Jump to content

What is QE and CI?


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1
li21

li21

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Hi all

Ive ben trying to work out what QE and CI are?

Can't find any info in th glosary of FAQ.

Can anyone tell me what these terms mean and why they are important?

#2
DiaboliK

DiaboliK

    DiaboliK <- Capital K!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hollyweird, CA
QE = Quartz Extreme -> Info - http://www.apple.com.../quartzextreme/
CI = Core Image -> Info. - http://www.apple.com...ures/coreimage/

also another you'll run into is Q2DE = Quartz 2D extreme

#3
li21

li21

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
thanks for that.

So if QE and CI dont work on PCs with osx installed, would the whole mac experience be severly hampered?

Eg that cool minimize effect where the window looks like its sucked down

#4
xandiztxu

xandiztxu

    The anti-cancer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 228 posts
Yes it will work, but forget games and movies, is terrible...

Even Genesis emulator worked slow on big images, and flash quality is terrible

#5
li21

li21

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
OMG... poor quality movies? and flash movies? :P
I guess that dedeats the purpose of installing it in the first place?

How bad quality is it?

#6
cchance

cchance

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
wait a second since when does QE and CI not work on pc? I thought it was only if you didnt have SSE3...that it wouldnt work

#7
aqualeviathan

aqualeviathan

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 201 posts
Just clearing up a couple things.

1. The minimize effect will still work without QE/CI.
2. Flash movies should be fine if you update flash to the newest version
3. Games won't really work, but movies should be decent with the correct build of VLC or MPlayer (can be found here by searching).
4. QE/CI have basically nothing to do with SSE3 and everything to do with your video card. Currently, Nvidia cards and a few ATI aren't supported, though the recent Mac Pro release should add some Nvidia support. Check the Wiki to see if your card is supported.

I recommend installling even if you don't have QE/CI, since you will find OSX is plenty usable even without them.

#8
li21

li21

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Just clearing up a couple things.

1. The minimize effect will still work without QE/CI.
2. Flash movies should be fine if you update flash to the newest version
3. Games won't really work, but movies should be decent with the correct build of VLC or MPlayer (can be found here by searching).
4. QE/CI have basically nothing to do with SSE3 and everything to do with your video card. Currently, Nvidia cards and a few ATI aren't supported, though the recent Mac Pro release should add some Nvidia support. Check the Wiki to see if your card is supported.

I recommend installling even if you don't have QE/CI, since you will find OSX is plenty usable even without them.


thanks for clearing that up:)

#9
Overdriven

Overdriven

    Formerly Neospy; 2005 was fun.

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

movies, is terrible..


BS. I ran the Cars 1080p trailer on my Hackintosh that lacks QE/CI (NV 6600GT - Vesa 3.0) and it ran great.

#10
loonymonkey

loonymonkey

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
How can I test to see if QE/CI is working?

#11
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,615 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
Run System Profiler and click on Graphics/Displays

click to enlarge:
Posted Image

#12
shurcooL`

shurcooL`

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
macgirl, how come when I click on your attached image, I get this error?

#13
Popple2000

Popple2000

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

macgirl, how come when I click on your attached image, I get this error?


I am currently having the same issue

#14
diggi

diggi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
me too

#15
onisajo

onisajo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

me too


+1

#16
turtleraj

turtleraj

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
The file is probably missing.

Does the same apply to newer versions of OSX?

Will no QE/CI drastically affect the experience in, say 10.6, or will flash, movies, and the minimizing effect still work, just no games?

#17
samyg

samyg

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I dunno abt dat.. but i guess i want a fully working hackintosh.. so.. can sum1 tell me if the Intel HD graphics is supported, or there are kexts 4 it for enabling QE/CI?
i plan to install on a toshiba satellite c650-i5011..

#18
WannaDellMac

WannaDellMac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Should say something like this in system profile under Graphics/Display:

iMac:
Resolution: 1440 x 900
Depth: 32-Bit Color
Core Image: Hardware Accelerated
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Supported
Built-In: Yes

Cheers

#19
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
Yes, that's what MacGirl's image shows, in a post from 2007. The screenshot is from OS X Tiger (blue Apple, old style Dock).

System Profiler does not show that information on Snow Leopard, whether you have QE/CI working or not.

If the Finder menu-bar is transparent, if a water ripple effect appears when you add a desktop widget and if you can zoom in/out on the desktop by holding ctrl while moving the mouse wheel then you have QE/CI.

Someone asked earlier about Intel HD and hardware accelerated graphics. If you want specific information you need to be more specific, there are various models, some work, some don't.

All of you could also consider using the forum search or google and quickly find this information for yourselves instead of digging up threads from 2006 with outdated and obsolete information that evidently only serves to make you more confused.

Snow Leopard is barely usable without hardware accelerated graphics. Many apps will not work, or will show a blank space in the places where they use hardware acceleration to draw something.

#20
dothacker

dothacker

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 813 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Garland, TX

macgirl, how come when I click on your attached image, I get this error?


Way to revive a 3 year old post :P





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy