Jump to content

The Fermi "Freeze" Discussion (Possible solutions?)


  • Please log in to reply
249 replies to this topic

#61
an1r0n

an1r0n

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:71000

Also real Mac Quadro 4000(fermi) Mac Edition has KP Problems !
Good test article here - Result: unusable because lots of KPs!
http://arstechnica.c.....ured Content)


Yay, cheers for that one! I'm only hoping they will fix it, it's not going to be fun if they focus on 5xx series. BTW, after reading article i've found thread at Apple forums Apple must really hate nvidia now. Hopefully, they will optimize drivers from Mac!

BTW, any KP's lately?

Cheers,
an1r0n

#62
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Also real Mac Quadro 4000(fermi) Mac Edition has KP Problems !
Good test article here - Result: unusable because lots of KPs!
http://arstechnica.c.....ured Content)


Laughed out loud at this bit:

One time I booted up the machine with the Quadro after reinstalling the OS and the Quadro driver wasn't installed—I had to install it via my iPhone VNC client since the OS was booted but the screen itself was blank. This isn't a criticism of NVIDIA—it's just a note that if you want your Mac Pro to boot a modern operating system that can use this card with no driver loaded, try FreeDOS.


:)

#63
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
LOL - We see: Hackintosh sometimes (with "Fermi inside") are very, very near to orig. Mac :unsure:

#64
Suixo

Suixo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa, Portugal
Hi an1r0n,

Can you explain how did you generate the EFI string for your GTX460? I'm trying to understand how to use OSx86 Tools to build custom string but I'm not sure if I'm doing it right..

After getting the EFI string, did you add it to 'com.apple.Boot.plist' at the field "device-properties" ?

I've done your tutorial with your EFI string in "device-properties" and "arch=i386" and a few minutes (~20min) after the first boot ready for the first test, I got Freeze and KP right after that Freeze.
In the first boot after the tutorial, I've repaired permissions and next boot with "ignore caches" option in chameleon.

Thanks for the great effort,

Suixo

#65
blade5502

blade5502

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Location:Austria
Anyone tryed drivers from 10.6.7 Update for new iMac?

http://netkas.org/?p=764

#66
rominator

rominator

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts
downloading.....

#67
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
yep OpenCL works now - 10.6.7, nvidia drivers from MacBook Pro Software Update 1.4:

Platform 0]
	 Name:		 Apple
	 Vendor:	 Apple
	 Version:	 OpenCL 1.0 (Dec 23 2010 17:30:26)
	 Profile:	 FULL_PROFILE
 
 
 [OpenCL-only Context]
 2 OpenCL devices found!
 
 [Device 0]
	 Name:			 GeForce GTX 460
	 Vendor:		 NVIDIA
	 Type:			 GPU 
	 Device Version:	 OpenCL 1.0 
	 Driver Version:	 CLH 1.0
	 Compute Units:		 14
	 Work Group Size:	 1024
	 Clock:			 1350 MHz
	 Global Memory:		 1024 MB
	 Local Memory:		 48 KB
	 Cache Size:		 0 KB
	 Cache Line Size:	 0 Bytes
	 Available:		 Yes
	 Double-Precision:	 No
	 Extensions: 
				 cl_khr_byte_addressable_store
				 cl_khr_global_int32_base_atomics
				 cl_khr_global_int32_extended_atomics
				 cl_APPLE_gl_sharing
				 cl_APPLE_SetMemObjectDestructor
				 cl_APPLE_ContextLoggingFunctions

Updates/Sec wants to go off the scale: ;)
Attached File  Galaxies.png   472.53KB   72 downloads
But after running Galaxies it froze as I went to add the image to this post. So, no these drivers don't fix the Fermi Freeze!

#68
an1r0n

an1r0n

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:71000
Guys, any progress on this? I plan to try again this weekend with fresh install of SL, latest nvidia drivers and Apple update.

Thanks,
an1r0n

#69
ij0nathan

ij0nathan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
Hello people and greetings!!!

What I recomend is: just wait to the next Snow Leopard Update 10.6.8 because what I reed is that they working on graphics matter. So I'll wait for it jeejejejje.
Meantime I bought a 9800GT and I just moved on and leave windows 7 and now I'm living on snow leopard certainly happy jejejeje. But I want to use my GTS450 that's why I will aport any update on this thread :) :D

#70
an1r0n

an1r0n

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:71000
I'm stuck on Wintel, my old 8800GT is a bit glitchy on 2560x1440 with secondary 1920x1080 : /

And I feel too proud to replace a NEW card with OLD, again : (

Dammit nVidia and Apple, you did it again. Even proper Quadro users have this {censored} going on.

Thanks,
an1r0n

#71
scorcho

scorcho

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 110 posts
I seem to have a promising hack/fix for the Fermi Freeze through editing AGPM. Please see here - http://www.tonymacx8...hp?f=15&t=20367

Right now the card is locked at state 1 even when idling at the desktop, which is a good thing! I'm not sure yet whether this also necessitates flashing the BIOS on these cards to have higher default core/voltage settings, and I'm not about to flash my card to stock values to test.

I'm using iMac12,1, but I don't see why it can't be adapted and added to whatever system people are identifying their hackintoshes as.

#72
Blah101

Blah101

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
I have a fresh system I am working with, and I don't have acceleration working yet. However, when I get back to my computer tonight, I am installing the quadro 4000 drivers so I can get acceleration. Would you like me to test this out? I am not particularly experienced in the area, but I want my random KPs gone. In other words, I might message you with some questions if I get lost. Not sure what iMac system I have, I believe it is iMac11,1. I will have to double check. My card is in my signature.

#73
scorcho

scorcho

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 110 posts
give this AGPM.kext a shot. i've edited it so that it should work for iMac11,1 as well. let me know how you fare!

use Kext Utility B7 to install the kext. don't just drag it to S/L/E!

Attached Files



#74
Suixo

Suixo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa, Portugal
I'm using scorcho solution and we both get free of Fermi Freezes and KP. I'm starting to believe that this is a good and practicable solution (not considering wallsaver app). Never in my previous attempts to fix this famous issue, I got such good results! Its so much stable, errors free and smooth! ;)

Seriously try this out! Its :( amazing!

Check the thread below (by scorcho) to learn how to get Fermi Freeze away!

http://www.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=20367

:D

#75
Blah101

Blah101

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male

give this AGPM.kext a shot. i've edited it so that it should work for iMac11,1 as well. let me know how you fare!

use Kext Utility B7 to install the kext. don't just drag it to S/L/E!


I dragged this onto Kext Utility B7, then clicked Easy Install. My system ran for 17 minutes and then I got a freeze.

#76
Suixo

Suixo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa, Portugal
What do you got on your SMBios.plist? MacPro3,1? If so you need to change it to MacPro4,1 than apply AGPM.kext with KextUtility app (by drag and drop the kext into to the KextUtility app) to ensure that the kext is installed right and permissions fixed.

After this you need to get to Console (in Utilities folder), select "All Messages" and filter the text by typing "AGPM".

If you can see any log about AGPM you're system is using AGPM.kext.

I'm using the AGPM.kext below (credits to scorcho)



PS: In this process I removed a kext (AppleTyMCEDriver.kext) to ensure no boot errors because a user said that I might get me KP at boot due to MacPro4,1 incompatibilities.

Attached Files



#77
Blah101

Blah101

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Gender:Male
I have an iMac11,1 as my identifier in System Profiler, I assume that is same for SMBios.plist. Also, Scorcho said that the file he linked (a couple posts above) was edited for my system. So all I did was download that kext, drag and drop to Kext Utility B7 and clicked "Easy install". After that I rebooted and after 17 minutes I got a freeze.

#78
Suixo

Suixo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa, Portugal
Right.. I must say it isn't easy to get this to work. Scorcho is giving me full support in this but in tonymacx86 forum. I wasn't able to get it with iMac11,1 in SMBios.plist but with MacPro4,1 it worked with the AGPM kext in my previous post.

Anyway I'm still testing this fix so its guarantied that is a final or working fix.

#79
mitch_de

mitch_de

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Retired
  • 2,885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stuttgart / Germany
Hi, i use iMac11,1 with NV 9600GT, 10.6.8 beta

i used that posted AGPM (with 0622 as my device, you must change that if you have other nvidia) , made an LegancyAGPM for (attatched - for 0622 / iMac11,1) /Extra/Extensions , rebuild /EXTRA mkext (by great Kext Wizard) and got AGPM working.


Here the steppings (you can sue any OpenGL Tool like OpenMark other Benches uses GPU like CUDAZ) to see steppings up/down.
27.05.11 09:09:13	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display Initialized, Control ID 17...... (starting some OpenGL Benches)27.05.11 09:09:13	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display Initialized, Control ID 1727.05.11 09:09:17	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 3 from 3, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:11:17	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 0 from 3, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:11:44	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 1 from 0, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:11:48	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 2 from 1, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:11:52	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 3 from 2, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:13:56	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 0 from 3, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:04	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 1 from 0, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:05	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 0 from 1, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:14	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 1 from 0, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:15	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 0 from 1, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:24	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 1 from 0, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:28	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 2 from 1, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:32	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 3 from 2, ControlID = 17

You can also use CUDA FPS Check (for putting some OpenGL load on the GPU, shows FPS) if you have Mac OS X CUDA drivers installed.

Attached Files



#80
morfy

morfy

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 890 posts

Hi, i use iMac11,1 with NV 9600GT, 10.6.8 beta

i used that posted AGPM (with 0622 as my device, you must change that if you have other nvidia) , made an LegancyAGPM for (attatched - for 0622 / iMac11,1) /Extra/Extensions , rebuild /EXTRA mkext (by great Kext Wizard) and got AGPM working.


Here the steppings (you can sue any OpenGL Tool like OpenMark other Benches uses GPU like CUDAZ) to see steppings up/down.

27.05.11 09:09:13	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display Initialized, Control ID 17...... (starting some OpenGL Benches)27.05.11 09:09:13	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display Initialized, Control ID 1727.05.11 09:09:17	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 3 from 3, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:11:17	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 0 from 3, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:11:44	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 1 from 0, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:11:48	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 2 from 1, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:11:52	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 3 from 2, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:13:56	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 0 from 3, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:04	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 1 from 0, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:05	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 0 from 1, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:14	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 1 from 0, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:15	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 0 from 1, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:24	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 1 from 0, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:28	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 2 from 1, ControlID = 1727.05.11 09:14:32	kernel	AGPM: GPU = display G-state set to 3 from 2, ControlID = 17

You can also use CUDA FPS Check (for putting some OpenGL load on the GPU, shows FPS) if you have Mac OS X CUDA drivers installed.


My card is recognized by placing iMac11, 1 for crashes as well!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy