Jump to content

Guide To Enable HD 5450 In 10.6.6 + Lion + Mountian Lion


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1
taky2008

taky2008

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
Here It Is A Guide For Hd 5450 In 10.6.6

1- Download This FIle http://www.mirrorcre...d5450.rar_links ( New Link )

2-Copy Lion KExts To S/l/e

3-Copy ATI5000Injector.kext TO S/E/E

4-Repair With KExts Utlity


EDit : For Lion And Mountain Lion Onlt Add Ati5000Injector TO e/e :)

#2
mark_in_2k

mark_in_2k

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
Can anyone report on this working?

#3
taky2008

taky2008

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
It successfully Worked In many pc's

#4
Title101

Title101

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
Would this work for a HD 5470 Mobility card?

#5
 lauch

 lauch

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria
i have removed OSX because of the graphics card.
is there a special kernel you need to use this kexts?
and works it with 10.6.7 too?

i hope i'm having luck to get this card working. i'll try it tomorrow

greetings

EDIT:
i have installed sl again and i am so happy now. you are the best!!!
have installed the kexts and used GraphicsEnabler=Yes. now i even have dual-screen (DVI + VGA).
thank you very much!

#6
PGHammer

PGHammer

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 282 posts

i have removed OSX because of the graphics card.
is there a special kernel you need to use this kexts?
and works it with 10.6.7 too?

i hope i'm having luck to get this card working. i'll try it tomorrow

greetings

EDIT:
i have installed sl again and i am so happy now. you are the best!!!
have installed the kexts and used GraphicsEnabler=Yes. now i even have dual-screen (DVI + VGA).
thank you very much!



Even better, if you decide to add (or upgrade to) Lion, you only need ATI5000Injector.kext. (Copy it to /S/L/E of your installer partition, and it will also give you full/proper display support during the install! I didn't do that with my DP1 install, but did with DP2; for the first time *ever* I got the full proper OS X startup routine.)

"Mac midi"
ASUS P4G41-M LX2/GB
Intel Celeron DC E3400
3 GB DDR2-800 (2GBx1/1GBx1)
VisionTek AMD HD5450 512MB GDDR3 passive-cooled
7 Ultimate x64/OS X 10.6.6/OS X 10.7 DP2
;) :) :P

#7
k540kkk

k540kkk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
@taky2008

Interesting, Could you please explain how the injector work? Is it possible to apply to HD 6xxx series?

#8
 lauch

 lauch

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austria

Even better, if you decide to add (or upgrade to) Lion, you only need ATI5000Injector.kext. (Copy it to /S/L/E of your installer partition, and it will also give you full/proper display support during the install! I didn't do that with my DP1 install, but did with DP2; for the first time *ever* I got the full proper OS X startup routine.)

"Mac midi"
ASUS P4G41-M LX2/GB
Intel Celeron DC E3400
3 GB DDR2-800 (2GBx1/1GBx1)
VisionTek AMD HD5450 512MB GDDR3 passive-cooled
7 Ultimate x64/OS X 10.6.6/OS X 10.7 DP2
:) :unsure: B)


i know that this are the lion kexts, i have tried them many times too, but without success.

is it recommended to upgrade to lion at this time or should i wait until the final stable release is out? are there already instructions for the installation?

#9
marcus82

marcus82

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
thank you!!!!!
it's perfect on 10.6.7 too!!!

edit: i'm not sure on QE/CI cause ANTEPRIMA don't work!!!

#10
marcus82

marcus82

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
can you help me?

#11
Epic1Hit

Epic1Hit

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
hi, i dont get how to install this..

#12
Epic1Hit

Epic1Hit

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
where is S/l/e and S/E/E located in my mac?

#13
Epic1Hit

Epic1Hit

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
works! if only it said 5450 under about this mac, it would be cool.

#14
taky2008

taky2008

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts

where is S/l/e and S/E/E located in my mac?


S/l/e = System library extension S/E/E = System extra extension

#15
PGHammer

PGHammer

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 282 posts

Would this work for a HD 5470 Mobility card?


At worst, the only change you *may* need for the HD5470 is the BIOS (likely not even that).

This same method was originally posted by white_apple_x86 in the New Users' Forum, and I later confirmed that it works (and have since done further testing with DP1 and DP2 of Lion). It consists of an installer (a modified version of Chameleon 2 RC5, actually and an enabler - ATI5000Injector.kext) and two other kexts. This should be installed *prior* to updating to 10.6.6 or later (currently 10.6.7).

Fortunately, *because* Lion DP1 and later, unlike Snow, specifically supports the HD5xxx cards (including the Mobility variations), you don't need the BIOS in your Lion bootloader - just ATI5000Injector.kext and any other kexts dropped normally into /Extra/Extensions (they should go in /System/Library/Extensions of your Lion install partition).

That also means that your Lion install will be at the best resolution your GPU and display supports (in my case, 1920x1080) - not a thing wrong with that.

#16
samsonluk

samsonluk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:HK

S/l/e = System library extension S/E/E = System extra extension


Sorry, never heard S/E/E, do you mean /Extra/Extensions?

#17
dimepag

dimepag

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Funland

Here It Is A Guide For Hd 5450 In 10.6.6

1- Download This FIle http://www.multiupload.com/PV9EYYPXW7

2-Copy Lion KExts To S/l/e

3-Copy ATI5000Injector.kext TO S/E/E

4-Repair With KExts Utlity

IF U HAd A proplem With Coloer Change Reslution From Boot plist Into 800x600x32 And If THe Problem Still Download This Bootloader http://www.multiupload.com/5F1ZEQ8HET


Thank you for this! I'm getting Radeon HD 5450 LowProfile this week, and trying to install perhaps my first really working Hackintosh install. I've had some Atom board installs before, with GMA950 full support, but they are just so old and useless..

I have 1.6.3 retail DVD working as install medium in USB , so can I get this working with my Pentium-4 HT @ 3ghz (DELL Optiplex gx620) machine or is Pentium-4 too old for 1.6.3 , 1.6.7 or 1.7.0 ? I cannot boot this DELL with onboard GPU so thats why Im upgrading to Radeon this week.

I'm going to try the ##### + ##### way, any better suggestions?

Your instructions part #2 "copy lion kexsts..." what lion kexts? What are you talking about?
And the part #4, the KExts Utlity, can you give a link to that utility yuu are talking about?

There are lots of different KExt Utilitys out there?

Sorry me being quite n00b but honestly, about 95% of the instructions on all of hackintosh sites, are quite hard to understand.. for everyone. And I'm only n00b in hackintoshes.. Linux is my OS been for 10+ years so Im not afraid to config things, but really guys you should do better instructions...

But thank you very much !!! :unsure:

#18
samsonluk

samsonluk

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:HK

Your instructions part #2 "copy lion kexsts..." what lion kexts? What are you talking about?

Lion kexts are included in the hd5450.zip

#19
dimepag

dimepag

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Location:Funland

Lion kexts are included in the hd5450.zip



Ok thanks.

I just realized that the Pentium-4 is not supported by new OSX releases, well I just have to buy now a Gigabyte C2D board so I can get this thing going!

#20
jnxjn

jnxjn

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts

Ok thanks.

I just realized that the Pentium-4 is not supported by new OSX releases, well I just have to buy now a Gigabyte C2D board so I can get this thing going!

I don't assume Lion requires SSE4 if it's to run on a T5600, so unless I'm missing something about this factoid that makes Merom+ a prerequisite, SL95V should be fine with that board. Else, you could always swap guts for Dell P/N: PU052 (OptiPlex 755 SFF) + SLA9V.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy