14 posts in this topic

I have a computer with the specs:

ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3

AMD II Phenom X6 1055T (2.8Ghz)

G.Skill 2X2 Gb RAM @ 1600

MSI HD 5770 Hawk

Intel VX-25 SSD

640GB WD HDD

So I did my research, and all the hardware is compatible. My question is, how do I put it all together. Am I supposed to install 10.5.x first, and then just upgrade to snow leopard? Or do I just plop in a copy of iAtkos s3 v2, and pray that it works?

I'm also confused to how I use the drivers for the 5770. It's compatible, but based on my logic, I'm guessing you install the drivers AFTER installation. But how can that be possible? No drivers = No support = no video. Or am is there something that you're supposed to do that allows a generic video output until the drivers are installed for full support?

Keep in mind that I have never done this before, and so bear with me.

<br />I have a computer with the specs:<br /><br />ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3<br />AMD II Phenom X6 1055T (2.8Ghz)<br />G.Skill 2X2 Gb RAM @ 1600<br />MSI HD 5770 Hawk<br />Intel VX-25 SSD<br />640GB WD HDD<br /><br />So I did my research, and all the hardware is compatible. My question is, how do I put it all together. Am I supposed to install 10.5.x first, and then just upgrade to snow leopard? Or do I just plop in a copy of iAtkos s3 v2, and pray that it works?<br /><br />I'm also confused to how I use the drivers for the 5770. It's compatible, but based on my logic, I'm guessing you install the drivers AFTER installation. But how can that be possible? No drivers = No support = no video. Or am is there something that you're supposed to do that allows a generic video output until the drivers are installed for full support?<br /><br />Keep in mind that I have never done this before, and so bear with me.<br />

You can install the "driver" for 5770 after installation: without "drivers" you can see the desktop at fixed resolution, without hardware acceleration, but see.