Fair warning - stay away from OS X if you do serious stuff

DarkCarnival

5 posts in this topic

Ok. Let me get the formalities out of the way.

This happened to me using a legitimate macbook pro 17" (around 5,1 - basically the first gen 17" alu MBP which supports 8gb ram) running a fully updated copy of OS X snow leopard.

I rarely reboot my system and I guess it's been at least 14 days since I last did so, I don't because in addition to running OS X I have two virtual machines (XP and Linux) on which I do most of my actual work due to various things ranging from preferences to the tools either not functioning or being available on OS X to begin with.

(On that note, I'm studying at a university to become a programmer -- being a developer on OS X sucks a bit)

Anyway, tonight I attempted a reboot to reach my actual bootcamp windows installation only to be greeted by the Apple logo (GRRRRR forgot to hold down the option key, AGAIN!) and then a curious symbol, the international no symbol, as in the symbol you usually see in no smoking zones.

So I had a hop over to Apple's support pages and did the happy keyboard dance to try and kick some sense into the system. I had more fun trying a verbose bootup only to find it looping a "still waiting for root device" error.

I've played around a little with an eSata external disc these past days and since OS X boots based on GUUID's I'm thinking that *might* be what confused my dear little retarded OS X installation, but truly I am at a loss as to what it is.

I do know that had I the space to spare, I could attempt an "Archive and Install" in which case it would move the existing install somewhere else on the disc and install a fresh copy of OS X --- But I don't.