P5Q-E - Installed IOATAFamily kext and now stuck on boot screen!

dspry

5 posts in this topic

Hi!

I have a P5Q-E. I have been running OSX for about 2 months and have recently been trying to get my e-Sata drive recognized. I downloaded a kext from kexts.com called IOATAFamily and installed it with KextHelperb7. I also used KextHelperb7 to (re?)install two kexts in my Extensions folder that were highlighted blue though I can't remember what they were (though one of them was VIAATA). When I restarted I wasn't able to boot. I get to the boot screen and am presented with a white cross on top of the Apple logo. This is the first trouble I've had with OSX beyond the drive not being recognized! I've tried removing the new kexts via Windows - and also replacing the Extensions folder on my system partition with the kexts in my Boot partition (that has Chameleon 2 RC5 on it) to no avail.

I can't figure out how to fix this. Any help would be much appreciated! I want OSX back pls!

Here is an image taken after booting with -v flag. IOAHCIFamily.kext is in all kext folders (Extensions, Backup Extensions and Extensions on the boot partition) and the only USB items plugged in are wireless keyboard reciever, mouse and USB hub (which is empty). These have always been plugged in. This only started happening after using KextHelper (which I've used countless times before) to install the blue kexts and the one new kext.

post-632365-1282964467_thumb.jpg

There's no OS X driver for the Silicon Image e-SATA port (and the on-board orange SATA ports) on the P5Q-E.

There's a SuperVIAATA.kext that works with the internal IDE port.

ICH10R works out of the box though it'll be recognized as "generic". That can be fixed with the AHCI injectors that come with the Chameleon bootloader.

Make sure ICH10R is set to AHCI mode in the BIOS.

You need to put back the kernel extension(s) that you replaced to boot again. You made a backup didn't you?