Jump to content

Editing custom personalities for ATI Radeon HD[45]xx


  • Please log in to reply
765 replies to this topic

#681
Lord Kamina

Lord Kamina

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Santiago, Chile

Since you're running 10.8, the script identified the OS version as 10.8. But you fed the script a 10.9 executable, at which point the script cannot find the expected instructions as it was expecting a 10.8 executable.
I guess the script could use an option to override the OS version as my patch-hda.pl script has. You can patch this temporarily by overriding $osxvers with 10.9...

Yeah, I figured something like this happened. Mostly I wanted to put it out here so it can eventually be fixed; there might be other people having the same issue.



#682
asok30

asok30

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rotterdam
  • Interests:ICT, Programming

can some body help me to change framebuffer for packardbell lm85 with ati mobility hd 5470 

 

========================================================================

 

Personality: Hoolock

ConnectorInfo count in decimal: 3

Disk offset in decimal 635616

0000000    00  04  00  00  04  06  00  00  00  01  00  00  21  03  05  01

0000010    00  04  00  00  04  06  00  00  00  01  00  00  11  02  04  02

0000020    04  00  00  00  14  02  00  00  00  01  00  00  02  04  01  03

0000030

===============================================================================

 

sers/asok/Desktop/ewa.rom 

ATOM BIOS Rom: 

SubsystemVendorID: 0x1025 SubsystemID: 0x037f

IOBaseAddress: 0x2000

Filename: BR035201.008

BIOS Bootup Message: 

Acer JE70-CP PARK M2 XT DDR3 64Mx16 512MB                                   

 

PCI ID: 1002:68e0

Connector at index 0

Type [@offset 45032]: LVDS (7)

Encoder [@offset 45036]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY (0x1e)

i2cid [@offset 45106]: 0x96, OSX senseid: 0x7

Connector at index 1

Type [@offset 45042]: HDMI-A (11)

Encoder [@offset 45046]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY1 (0x20)

i2cid [@offset 45129]: 0x91, OSX senseid: 0x2

Connector at index 2

Type [@offset 45052]: VGA (1)

Encoder [@offset 45056]: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1 (0x15)

i2cid [@offset 45156]: 0



#683
mcfchan

mcfchan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

I am a newbie and just installed Mavericks with #####, ##### and Chimera 2.2.1 r2246

 

My display card is Sapphire 5670 which has 3 ports DDVI HDMI and DP. After installation, I have video performance issue, Youtube is in slow motion when viewing 720p or 1080p resolution.

 

 

When using HDMI, GraphicsEnabler=Yes. Graphic card recognized as ATI Radeon HD 5670 1024MB. 1920x1080 resolution is not available. Monitor is recognised as VGA

When using DVI, the system can only load successfully with -x GraphicsEnabler=No Mode=1920x1080x32. Graphic card recognized as ATI Radeon HD 5000 1024 MB. Monitor is recognised as SyncMaster - which is exactly my LCD.

 

 

I have tried a few Framebuffers personality but the performance of video is more or less the same.  Does setting Framebuffers only give video on the right ports of HMDI or DVI, but not affect video performance? 

 

As bc9 has this carded before, I am wondering if having his kext file can solve the video performance issue? I do not use dual monitor. So having good performance with DVI and 1920x1080x32 is good enough for me.

 

Thanks



#684
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

Look for your DeviceID and compare it with those listed in AMD5000Controller.kext/info.plist



#685
mcfchan

mcfchan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

The device Id is correct, same as I got in Win7

 

 

https://www.dropbox....28 17.54.51.png

 

I switch to Uakari, able to boot up with DVI but the video performance is poor in Youtube.



#686
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

The device Id is correct, same as I got in Win7
 
 
https://www.dropbox....28 17.54.51.png
 
I switch to Uakari, able to boot up with DVI but the video performance is poor in Youtube.

DeviceID=68D8 is very good. You should have good performance corresponding to the class of the card.
If not then search mistakes in other system settings.



#687
mcfchan

mcfchan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

Hi Slice, does it mean as long as the DeviceID correctly recognized, the Hackintosh  is using the right drivers? It still have performance issue, can you give me light on which system settings to check? Thanks



#688
bcc9

bcc9

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,281 posts
  • Gender:Male
0x68d8 is the device id of the 5670 I used as the example in post #1.
If you're booting without GraphicsEnabler, then you presumably are not getting an ATI/AMD accelerated framebuffer, so it would make sense that your performance is poor in that case.

Sounds like you simply didn't follow the patching instructions in post #1.

#689
mcfchan

mcfchan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

Some posts said that for ATI 5670 card, should use GraphicsEnabler=No

I am using the same Sapphire 5670 Card as you used previously. I did not follow the post #1 to change anything, as the DVI works with GE=No and Uakari.  I do not need HDMI and DP.  I don't know what should I edit with post #1. Thanks



#690
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

0x68d8 is the device id of the 5670 I used as the example in post #1.
If you're booting without GraphicsEnabler, then you presumably are not getting an ATI/AMD accelerated framebuffer, so it would make sense that your performance is poor in that case.

Sounds like you simply didn't follow the patching instructions in post #1.

 

I think with GraphicsEnabler=No it must be accelerated.

I have very similar card 5570 with deviceID=0x68D9 and it works with default framebuffer ATI,Radeon in 3D games with full accelerations.

Two problems:

1. DVD player crashes

2. No sleep.

When I did connector patch these problems was resolved but acceleration remains the same. Same full acceleration.

The problem is somewhere else.



#691
mcfchan

mcfchan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

I am puzzled now if my PC is that unstable in Mavericks:

 

Earlier today I got smooth Youtube in Safari. Then I thought my video performance issue was just Chrome playing badly Youtube while Safari was fine.  So I think the video problem is solved.

 

Then I switched to solving my VT1828 Audio issue. After installing the right kext, I got fair sound.  When I tried to fine tune it by checking VoodooHDA and Audio MIDI Setup, all sound lost and I find that the video performance back to slow motion in Youtube no matter Safari or Chrome ... I am really puzzled by now...



#692
mcfchan

mcfchan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

I removed Voodoo and graphics performance back to smooth. So it is the audio drivers affecting the graphics performance.  If you know which Voodoo works for VT1828 in Mavericks, please inform me. Thanks



#693
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

I removed Voodoo and graphics performance back to smooth. So it is the audio drivers affecting the graphics performance.  If you know which Voodoo works for VT1828 in Mavericks, please inform me. Thanks

VoodooHDA 2.8.4 works fine for all chips including VIA.

Offtopic.



#694
mcfchan

mcfchan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

I tired VoodooHDA 2.8.4, sound is broken.  The video performance in Youtube also poor. 

I know it appears offtopic, but the audio driver also affecting the video driver too in my case. 



#695
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

I tired VoodooHDA 2.8.4, sound is broken.  The video performance in Youtube also poor. 

I know it appears offtopic, but the audio driver also affecting the video driver too in my case. 

Did you use HDMI?



#696
masber

masber

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Sapphire HD 5570 HDMI audio success.

Credit to bcc9 for developing the method and tmongkol for proposing the working solution for the HD 5570.

Configuration:
DVI, HDMI, VGA

Default Situation:
10.6.6, Kabyl rel 700
Boots to Baboon
HDMI video no audio
DVI is black screen

The radeondump 0.2:
ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x174b SubsystemID: 0xe142
IOBaseAddress: 0x0000
Filename: 2E142010.002
BIOS Bootup Message:
REDWOOD C02101 DDR3 64Mx16

Connector at index 0 type: HDMI-A (11)
Connector's i2cid: 92
Connector at index 1 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector's i2cid: 93
Connector at index 2 type: DVI-I (2)
Connector's i2cid: 93
Connector at index 3 type: VGA (1)
Connector's i2cid: 90

tmongkol proposes Eulemur Framebuffer

for the HDMI senseid
change from:
00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 12 04 04 02
to
00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 12 04 04 03

Patched for Sapphire HD 5570
Eulemur:

0000000 04 00 00 00 14 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 01 02 01 04
0000010 00 08 00 00 00 02 00 00 00 01 00 00 12 04 04 03
0000020 10 00 00 00 10 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 10 00 01
0000030 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
0000040

Result:
HDMI video and audio working
DVI video working (audio may not be possible with this card)
Fully functional HD 5570 in 10.6.6
GT 430 retired.

Thanks bcc9 and tmongkol

hi everybody... this is my first post.

hi toleda... i am using sapphire 5570 too... can you guide me step by step to make it work?

 

i am using Iatkos L2 (10.7.2) with "command line tool" installed.

i tried to input this command "otool -arch i386 -vt ATIFramebuffer | c++filt | grep createInfo" but no result.

and then "otool -arch x86_64 -vt ATIFramebuffer | c++filt | grep createInfo" and got the same result.

i tried "perl ati-personality.pl" and got so many result but i don't know what to do  :cry:  (sorry for being Noob)

 

i skipped those steps and replace stock boot file to kabyl's boot file, then booting my PC using "-v GraphicsEnabler=Yes AtiConfig=Eulemur" but no luck and can't boot the system and continuously reboot. using other boot flag but never works.

 

i am very desperate making my card works...
please help me...

 

i'm indonesian. sorry for may bad english.

thanks in advance. :)



#697
mcfchan

mcfchan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong

I am using DVI only and no need to use HDMI.

 

As from post #1, I am using Uakari and the DVI works (with correct Device ID recognised) under GraphicsEnabler=No. Should I try to edit the connectioninfo to make GraphicsEnabler=Yes to be able to work under Uakari ? If so, could you give me some lights on how to do so?

 

Thanks~~



#698
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 3,182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

I am using DVI only and no need to use HDMI.
 
As from post #1, I am using Uakari and the DVI works (with correct Device ID recognised) under GraphicsEnabler=No. Should I try to edit the connectioninfo to make GraphicsEnabler=Yes to be able to work under Uakari ? If so, could you give me some lights on how to do so?
 
Thanks~~

O, sorry! Chameleon is not my way.



#699
khe91

khe91

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
Hello bcc9,

The ati-personality.pl don't works anymore in the 10.9.2. prerelease's.
Could you please take a look at it.

Thanks,

khe91

#700
bcc9

bcc9

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Coders
  • 1,281 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hello bcc9,

The ati-personality.pl don't works anymore in the 10.9.2. prerelease's.
Could you please take a look at it.

If you send in some debug details (such as the -v -v output), I could take a look. Otherwise, for minor osx releases, I almost never look at the pre-releases.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy