New Hackintosher, Need Ideas/Help

Bowler4Ever

22 posts in this topic

I built a PC in August last year, and now I am considering doing a triple boot with Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard (got the disk with my MacBook in '08, not sure if that will work or not). It is an AMD-based system, which is why I have questions.

My mobo is a Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 rev 1.0 with an AMD Phenom x4 2.3GHz processor

8GB Patriot Viper DDR2 RAM

PowerColor Radeon HD 4650 1GB

3 HDD (2 SATA 160GB w/ nothing on it, 320GB w/ Windows 7, 1 80GB IDE w/ Ubuntu)

2 DVD drives (1 SATA read/write, 1 IDE reader)

4 sound cards (1 USB-based, 1 on mobo, 1 Sound Blaster Live! (PCI), 1 Encore Electronics (PCI)

I don't really care about all the sound cards, I know the USB one works in OS X, and that's the one I really care about. I'm posting this just to make sure everything will work, and, if not, suggestions on what I should get so I can get a Hackintosh going, as I am very new to this.

Also, people are saying that the iPC is the best Hackintosher, but what others are out there I can use just in case iPC fails for me?

Alright, so I started to do the Hackintosh (using iPC), and I got to a gray screen, and it has been gray with the spinny beach ball for about 20 minutes now. Any ideas on what is going on?

Boot verbose "-v" (without the quotes)

Odds on it will be "still waiting for root"

If so search the forum, has been answered maybe thousands of times.

Reboot and type "-v" without quotes, when the darwin boot options shows up. This will put it in verbose boot, or, instead of showing the grey boot screen it will display the text of everything loading and tell us what the last things that are written when it hangs.

Wow, Dellmantt beat me to the punch. Any of the distro's shouldn't have the "waiting for root device" issues, but you never know. Try iAtkos, thats what I used originally to get OS X installed on my system, then I installed Snow Leopard with a retail disc cause I wanted to be legit...