Jump to content

10.7 "Lion" in VMware Workstation in Windows 7


  • Please log in to reply
145 replies to this topic

#1
besweeet

besweeet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
I'm working on getting the preview edition of 10.7 in VMware workstation. I'm using my existing 10.6.6 installation to install it onto a separate virtual partition.

I can't figure out how to get it to boot the Lion partition, as the file system is just one single folder:
Posted Image

I've moved the com.Apple.boot.plist file from /Mac OS X Install Data to /Library/Preferences/System/Configuration, but it keeps booting my actual SL partition instead of my Lion partition.

Any comments will be appreciated.

#2
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

I'm working on getting the preview edition of 10.7 in VMware workstation. I'm using my existing 10.6.6 installation to install it onto a separate virtual partition.

I can't figure out how to get it to boot the Lion partition, as the file system is just one single folder:

I've moved the com.Apple.boot.plist file from /Mac OS X Install Data to /Library/Preferences/System/Configuration, but it keeps booting my actual SL partition instead of my Lion partition.

Any comments will be appreciated.


It isn't working at present. I may have an idea on a way forward on this but bit worried about discussing as under Apple's NDA.

#3
besweeet

besweeet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male

It isn't working at present. I may have an idea on a way forward on this but bit worried about discussing as under Apple's NDA.


Screw NDAs. Want to PM?

I've been trying out various kernel and AppleACPIPlatform.kext files (keep getting kernel panics because of that).

Also, if I don't try anything special, the VM will automatically restart at something about EFI_runtime returned 0, starting darwin/x86 or something like that (which is sort of normal).

#4
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Screw NDAs. Want to PM?

I've been trying out various kernel and AppleACPIPlatform.kext files (keep getting kernel panics because of that).

Also, if I don't try anything special, the VM will automatically restart at something about EFI_runtime returned 0, starting darwin/x86 or something like that (which is sort of normal).


Tried creating a bootable Lion installation drive from a message on Apple Developer forums. However that doesn't work either. The new sandbox is stopping the boot. This is Workstation 7.1.3. Will try on real iMac with Fusion 3.1.2 tomorrow.

#5
besweeet

besweeet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male

Tried creating a bootable Lion installation drive from a message on Apple Developer forums. However that doesn't work either. The new sandbox is stopping the boot. This is Workstation 7.1.3. Will try on real iMac with Fusion 3.1.2 tomorrow.


I tried using my kernel from 10.6.6, and it eventually gave me a kernel panic regarding AppleACPIPlatform (can't find driver for platform), which would be expected I suppose.

#6
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

I tried using my kernel from 10.6.6, and it eventually gave me a kernel panic regarding AppleACPIPlatform (can't find driver for platform), which would be expected I suppose.


No go on VMware Fusion 3.1.2 on mid-2010 iMac. Get CPU disabled messages on both Workstation and Fusion.

#7
besweeet

besweeet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male

<br />No go on VMware Fusion 3.1.2 on mid-2010 iMac. Get CPU disabled messages on both Workstation and Fusion.<br />

<br /><br /><br />

There's something you have to add to your VM configuration file to fix the CPU disabled messages.

I'm sure netkas will make something soon: http://netkas.org/?p=609

#8
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

<br /><br /><br />

There's something you have to add to your VM configuration file to fix the CPU disabled messages.

I'm sure netkas will make something soon: http://netkas.org/?p=609


I have spent 3 years working on this stuff and 11 years with VMware products, and never made it go away with a VMX entry! :P But I would love to find a setting which solved the problem as been seen in other OS such as Solaris over the years. I have got a better understanding on what happens when you run the application to install, and think it is to do with the kernalcache used in the new com.apple.Boot.plist. Not sure if I can alter that though as seems to use new parameters as well which I haven't seen in SL.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd"><plist version="1.0"><dict>	<key>Kernel Cache</key>	<string>/Mac OS X Install Data/kernelcache</string>	<key>Kernel Flags</key>	<string>container-dmg=file:///Mac%20OS%20X%20Install%20Data/InstallESD.dmg root-dmg=file:///BaseSystem.dmg</string></dict></plist>


#9
besweeet

besweeet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male

I have spent 3 years working on this stuff and 11 years with VMware products, and never made it go away with a VMX entry! :P But I would love to find a setting which solved the problem as been seen in other OS such as Solaris over the years. I have got a better understanding on what happens when you run the application to install, and think it is to do with the kernalcache used in the new com.apple.Boot.plist. Not sure if I can alter that though as seems to use new parameters as well which I haven't seen in SL.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd"><plist version="1.0"><dict>	<key>Kernel Cache</key>	<string>/Mac OS X Install Data/kernelcache</string>	<key>Kernel Flags</key>	<string>container-dmg=file:///Mac%20OS%20X%20Install%20Data/InstallESD.dmg root-dmg=file:///BaseSystem.dmg</string></dict></plist>


Adding the following to my .vmx file fixed it:
cpuid.1.eax = "0000:0000:0000:0001:0000:0110:1010:0101"


#10
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Adding the following to my .vmx file fixed it:

cpuid.1.eax = "0000:0000:0000:0001:0000:0110:1010:0101"


I am such an idiot forgot the work I did on this with MSoK http://www.insanelym...p;#entry1551966?

Can you post a vmware.log file so I can look at a the virtual and real CPUIDs please?

The issue is that you can't use that for all CPUs, such as my laptops C2D.

(My only excuse is I have a rotten cold and feeling pretty rough!)

#11
besweeet

besweeet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male

<br />I am such an idiot forgot the work I did on this with MSoK <a href="http://www.insanelym...;#entry1551966" target="_blank">http://www.insanelym...1551966</a>?<br /><br />Can you post a vmware.log file so I can look at a the virtual and real CPUIDs please?<br /><br />The issue is that you can't use that for all CPUs, such as my laptops C2D.<br /><br />(My only excuse is I have a rotten cold and feeling pretty rough!)<br />

<br /><br /><br />

Will do in a bit.

My 2630QM and my 10.6.6 VM seem to work fine after adding that to the VMX.

#12
besweeet

besweeet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
Attached is a copy of my log(s).

Attached Files



#13
nandor690

nandor690

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts
So has anyone found anything on running lion in a vmware fusion?

So has anyone found anything on running lion in a vmware fusion?

#14
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

So has anyone found anything on running lion in a vmware fusion?

So has anyone found anything on running lion in a vmware fusion?


I haven't managed it yet and haven't found anything including from VMware.

#15
Menno

Menno

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
If you want a install disk. Restore "InstallESD.dmg" to a usb drive. It boots fine here on my mbp 17".

#16
besweeet

besweeet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male

<br />If you want a install disk. Restore &quot;InstallESD.dmg&quot; to a usb drive. It boots fine here on my mbp 17&quot;.<br />

<br /><br /><br />

That made me laugh.

We're working on virtual machines and hackintoshes.

#17
Menno

Menno

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 147 posts
Hehe I know it was off topic, but it was just a side-note for a quick vanilla disk. It comes in handy.
Too bad it isn't working. My dream of lion server in ESXi was blown away when vmware fusion couldn't boot it on my mac or in vmware workstation (linux).

#18
Graebags

Graebags

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canberra
Hi, has anyone managed to get beyond this? I'm out of ideas for getting vmware to boot the Lion partition, or even give me that option.

#19
besweeet

besweeet

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
Netkas said that Lion is supposedly booting with the XPC bootloader: http://www.insanelym...howtopic=187950

#20
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Netkas said that Lion is supposedly booting with the XPC bootloader: http://www.insanelym...howtopic=187950

Yes saw that. If I get a chance will give it a go.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2015 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy