000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
LatinMcG

Good news! I beleive I have a healthy Dell 530 Lion 10.7.3. I installed VoodooHDA 0.2.1 to resolve my sound issue. Thanks again for helping me.

#38
LatinMcG

LatinMcG

    Insanely digesting DSDT

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
i think i used 2.6 for it last year.. its a friends 530

#39
notdave

notdave

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts

dsdt editor.. file&amp;gt; extract dsdt

patch SAT0 with device id of ESB2 2681

make sure Device (PCI0) has _UID
fix OSID : replace "Windows 2006" with Darwin
fix shutdown _PTS
a few more things.

post your dsdt and ill compare to one i have and add patches

did u have 10.6.8 working fine ?


Is there an easier way to get lion running? I couldn't figure out how to remove sata0 and the next few things you talked about :(

so instead I tried ####### got it to install fine but no sound. also, I had bootloader issues where it would only boot if I boot the ###### USB stick then selected the lion install. I tried by installing chimera to the new lion install but it either froze at pci configuration or gave me a kernel panic.

I know I'm asking for a lot but an easier walkthrough would be awesome.

#40
notdave

notdave

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
ok got it working using #######

left my bios on ide mode
created boot stick using ####### (follow directions from ####### guide)
added IOATAFamily.kext so that installer would recognize my drives
installed lion

booted into lion and installed chameleon rc5 r760 onto lion
replaced AppleACPIPlatform.kext and IOPCIFamily.kext based upon this topic http://www.osx86.net...asus-n61jq.html (located in S/L/E)
also added FakeSMC.kext, Intel82566MM.kext (for ethernet)
then used kext wizard and repaired permissions and cache then rebooted.
done!

CMI8738PCIAudioDriver.kext (for my specific sound card), voodoohda.kext does work for the onboard sound :)
for my 9400GT i reused my com.apple.boot.plst from my snow leopard install.
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>6a02000001000000010000005e0200000d00000002010c00d041030a010000000101060000010101060000007fff04000e0000004e00560050004d0000002000000001000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000220000005600520041004d002c0074006f00740061006c00730069007a006500000008000000000000201c0000006400650076006900630065005f00740079007000650000000f0000004e5644412c506172656e740e0000006e0061006d00650000000b000000646973706c617922000000400030002c006400650076006900630065005f00740079007000650000000b000000646973706c617922000000400031002c006400650076006900630065005f00740079007000650000000b000000646973706c6179100000006d006f00640065006c000000190000006e5669646961204765466f7263652047542031323020000000400031002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062006c00650000000e0000004e5644412c4e564d616314000000400030002c006e0061006d0065000000120000004e5644412c446973706c61792d4114000000400031002c006e0061006d0065000000120000004e5644412c446973706c61792d4220000000400030002c0063006f006d00700061007400690062006c00650000000e0000004e5644412c4e564d6163100000004e00560043004100500000001800000004000000000003000c00000000000007000000001e00000072006f006d002d007200650076006900730069006f006e0000002d0000006e5669646961204765466f72636520475420313230204f70656e474c20456e67696e65205b4546495d</string>
</dict>
</plist>

the above code wont help unless you have the same vid card i have.

i did not test sleep since i dont use it anyways. i did make a backup and tried to update to 10.7.3 but started getting panics so I will try to tackle it later.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy