HFS+ partition error

slusher

12 posts in this topic

Hello, I installed osx on my intel based machine, and it has all of the required components. Upon booting, i get an error that says HFS+ partition error. I dont know how to resolve this. my version is 10.4.6, and i'm pretty new to this. does anyone know what to do?

• 2 weeks later...

Alright, like the other dude said. make sure it is set to PRIMARY PARTITION, and make sure the partition is SET TO ACTIVE. You can do all this with a utility called "SPFDISK."

What I did was I downloaded the UBCD iso file

http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

You will be impressed.

UBCD is a large collection of pc utilities, including SPFDISK

and give it to your friends because it is freeware.

After you set your partition as ACTIVE in ubcd restart your computer and is should Boot up in Mac Os 10.4.6

If it comes up with weird graphics or wont show graphics do this:

1. Startup computer while holding down shift

2. Remove the kext files that corespond to your graphics divice, (Delete the file, but make a backup of the kext files.)

3. Repair Disk Permissions in Disk Utility

4. Restart.

yea mind you SPFDISK is a MBR virus once its written you cant get that {censored} off. you need to do DOD drive cleansing before you can install another os or that lousy crappy boot manager appears. if you use the boot manager youll be sorrrrrrrry lol

Update.............

my issue is (see attached)

post-52144-1156321905_thumb.jpg

• 1 month later...

I don't think it's a virus.

He was being angrily sarcastic I think... spfdisk is in beta stage, with no official english support/help/notes, etc, but some use it and are very happy with it. osx86tester probably encountered some annoyance and ventilated his anger.

I've never used it and can't comment on wheter it's good or not. Might consider it seriously when the author will be serious about user support (info, forums, notes, etc).