[Guide] Retail 10.6.4 on Lenovo Y550P

Komano

11 posts in this topic

Okay, first off i am gonna be stating that i am not a programmer, nor developer. I am just someone who is interested in getting a Dual Boot with Windows 7. If you are interested in using OS X as your Main OS, I am sure this guide will help you but you will have to modify certain steps along the way. I reckon i did post this guide here as when you google for OS X 86, this site comes up as first. So maybe people can't find my guide over at another forum. But nonetheless.

-Disclaimer- I am not responsible if you screw up anything on your PC because of my guide.

Now, shall we proceed?

What you need:

Snow Leopard 10.6.3 Retail DVD. ( If you have 10.6 then you will only have to use the 10.6 OSInstall below.)

Patched OSInstall and OSInstall.mpkg from here ( If you have 10.6 download the patched OSInstall here)

Windows 7 Retail DVD.

Gparted Live CD from here

A 8gb Thumbdrive.

A system that already has OS X installed.

The file that i attached to this post.

Step 1: Using the Gparted Live CD, delete all partitions EXCEPT THE OEM PARTITION(Should be around 15gb in size). Now recreate your partitions respectively. I used 50GB for Windows , 100GB for OS X and the rest for NTFS Backup.

Step 2: Install Windows into the NTFS Partition.

Step 3: Using a system that has OS X Installed, Create a disc image out of the retail disc. Once you have the Disc image, it would be .dmg. Restore the Disc Image into the 8GB Thumbdrive. Make sure the Thumbdrive is formatted to the GUID Partition table.

Step 4: Now we are gonna install a bootloader into the 8GB Thumbdrive. I will be using one of the branches of Chameleon RC5. You can find the bootloader files in the zip file you downloaded from this post.

-Mini Tutorial-
1. You should find the bootloader files in Root -> Pre Installation -> i386.

2. Copy the i386 folder to your desktop.

3. Open Terminal and type sudo -s

4. Key in your password.