Jump to content

ATI Radeon HD 5450 Working On Snow Leopard


  • Please log in to reply
159 replies to this topic

#121
luciuxx63

luciuxx63

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Sorry For My English BadPosted Image
My graphics card ati radeon hd 5450 working on snow leopard after installed 10.6.6.

And how do make them work

Only For Kernel Vanilla

Waring Backup Your Data
1.Download the all_in_one.rar(down)
2.Install ATI Chameleon bootloader for Radeon HD5000 or kabyl boot
3.The ROM image under /Extra should be named <vendorid>_<deviceid>.rom(ATI 5450 is 1002_68f9.rom)
4.Install Atiframebuffer.kext and ATY_init.kext to S/L/E (ATI5000Controller don’t need)
5.Edit com.apple.boot.plist

<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>arch=i386</string
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>UseAtiROM</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>AtiFb</key>
<string>Hoolock</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>Your Resolutions </string>

ATI 5450 tested Fb working on Uakari,Vervet,Hoolock and other untested.Recommend Hoolock.

6.Install update 10.6.4 reboot and install graphic update 1.0 (if you get kernel panic after installed graphic update 1.0,try boot –x to safe mode and remove all ATIRadeonX3000.kext,I use hfs+ for windows to remove it )(the graphic update 1.0 only for 10.6.4)
7.Open OSX86Tool repair permissons.
8.Install Update 10.6.6 will add ATIRadeonX3000.kext,ATI5000Controller.kext

After reboot will it work,you need to do step by step,If you get any error tell me. B)
link download


http://supportdownlo...csUpdate1.0.dmg

ATI 5450 is 68f9
ATY_init.kext not support 5450 so it will display the 5500




QE CI it work


Sorry for my bad english...my video card is a Ati Radeon 5550 2GB, with your "all_in_one" run on 1920 x 1080 dvi-dvi. Buth not work with Qe Ci enabled, any idea?? Tank's

#122
t0m0

t0m0

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Wondering if someone can help me.

I recently installed Snow Leopard 10.6.3 onto my computer with the ATI Radeon HD5450 512MB card.

The native resolution is on 1024x768 so I wanted to use this guide to sort that out.

Firstly, I followed TonyMac's guide to install Snow Leopard - http://tonymacx86.bl...ac-os-x-on.html

So this means I am on version 10.6.7, do I need to rollback to version 10.6.4 in order to get this working? If so where can I download this from?

Secondly when I tried to install the kexts mentioned in step 4 (Atiframebuffer.kext and ATY_init.kext) to System / Library / Extensions the following error message occured.


The system extension "/System/Library/Extensions/ATY_init.kext" was installed improperly and cannot be used. Please try reinstalling it, or contact the product's vendor for an update.


What am I actually supposed to take out from my com.apple.boot.plist file to add the lines mentioned in step 5?

Thanks

#123
PGHammer

PGHammer

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 282 posts

so..
to get QE/CI working we needto update to 10.6.4+gfx update
and 10.6.6 (this should include gfx update from 10.6.4).

for ppllike me with SLOW connection i cant stand to download >1gb file.
so my point is.. if there is anyone who kind enaugh to upload their KEXTS (X300plugin.bundle,GA,GL..forgot the name) from 10.6.4+gfx / 10.6.6 we really appreciate that it willbe a BIG HELP to us.
thanks. :angel:


No; just any combo update later than 10.6.4 (10.6.5 Combo Update or later).

Here's my current post-install chain:

The files in this thread; the latest version of Chameleon RC5 (SL-only; the SL/Lion version is earlier in the trunk than either this version or the current Snow-only version, hence no native support for the AMD modifications), and 10.6.7 CU+##### (in order, with the last two literally one after the other, since the CU requires a reboot) - I have all four files on my custom off-site storage drive's Utility Belt (a 40 GB PATA WD custom-partitioned for the purpose; partition one is a clone of the SL install disc, partition two is my Utility Belt, with partitions three and four reserved for Lion).



How did you modify the 5450 ROM you attached in the OP? I'm asking because mine must be slightly different (XFX?), and the 5450 ROM you attached doesn't work under /Extras, and if I try to flash it to the card ATIFlash returns an incompatibility error.

I'm thinking if I re-traced your steps in modifying the BIOS then I can get an XFX version working.

Thanks.


Actually, if you dual-boot with Windows, use the Radeon BIOS Editor *or* GPU-Z from techPowerUP (http://www.techpowerup.com) to extract your GPU's BIOS (either utility will do). Both save the file with a .BIN extension; simply rename it so it has a .ROM extension (either in Explorer in Windows pre-copy or in Finder post-copy) and use the renamed extracted file instead of the one from the archive.

#124
fattire357

fattire357

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Actually, if you dual-boot with Windows, use the Radeon BIOS Editor *or* GPU-Z from techPowerUP (http://www.techpowerup.com) to extract your GPU's BIOS (either utility will do). Both save the file with a .BIN extension; simply rename it so it has a .ROM extension (either in Explorer in Windows pre-copy or in Finder post-copy) and use the renamed extracted file instead of the one from the archive.



Ahhh that's how, thanks

#125
briwil

briwil

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
So I've been trying get this to work to no avail, and the other day I went into AtiFlash and it listed my 5450 card as 68e0, not 68f9 as was listed here... so now I'm confused and not sure which ROM to use (though neither has worked).
I'm on a HP Tm2t with dual Intel/Ati card. Anyone clarify this for me?

#126
__fred__

__fred__

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Confirmed working today on 10.6.7 with MSI R5450, bought to replace dead Nvidia 7600GS in media center hackintosh.

steps taken:
  • dumped my own bios in windows with GPU-Z, now this was necessary, or I got kp's
  • removed old efi string for nvidia.
  • installed Chameleon ATI 5000 pkg
  • cp boot file to / and set permissions
  • installed ATI5000Injector.kext in /E/E, set permissions
  • placed own 1002_68f9.rom in /E
  • installed ATY_Init.kext in S/L/E, set permissions
  • replaced ATIFramebuffer.kext in S/L/E, set permissions
  • edited /L/P/S/com.apple.Boot.plist and added stuff from start post. Also added UseAtiROM -> Yes
  • diskutil repairpermissions /
  • reboot with -f -v to make sure everything was OK

Full working QE, only glitch is it only works with hdmi port, without audio. this is probably tweakable though, but i don't care as i have hdmi output to tv and spdif to receiver.

#127
terranova2142

terranova2142

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deutsch
Hi Guys,Mac OS X Lion Support the ATI 5450 card,no need ATY_init,rom.Only ATYinjector in E/E or S/L/E.I am tested with wonderful result:QE CI Full work,you can use 3 monitor,change resolution,mirror,I tested with VGA+DVI,i am not have HDMI monitor
Attached File  Screen_Shot_2011_05_31_at_3.56.44_PM.png   1.25MB   99 downloads
Attached File  Screen_Shot_2011_05_31_at_3.52.16_PM.png   1.41MB   67 downloads
Attached File  Screen_Shot_2011_05_31_at_3.57.00_PM.png   1.53MB   64 downloads

Sorry for my bad english...my video card is a Ati Radeon 5550 2GB, with your "all_in_one" run on 1920 x 1080 dvi-dvi. Buth not work with Qe Ci enabled, any idea?? Tank's

Recommend install OSX 10.7 lion Full Support the ATI 5450 Card

#128
terranova2142

terranova2142

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deutsch

Confirmed working today on 10.6.7 with MSI R5450, bought to replace dead Nvidia 7600GS in media center hackintosh.

steps taken:

  • dumped my own bios in windows with GPU-Z, now this was necessary, or I got kp's
  • removed old efi string for nvidia.
  • installed Chameleon ATI 5000 pkg
  • cp boot file to / and set permissions
  • installed ATI5000Injector.kext in /E/E, set permissions
  • placed own 1002_68f9.rom in /E
  • installed ATY_Init.kext in S/L/E, set permissions
  • replaced ATIFramebuffer.kext in S/L/E, set permissions
  • edited /L/P/S/com.apple.Boot.plist and added stuff from start post. Also added UseAtiROM -> Yes
  • diskutil repairpermissions /
  • reboot with -f -v to make sure everything was OK

Full working QE, only glitch is it only works with hdmi port, without audio. this is probably tweakable though, but i don't care as i have hdmi output to tv and spdif to receiver.

You must patch AppleHDA,if you want HDMI audio

#129
relol

relol

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Is it possible to take the ati 5450 kexts from 10.7 and use it in 10.6.7 to have full support?
I'm so lazy to reinstall full osx :)
Thanks in advance :)

#130
terranova2142

terranova2142

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deutsch

Is it possible to take the ati 5450 kexts from 10.7 and use it in 10.6.7 to have full support?
I'm so lazy to reinstall full osx :P
Thanks in advance :)


No,I am Tested but only full resolution,without QE CI and I can't shutdown or restart

#131
jacquesmk2

jacquesmk2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

Confirmed working today on 10.6.7 with MSI R5450, bought to replace dead Nvidia 7600GS in media center hackintosh.

steps taken:

  • dumped my own bios in windows with GPU-Z, now this was necessary, or I got kp's
  • removed old efi string for nvidia.
  • installed Chameleon ATI 5000 pkg
  • cp boot file to / and set permissions
  • installed ATI5000Injector.kext in /E/E, set permissions
  • placed own 1002_68f9.rom in /E
  • installed ATY_Init.kext in S/L/E, set permissions
  • replaced ATIFramebuffer.kext in S/L/E, set permissions
  • edited /L/P/S/com.apple.Boot.plist and added stuff from start post. Also added UseAtiROM -> Yes
  • diskutil repairpermissions /
  • reboot with -f -v to make sure everything was OK

Full working QE, only glitch is it only works with hdmi port, without audio. this is probably tweakable though, but i don't care as i have hdmi output to tv and spdif to receiver.


Hi Fred.
Please could you detail for noobs plz ?
- what does this "cp boot file to / and set permissions" means ? (I suppose we have to show hidden files in root's folder in order to find it ?)

ADDON
I've done all of it, without success.
My system is now very low...
I respected the order...where could it go wrong ?

#132
Monstruo

Monstruo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I managed to make my ATI Radeon HD5450 detected on my Dell XPS 8300. It is running at 1680x1050x32 resolution.

Just followed the first post instructions, but before, I installed from the ##### installer the ##### component, but removed the JMicron related kexts due kernel panic after reboot.
Sound is working after installing of Snow Leopard using #####. Ethernet however not.

My dell specs are Intel i7 3.39 Ghz, 4 GB of RAM, 1TB HD.

#133
Le Libertin

Le Libertin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Sorry For My English BadPosted Image
My graphics card ati radeon hd 5450 working on snow leopard after installed 10.6.6.

And how do make them work

Only For Kernel Vanilla

Waring Backup Your Data
1.Download the all_in_one.rar(down)
2.Install ATI Chameleon bootloader for Radeon HD5000 or kabyl boot
3.The ROM image under /Extra should be named <vendorid>_<deviceid>.rom(ATI 5450 is 1002_68f9.rom)
4.Install Atiframebuffer.kext and ATY_init.kext to S/L/E (ATI5000Controller don’t need)
5.Edit com.apple.boot.plist

<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>arch=i386</string
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>UseAtiROM</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>AtiFb</key>
<string>Hoolock</string>
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>Your Resolutions </string>

ATI 5450 tested Fb working on Uakari,Vervet,Hoolock and other untested.Recommend Hoolock.

6.Install update 10.6.4 reboot and install graphic update 1.0 (if you get kernel panic after installed graphic update 1.0,try boot –x to safe mode and remove all ATIRadeonX3000.kext,I use hfs+ for windows to remove it )(the graphic update 1.0 only for 10.6.4)
7.Open OSX86Tool repair permissons.
8.Install Update 10.6.6 will add ATIRadeonX3000.kext,ATI5000Controller.kext

After reboot will it work,you need to do step by step,If you get any error tell me. :)
link download


http://supportdownlo...csUpdate1.0.dmg

ATI 5450 is 68f9
ATY_init.kext not support 5450 so it will display the 5500




QE CI it work



Hello White Apple :-)
Please to meet you bro :-)

Forgive my english i am french ;-)

I got a A degree in electronics but i am not good in programing, i am no reel expert like you, i try to learn but it'sreally complicate , some people say so many different thing and way to do them ,its hard to follow all the different forum to properly setup a good hackintosh when you didnt choose the right component.

I know your tutorial is for vanilla kernel only , sorry i dont know if the boot cd i use is vanilla or not , it was the last nawcom boot CD, hope its not a problem, then I follow your step by step guide

Configuration :

AMD Processeur Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition 3.2 GHz
512 Ko per core L2
6 Mo L3
Samsung 500 giga 7200Trs/min - Interface SATA II
Kingston DDR3 4 Go 1333MHz CL9
2 x Flat screen AOC 22" F22S (F22S) LCD 21.5'' Full HD Port vgA & adaptator DVI
1 Flat screen VGA 15" AOC
XFX ATI HD 5450 1Go GDDR3 - PCI Express 16x - VGA / DP / DVI
XFX ATI HD 5450 1 Go GDDR3- PCI Express 16x - VGA / DP / DVI
Asus M4A87TD EVO - AM3 - Chipset AMD 870 & SB850 -
(This motherboard can take 2 video card & Overclocking activation controle)
4 slots DDR3
PCI Express 16x
PCI Express 4x
SATA 6 Gb/s - Firewire - USB 2.0 - USB 3.0
Gigabit LAN
ATX 520 watts
Audio HD 7.1

so i start with retail 10.6 then update 10.6.4 , i toke out the ATI5000 & X3000 as you say in the GFX update after 10.6.4 .

- during the reboot from the update 10.6.4 i had some problem with the ATY INIT( the system show that he couldnt load some part of it)not just a simple writing like loading failed , more a list of the different port or component.

- When i update to the 10.6.6 , it block at the end of the instal , so i instal the combo from another boot drive 10.6.7,

When i boot now i got a white page with some glitch on it or maybe video noise, i dont know how to describe it, i can send you picture if you like.

I like to have the selection of screen & size so i didnt put the resolution in the .plist.

Do you think that why i can't have the 3 screen working with your tutorial or the other i try ?

I try many instal before with similar technique (Lion Kext or 10.6.7, different all in one for 5450) but the best result were no 100 % full compatibility :

- 2 HD 5450 full 6 screen but no QE CI ( no chess & impossible to instal some program)

- 1 HDMI with QECI & translucide bar, and the VGA port work after 28 minute but only in Mirror & vga display is not recognize in the prefpanel video output screen.

I am getting nowhere , it's been 4 week or maybe more , i am getting crazy lol

On one of your post, you said that we get 100% full compatibility if we instal Lion , is that real ?

I am doing Video editing & audio production , do you think it worth it to update my config to Lion or better to instal it 10.6.7 or 10.6.6 (planing of upgrading the RAM to 16 giga total )

If 10.6.7 or 10.6.6 for 100% compatibility, do you know what can i do to get full support like you guys? even if the translucide bar dont work ?

If you need info or anything please let me know i will write down for you.

PS : when i was doing the different test with the 2 video card i also seen the problem of having twice device in slot 1 instead of 1&2 .(it was not your tutorial i did your with 1 card to be sure before plug the other)

Hope you can help me , dont know if you ever heard of instalation problem like the one i had i look arround and didnt find solution, (i know i should have look for the right equipment before buying this component, but now i am broke, its to late so i got no choice) .

Do you got any idears of what i can do ?

Thanks

Simon.

#134
Le Libertin

Le Libertin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Dear white apple sorry for my last post , apparently after reading some other topic , nawcom Mod cd is not vanilla kernel because vanilla kernel can't work on AMD apparently, could you give me some advise please ?

Thanks

#135
terranova2142

terranova2142

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deutsch
Sorry I am not programming or professional,I am student,what I did,this is "luck".I can say with you install Lion,lion will help your card work best.but i throught you can use legacy kernel if you "luck"

#136
zetangas

zetangas

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

This is much simpler than you think. I spent 3 days experimenting everything in this post to no success, until I accidentally stumbled upon this.
Please read the attached guide inside the ZIP file.
I hope it will be clear in the end.


Thank you tdran!! It was as simple as you say :P

#137
Le Libertin

Le Libertin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Sorry I am not programming or professional,I am student,what I did,this is "luck".I can say with you install Lion,lion will help your card work best.but i throught you can use legacy kernel if you "luck"


Man for a student you rock :-) i wish i had your knowledge , i understood that for the kernel legacy n Lion isnt working actually so i will wait i think or by anothercard in 1 month when i got a little cash coming in ;-)

the way i though was just changing the port name in the ROM or the ATY init or the DSDT , but i dont know how to do it properly , if i can do that i think we can have full QECI on AMD with multiple card ;-)

I have send a message to another god of hackintosh but he isnt answering yet :-)

Thanks for your help bro , sorry i put it in the wrong section because its not intel, have a nice days , hope to see you arround on the website :-)

Take care

Peace

Simon

#138
chakky

chakky

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Thailand
Finally get it to work! Thanks a lot guys! Especially 'white_apple_x86' and 'tdtran1025' ;)

I used tdtran1025's method and make little change in Chameleon by checking the Graphics Enabler option.

Now my rig's running in dual view mode on VGA and DVI ports with QE/CI enabled (currently DVI+HDMI; works with all ports)

Test result:
Chess...work!
Screen Saver...work (kinda slow)
Front Row....black screen :D
Screen Capture (cmd+shift+3/4)...not work (dual view problem?)
Grab...the captured picture is plain white! (dual view?)

(I'll working on screen capture later, it's 4:00 in the morning here. so sleepy, but very exited to finally make it work ;))


*[update: tried HDMI today and it worked with no problem (HD sound not tested)]


My Hackintosh specs:
AMD Athlon II X4 635 2.9GHz
ASUS M4A88T-M mobo [with integrated HD 4250: not tested]
4 GB RAM
ATi Radeon HD 5450 1 GB VRAM

#139
Le Libertin

Le Libertin

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
You really get all the output working even VGA ? and the translucide bar ?
Did you try 10.6.7 ?

#140
terranova2142

terranova2142

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Deutsch

When i boot now i got a white page with some glitch on it or maybe video noise, i dont know how to describe it, i can send you picture if you like.


Send me the picture.

Do you think that why i can't have the 3 screen working with your tutorial or the other i try ?

Ati 5450 on 10.6 can't run 3 monitor,only Lion

I try many instal before with similar technique (Lion Kext or 10.6.7, different all in one for 5450) but the best result were no 100 % full compatibility :

I think Lion kext not compatible with kernel SL

On one of your post, you said that we get 100% full compatibility if we instal Lion , is that real ?

Right,with Ati 5000 injector in E/E

Wait for me,I will create the topic ATI 5450 For Lion





2 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy