Jump to content

Simple Broadcom Wirless Tutorial


  • Please log in to reply
146 replies to this topic

#41
Guest: AaloPalto_*

Guest: AaloPalto_*
  • Guests

dell 1390 (broadcom 4311)


Can you please post then ven_id & dev_id of that device?

#42
uberphotos

uberphotos

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
I currently do not have another os installed and unable to determine the vendor and device id for certain...and currently have it disabled in bios so I can't use system profiler because it doesn't know it is there. However, I believe the ID's are: Ven: 14e4 and dev:4311, but am unable to know for sure...I have a linux ubuntu disk with me, could I use that to figure them out, if so how? I suppose I could also install XP and pull up the info...

#43
uberphotos

uberphotos

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
I can confirm that the ven ID is 14e4 and dev id is 4311 via ubuntu linix boot.

#44
Guest: AaloPalto_*

Guest: AaloPalto_*
  • Guests

I can confirm that the ven ID is 14e4 and dev id is 4311 via ubuntu linix boot.


Hrmm, i dont think you will have an chance to get that card to work. Like i dont have with mine :/

#45
uberphotos

uberphotos

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Well this is sure strange...other don't have a problem with a card, it is recognized with vista and xp...my machine must be cursed!!!

#46
LoveableGeek

LoveableGeek

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Well this is sure strange...other don't have a problem with a card, it is recognized with vista and xp...my machine must be cursed!!!

Ha! I feel like all us 4311 owners are cursed :censored2:
I think certain versions of this card are crippled, particularly the ones in Dell and HP/Compaq notebooks.
I also have wireless in WinXP/Vista, but the card won't work in OS X or in Ubuntu with ndiswrapper.
If anyone has info on getting Broadcom 4311 cards to work, they would be our savior. I mean come on, the file
we're editing is NAMED for the Broadcom 4311 for crying out loud!

#47
Celticmoon

Celticmoon

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
The 4311 issue on the C300 might involve more than just the kext for the card. The kext in 10.4.8 has the necessary line, but one other thing I have found is that the card does not show up at all under System Profiler as even being in the machine. My guess is that there is a problem with the mini-PCI interface itself not being recognized, and the card being downstream, it never even gets seen.

#48
uberphotos

uberphotos

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Okay...so I've got some additional information that others may be able to help with to come up with a possible solution. I believe the card is not getting loaded on startup...I don't think it gets "seen". Upon boot I complete the following while in terminal:
"ioreg -l | grep pci14e4" (I'm not sure what this command means, I saw it in another post)
I received the following:
"name" = "pci14e4,4311"
"IOName" = "pci14e4,4311"
"compatible" = <"pci1028,7","pci14e4,4311","pciclass,028000$


I type the following command "kextstat | grep Brcm" in terminal and recieve no information, however if I then manually kextload the AppleAirPortBrcm4311.kext I receive the following output after entering the "kextstat | grep Brcm" command:
I receive the following:
85 0 0x3c358000 0x68000 0x67000 com.apple.driver.AppleAirPortBrcm4311 (100.9) <42 16 11 2>
Now after all this, I still can't get wireless to work...is there a way to force the appleairportbrcm4311.kext to lead at startup? I think if I can do this then I might have a chance...any thoughts/ideas?

#49
sofresh

sofresh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
Can someone help me, before i'm going crazy?

I'm using an Asus Laptop, with broadcom integrated wireless, on 10.4.8 AMD TEST ISO,PPF1.

So i follow the howto:
"Use this guide except edit this file:
sudo nano /System/Library/Extensions/IO80211Family.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleAirPortBrcm4311.kext/Contents/Info.plist"

=> OK, so i just have to do that:
"Setting Permissions:
sudo chown -R root:wheel /System/Library/Extensions
kextcache -k /System/Library/Extensions"

Thats ok, but now:
"edit the interface config in order to use the airport utility instead of istumbler. swap the en0 with en1 for that device."

But in my file, there is no "en0" or "en1"! Just "fw0" firewire! :)

So please InsanelyMac, pimp my laptop! :)

#50
DiaboliK

DiaboliK

    DiaboliK <- Capital K!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hollyweird, CA
@sofresh are you looking at NetworkInterfaces.plist in /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/ ?

#51
sofresh

sofresh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
@Diabolik: Yes! Exactly like the "how to"

EDIT: now its ok, i can see and swap en0 with en1!
I save (with ^O), exit (with ^X), and reboot... and when i look at the file, en0 is back! :P

Watsup?! Did i miss something?

Edited by sofresh, 10 February 2007 - 03:02 PM.


#52
DiaboliK

DiaboliK

    DiaboliK <- Capital K!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hollyweird, CA
dont forget to change <integer>0</integer> to <integer>1</integer>

*editied to be correct better layout on post below.

Edited by DiaboliK, 11 February 2007 - 01:24 AM.


#53
sofresh

sofresh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
Sorry but i dont understand you :unsure:

Thats the part of the file:
[codebox]<dict>
<key>BSD Name</key>
<string>en0</string>
<key>IOBuiltin</key>
<false/>
<key>IOInterfaceType</key>
<integer>6</integer>
<key>IOInterfaceUnit</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>IOLocation</key>
<string></string>
<key>IOMACAddress</key>
<data>
ABcxvyBl
</data>
<key>IOPathMatch</key>
<string>IOService:/AppleACPIPlatformExpert/PCI0@180000/AppleACPIPCI/P0P1@10/IOPCI2PCIBridge/WLAN@3/AirPort_Brcm43xx/IO80211Interface</string>
</dict>[/codebox]

... so i dont find "<key>integer</key> <string>0</string>" :unsure:

#54
DiaboliK

DiaboliK

    DiaboliK <- Capital K!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,336 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hollyweird, CA
im sorry: slipped my mind while typing: here it is corectly:
<key>IOInterfaceUnit</key>
<integer>0</integer>
to
<key>IOInterfaceUnit</key>
<integer>1</integer>


#55
sofresh

sofresh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
Wooww thx so much! :unsure:
My wifi is now perfectly working, thx to you!
My hackintosh is growing up!

Let's take a look for my soundcard, network card... and thats it, would be perfect!!

#56
Dazzy

Dazzy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Ive tried everything, i still cant get it to work :thumbsup_anim:

i know it should work because other people have the same and it works for them :(

I have an ASUS card with a 4318 chip. I have tried everything, can someone help me? :(

Edited by Dazzy, 12 February 2007 - 12:55 AM.


#57
cloudy

cloudy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
I have a Compaq C300 series and OSX works fine on it except wifi.
Today I googled and found something strange. The Mac address of wifi card on C300 is 00:14:a5:f0:e2:e3, and Google tells me that the manufacturer of the card concerned is Gemtek Technology Co., Ltd in Taiwan. Go to http://standards.iee...oui/index.shtml and find it by yourself if you like. And according to another URL http://anonsvn.wires...ark/trunk/manuf , mac address of Broadcom card starts from 00:05:B5(or 00:0A:F7 or 00:10:18 ?---there are 3 companies with same name on the site).
I am not sure what this means. Do you think this as the reason we cannot use our card? The card on Compaq is not genuine Broadcom one?

Edited by cloudy, 12 February 2007 - 05:28 AM.


#58
Glen H

Glen H

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Cloudy: That just means that the card is manufactured by Gemtek using the Broadcom chipset. It shouldn't make a difference, as the card should be detected by its PCI ID, not its MAC address.


I have a Compaq C300 family machine and have the same problem with the Broadcom wireless module not being recognized. It does show up in ioreg; here is the entry:

[codebox] | | | +-o PXS3@0
| | | {
| | | "AAPL,slot-name" = <"PCI">
| | | "IODeviceMemory" = (({"address"=18446744072904245248,"length"=16384}))
| | | "device-id" = <11430000>
| | | "IOChildIndex" = 1
| | | "name" = "pci14e4,4311"
| | | "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/RP03@1c0002/PXS3@0"
| | | "IOName" = "pci14e4,4311"
| | | "vendor-id" =
| | | "revision-id" = <01000000>
| | | "subsystem-vendor-id" = <3c100000>
| | | "IOInterruptControllers" = ("io-apic-0")
| | | "Power Management private data" = "{ this object = 019b3980, interested driver = 019b3980, driverDesire = 0, deviceDesire = 0, ourDesiredPowerState = 0, previousRequest = 0 }"
| | | "Power Management protected data" = "{ theNumberOfPowerStates = 3, version 1, power state 0 = { capabilityFlags 00000000, outputPowerCharacter 00000000, inputPowerRequirement 00000000, staticPower 0, unbudgetedPower 0, powerToAttain 0, timeToAttain 0, settleUpTime 0, timeToLower 0, settleDownTime 0, powerDomainBudget 0 }, power state 1 = { capabilityFlags 00000000, outputPowerCharacter 00000400, inputPowerRequirement 00000400, staticPower 0, unbudgetedPower 0, powerToAttain 0, timeToAttain 0, settleUpTime 0, timeToLower 0, settleDownTime 0, powerDomainBudget 0 }, power state 2 = { capabilityFlags 00000000, outputPowerCharacter 00000002, inputPowerRequirement 00000002, staticPower 0, unbudgetedPower 0, powerToAttain 0, timeToAttain 0, settleUpTime 0, timeToLower 0, settleDownTime 0, powerDomainBudget 0 }, aggressiveness = 0, myCurrentState = 0, parentsCurrentPowerFlags = 00000000, maxCapability = 0 }"
| | | "acpi-reg" = <00000000>
| | | "IOPCIExpressLinkStatus" = 4113
| | | "class-code" = <00800200>
| | | "compatible" = <"pci103c,1363","pci14e4,4311","pciclass,028000">
| | | "subsystem-id" = <63130000>
| | | "assigned-addresses" = <1000060200000000000000d00000000000400000>
| | | "reg" = <00000600>
| | | "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<1200000007000000>)
| | | }
| | |
[/codebox]

Can anyone provide insight on why the Broadcom kext doesn't find this card?

#59
Just Some Dude

Just Some Dude

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
OK, check it out. I've got an HP Pavilion ZE4910us laptop that has been foiling me off and on for a few days with the wireless. The first couple of times I installed, it wouldn't detect as a device at all, then I unexpectedly had it work without me doing anything at all, but it was crashing left and right, so I needed to reinstall. I expected that something happened with my hardware (it's not in the best of shape) that would let it work more or less regardless of the situation, since I hadn't done anything to make it work that time. So I erased the partition and reinstalled, but no more wireless. Strange, I thought.

I had previously looked through the 'ioreg' output to see if my broadcom device was in there, and it wasn't, and even though the HP ZE4910us uses the 14e4:4320 (which is what lspci in Knoppix told me) device, which is in the default 10.4.8 Info.plist file, it wasn't detecting. I finally decided to get as much output fromioregasIcould(ioreg-l),andporeoverittoseeifIcouldfindwhatIwaslookingfor.

[codebox] | | | +-o CBUB@5 <class IOPCIDevice, registered, matched, active, busy$
| | | | {
| | | | "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<0b00000007000000>)
| | | | "device-id" = <50ac0000>
| | | | "IOChildIndex" = 2
| | | | "name" = "pci104c,ac50"
| | | | "#size-cells" = <02000000>
| | | | "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/PCIB@1e0000/CBUB@500$
| | | | "IOName" = "pci104c,ac50"
| | | | "vendor-id" = <4c100000>
| | | | "revision-id" = <02000000>
| | | | "IOPCIHotPlug" = Yes
| | | | "IOPCIResourced" = Yes
| | | | "Power Management private data" = "{ this object = 02336a80$
| | | | "IOInterruptControllers" = ("8259-pic")
| | | | "Power Management protected data" = "{ theNumberOfPowerStat$
| | | | "acpi-reg" = <00280000>
| | | | "class-code" = <00070600>
| | | | "compatible" = <"pci104c,ac50","pciclass,060700">
| | | | "#address-cells" = <03000000>
| | | | "reg" = <00280200000000000000000000000000000000001028020200$
| | | | "ranges" = <00000082000000000000000000000082000000000000000$
| | | | }
| | | |
| | | +-o MINI@6 <class IOPCIDevice, registered, matched, active, busy$
| | | | {
| | | | "IODeviceMemory" = (({"address"=18446744073174777856,"lengt$
| | | | "device-id" = <" C">
| | | | "IOChildIndex" = 3
| | | | "name" = "pci14e4,4320"
| | | | "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/PCIB@1e0000/MINI@600$
| | | | "IOName" = "pci14e4,4320"
| | | | "vendor-id" = <e4140000>
| | | | "revision-id" = <03000000>
| | | | "IOPCIResourced" = Yes
| | | | "subsystem-vendor-id" = <3c100000>
| | | | "Power Management private data" = "{ this object = 02336b00$
| | | | "IOInterruptControllers" = ("8259-pic")
| | | | "Power Management protected data" = "{ theNumberOfPowerStat$
| | | | "acpi-reg" = <00300000>
| | | | "class-code" = <00800200>
| | | | "compatible" = <"pci103c,12f8","pci14e4,4320","pciclass,028$
| | | | "assigned-addresses" = <1030028200000000000020e000000000002$
| | | | "subsystem-id" = <f8120000>
| | | | "reg" = <00300200000000000000000000000000000000001030020200$
| | | | "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<0b00000007000000>)
| | | | }
| | | |
| | | +-o AirPort_Brcm43xx <class AirPort_Brcm43xx, registered, matc$
| | | | {
| | | | "IOActiveMedium" = "00000080"
| | | | "IOFeatures" = 0
| | | | "IOMediumDictionary" = {"00000080"={"Type"=128,"Speed"=11$
| | | | "IOMatchCategory" = "IODefaultMatchCategory"
| | | | "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.apple.driver.AirPortBrcm43xx"
| | | | "IOMinPacketSize" = 64
| | | | "IOPacketFilters" = {"IOEthernetWakeOnLANFilterGroup"=0,"$
| | | | "IOFirmwareVersion" = "4.80.46.0"
| | | | "IONameMatched" = "pci103c,12f8"
| | | | "IOVendor" = "Apple"
| | | | "IOModel" = "Wireless Network Adapter (802.11g)"
| | | | "IOLinkStatus" = 3
| | | | "APChipRev" = 3
| | | | "APRoamThresh" = 18446744073709551525
| | | | "IOProbeScore" = 0
| | | | "IOGeneralInterest" = "IOCommand is not serializable"
| | | | "IOMaxPacketSize" = 1518
| | | | "IOClass" = "AirPort_Brcm43xx"
| | | | "IOProviderClass" = "IOPCIDevice"
| | | | "Power Management private data" = "{ this object = 020d70$
| | | | "Power Management protected data" = "{ theNumberOfPowerSt$
| | | | "IOSelectedMedium" = "00000080"
| | | | "IOMACAddress" = <00904b9623f4>
| | | | "APCurrentSSID" = "justsomedude"
| | | | "APCurrentChannel" = 11
| | | | "IOLinkSpeed" = 54000000
| | | | "IOLocale" = "USA"
| | | | "APFeatures" = 1
| | | | "IONameMatch" = ("pci14e4,4328","pci14e4,4329","pci14e4,4$
| | | | }
| | | |
| | | +-o IO80211Interface <class IO80211Interface, registered, ma$
| | | | | {
| | | | | "IONetworkData" = {"IONetworkStatsKey"={"Size"=20,"Acce$
| | | | | "IOInterfaceState" = 3
| | | | | "IOInterfaceNamePrefix" = "en"
| | | | | "IOInterfaceUnit" = 1
| | | | | "IOActivePacketFilters" = {"IOEthernetWakeOnLANFilterGr$
| | | | | "IOLocation" = ""
| | | | | "IOInterfaceType" = 6
| | | | | "IOInterfaceFlags" = 34915
| | | | | "IOInterfaceExtraFlags" = 1073742144
| | | | | "IOMulticastAddressList" = <01005e0000fb01005e000001333$
| | | | | "IO80211DriverVersion" = "4.80.46.0"
| | | | | "IO80211Locale" = "FCC"
| | | | | "IO80211CountryCode" = "US"
| | | | | "IOControllerEnabled" = Yes
| | | | | "IO80211SSID" = "justsomedude"
| | | | | "BSD Name" = "en1"
| | | | | "IOBuiltin" = No
| | | | | "IOMediaHeaderLength" = 14
| | | | | "IO80211Channel" = 11
| | | | | "IOMaxTransferUnit" = 1500
| | | | | "IORequiredPacketFilters" = {"IOEthernetWakeOnLANFilter$
| | | | | "IOMediaAddressLength" = 6
| | | | | "IO80211Band" = "2 GHz"
| | | | | "IO80211HardwareVersion" = "vendorid: 0x14e4 deviceid: $
| | | | | "IOPrimaryInterface" = No
| | | | | }
| | | | |
| | | | +-o IONetworkStack <class IONetworkStack, registered, matc$
| | | | | {
| | | | | "IOProbeScore" = 0
| | | | | "IOResourceMatch" = "IOBSD"
| | | | | "IOClass" = "IONetworkStack"
| | | | | "IOProviderClass" = "IOResources"
| | | | | "CFBundleIdentifier" = "com.apple.iokit.IONetworkingF$
| | | | | "IOMatchCategory" = "IONetworkStack"
| | | | | }
| | | | |
| | | | +-o IONetworkStackUserClient <class IONetworkStackUserCl$
| | | | {
| | | | }
| | | |
| | | +-o IO80211LegacyUserClient <class IO80211LegacyUserClient, $
| | | {
| | | }

[/codebox]

It didn'thavetheAirPort_BrcmnodeuntilIrebootedit,whichisthepointthatit
wasdetected.InoticedundermyMINI@6node,thattherewasanentry:

[codebox]
| "compatible" = <"pci103c,12f8","pci14e4,4320","pciclass,028$
[/codebox]

and once I copied that pci103c,12f8 into one of the <string> lines in the Info.plist file for the Broadcom driver under /System/Library/Extensions, ran 'kextcache', and rebooted, it was detected and the airport utility came up on the menu bar. Hooray!

I should note that theonlyreasonthatIcheckedthatpartofthetreeisbecauseIdidn'trecognizethePci104c,ac50devicefromtheCBUB@5entry,andagooglesear
htoldmethatthere'saToshibalaptopwiththatdeviceforawirelessdevice.Sowhatev'.Alittledetectiveworkfinallypaysoff.

#60
cloudy

cloudy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
lucky you, dude.
I tried same thing as you, but no lucks. I dumped out ioreg and found out compatible code of "pci103c,1364", but after pasting it into /IO80211/Cont/Plug/AppleBrcm/Cont/Info and rebooting, nothing happened, unfortunately.
thanks





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy