Jump to content

ASUS Eee PC 1015PEM-MU17


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1
drprimo

drprimo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
In my netbook search, I had almost decided on an Asus 1005HAB, but with the recent release of the 1015PEM with N550 dual core atom, I am now undecided. From reading the forum, the 1005 would not be too hard to get OSX running on, where the 1015 seems mostly uncharted and difficult territory.

Does anyone have any experience with this particular model? The Intel GMA 3150 graphics seem to be the first stumbling block, but it looks as if there is recent progress thanks to Meklort. I do not know what wireless card or bluetooth it uses. Does anyone know that can provide that info?

This netbook will see most use by my girlfriend, a somewhat recent convert thanks to my MBP. I would prefer the dual core for multitasking since she will be doing a lot of internet browsing as well as writing school papers/powerpoints and having PDF's open.

I would like to post this in the ASUS sub-forum, but stuck here for now!

#2
rsibaja

rsibaja

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi! I have the same model, do you have any good news about it? :)
if not maybe we can work together to install OSX in our netbooks.

maybe this can help http://code.google.c...book-installer/

#3
DavidJWL

DavidJWL

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
I just purchased the same netbook on Amazon. Any progress so far? Maybe we should concentrate all 1015pem users in one thread so we can work together in finding a way around it.

#4
dizzuncan

dizzuncan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
I'm receiving my 1015pem tomorrow, and plan on trying to Hackintosh it (and triple-boot) it pretty soon. I probably won't start until after next week (I'm doing compressed classes, and next week is finals week), but I plan on doing it the same way I did it to my 1005ha.



http://www.mediafire.com/?irjiwmnw5hz

The YouTube vid has the guide on how I did it, and the mediafire link contains a .zip with a bunch of kext files I used for the 1005ha. I have NO idea if they'll work on the 1015pem or not, but I gotta start somewhere, and I know nothing about kext files other than how to install them.

#5
DavidJWL

DavidJWL

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
I think there are some significant difference but good luck! waiting for your good news:)


I'm receiving my 1015pem tomorrow, and plan on trying to Hackintosh it (and triple-boot) it pretty soon. I probably won't start until after next week (I'm doing compressed classes, and next week is finals week), but I plan on doing it the same way I did it to my 1005ha.



http://www.mediafire.com/?irjiwmnw5hz

The YouTube vid has the guide on how I did it, and the mediafire link contains a .zip with a bunch of kext files I used for the 1005ha. I have NO idea if they'll work on the 1015pem or not, but I gotta start somewhere, and I know nothing about kext files other than how to install them.



#6
dizzuncan

dizzuncan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Okay, I have tried several times, but I can't seem to get iDeneb 1.3 to boot (once installed) on the machine. I'm currently downloading iDeneb 1.4 and iAtkos s3 v2. I have no experience with iAtkos though. Are there any other osx86 builds worth downloading and giving a shot? Has anyone here successfully gotten Snow Leopard (or leopard, even) to boot on this thing? There's a guy over at the eeeuser forums who claims that he has 10.6.3 installed and booting, but he's having several hardware issues. If I knew how how he got it booted, I would be golden, but he's not replying to me.

This is the thread: http://forum.eeeuser...ic.php?id=91617

#7
dizzuncan

dizzuncan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
I have tried installing iAtkos s3 v2 both on the internal hard drive, and an external hard drive. For both installs, I was able to get a bootloader up and running, but it wouldn't load the OS, I just got stuck on the apple logo, with the loading loop never appearing. According to the guy I'm in contact with from the eeeuser forums, he ran into that same issue, and that changing the bootloader helped. I'm just gonna try installing it with different bootloaders (there are about 5 or 6 available on the iAtkos DVD) until I get it to work.

If you're going to install iAtkos, make sure that you select the Atom kernel from the modified kernels drop-down, after pressing "customize" before pressing "install".

#8
Princess_Bubblegum

Princess_Bubblegum

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Have you tried using the Meklort's Netbook Installer method yet? I had decent success on my 1018p so far using that..

#9
dizzuncan

dizzuncan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Have you tried using the Meklort's Netbook Installer method yet? I had decent success on my 1018p so far using that..


No, I have not. I have tried iAtkos s3 v2, iDeneb 1.3, iDeneb 1.4, and an OG vanilla, and none of them have worked. With all but the OG, I was able to install, but it boots up to the bootloader, followed by an apple logo with NO loading loop... I'll start looking into Meklort right now. How did you go about doing it?

Thanks so much.

#10
N00b_un_2

N00b_un_2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
it took me a while to figure out how to get the computer to boot from the hard drive after installing. It's actually very simple. just type
arch=i386
at boot selection. Boots up just fine ;)

#11
dizzuncan

dizzuncan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
I have a bootable and usable 10.6.3 using iAtkos S3 V2

Pre-install options I selected:
Under Bootloader: Chameleon 2 rc5
Under Bootloader Options: 32-bit boot
Under Patches>Modified Kernels: Atom Kernel
Under Drivers>Main Hardware>PS/2: Apple PS/2

To fix resolution, (from this thread)

Go here

download the file chameleon_nbi084a2.zip
Make sure you're able to see hidden files (I use the Secrets Prefpane)
Go to your root directory, and rename the file "boot" to "boot-old"
Unzip the file you downloaded and copy to your root directory
Open terminal
sudo -s
type in your password
chown -R 0:0 /boot
Reboot, and you should have 1024x600 resolution.

Audio works, but you gotta go into VOODOOHDA prefpane, and turn down input gain, to get rid of the white noise. Turn PCM all the way up to increase max volume.

Hope this helps.

#12
mhog18

mhog18

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I used Hazard 10.6.6i and worked with Melkorts boot file...

Wifi not working but everything else yes...

I even got triple boot!!! Ubuntu Netbook 10.10/Mac OS X/Windows 7 Ultimate

#13
dizzuncan

dizzuncan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

I used Hazard 10.6.6i and worked with Melkorts boot file...

Wifi not working but everything else yes...

I even got triple boot!!! Ubuntu Netbook 10.10/Mac OS X/Windows 7 Ultimate


Care to post a quick guide on how you did triple boot? I was trying for a while, but eventually gave up... Thanks so much.

EDIT: Nvm, I got triple boot working.

Is your battery meter working in OSX?

#14
shaMMbler

shaMMbler

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Has anyone been able to launch wifi on 1015pem?

#15
Arsic

Arsic

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
The wireless card on the 1015PEM-SC17 from Staples (meaning they're only sold there, at least at the time) has a rt3090 chipset, but should work with rt2860 drivers because they're pretty much the same (except not running at 802.11n speeds?). Heard of some models using a Broadcom, so I'm not sure about the 1015PEM-MU17 and 1015PEM-PU17 SKUs.

Here is the output of the lspci and lsusb commands from my Linux install.
$ lspci
 00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation N10 Family DMI Bridge (rev 02)
 00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
 00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
 00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
 00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
 00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
 00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
 00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
 00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
 00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
 00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
 00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
 00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
 00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation NM10 Family LPC Controller (rev 02)
 00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH7 Family SATA AHCI Controller (rev 02)
 01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications AR8132 Fast Ethernet (rev c0)
 02:00.0 Network controller: RaLink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
 $ lsusb
 Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
 Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
 Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
 Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
 Bus 001 Device 002: ID 13d3:5702 IMC Networks 
 Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub


#16
78336

78336

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

The wireless card on the 1015PEM-SC17 from Staples (meaning they're only sold there, at least at the time) has a rt3090 chipset, but should work with rt2860 drivers because they're pretty much the same (except not running at 802.11n speeds?). Heard of some models using a Broadcom, so I'm not sure about the 1015PEM-MU17 and 1015PEM-PU17 SKUs.

Here is the output of the lspci and lsusb commands from my Linux install.

$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation N10 Family DMI Bridge (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH 7 Family USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation NM10 Family LPC Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation N10/ICH7 Family SATA AHCI Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications AR8132 Fast Ethernet (rev c0)
02:00.0 Network controller: RaLink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe
$ lsusb
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 13d3:5702 IMC Networks 
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub


I have the same problem with my ASUS 1015PD with OSX 10.6.7

I have not found any kext for the RT3090

I have problems also with the Graphic card, only in 800x600 with no loaded kext

#17
cedric3d

cedric3d

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi...

I just get a 1015pem.

I have some issues, the biggest one is the bmc4313 wireless who is not working. Have you any idea? Your install of osx as ok?

Thanks a lot.

I'm receiving my 1015pem tomorrow, and plan on trying to Hackintosh it (and triple-boot) it pretty soon. I probably won't start until after next week (I'm doing compressed classes, and next week is finals week), but I plan on doing it the same way I did it to my 1005ha.



http://www.mediafire.com/?irjiwmnw5hz

The YouTube vid has the guide on how I did it, and the mediafire link contains a .zip with a bunch of kext files I used for the 1005ha. I have NO idea if they'll work on the 1015pem or not, but I gotta start somewhere, and I know nothing about kext files other than how to install them.







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy