Jump to content

G5 Front Panel to ATX I/O Cables

G5 ATX cables G5 mod G5 Front Panel g5 modding g5 convertion

  • Please log in to reply
575 replies to this topic

#561
simson0606

simson0606

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

i don't have a motherboard with firewire now but i mabe get one later, dows that matter for the jumper?

also i need the audio jumper

 

would you like to send me a pm for the details?

 

Thanks,

Simon



#562
Altabozz

Altabozz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

The cables are amazing, very good quality and in just 2 weeks they were at home.

 

But when I connected the audio conector for the front panel it works, but not the rear one (it´s a gigabyte Z87mx-d3h mobo with ALC892 driver), It´s does in windows 8, then I know it´s an issue of Os X, but I don´t know how to make both working. I chose all the sound options in preferences, reinstalled drivers with ##### and read a lot about patch the driver...but I have no idea. At the end I unplugged the audio connector because I prefer the rear one for the speakers, but I feel I bit disappointed. If anyone knows how to make it works or have a patched driver which works for that I would be eternally thankfully.



#563
BlackCH

BlackCH

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,617 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BCN

The cables are amazing, very good quality and in just 2 weeks they were at home.

 

But when I connected the audio conector for the front panel it works, but not the rear one (it´s a gigabyte Z87mx-d3h mobo with ALC892 driver), It´s does in windows 8, then I know it´s an issue of Os X, but I don´t know how to make both working. I chose all the sound options in preferences, reinstalled drivers with ##### and read a lot about patch the driver...but I have no idea. At the end I unplugged the audio connector because I prefer the rear one for the speakers, but I feel I bit disappointed. If anyone knows how to make it works or have a patched driver which works for that I would be eternally thankfully.

 

The best (and hardest) way is to patch the driver to enable both outputs: http://www.projectos...p?showtopic=465

 

I assume you are using the audio sense jumper (purple wire on the audio connector). You could try to take that out and see if change something. 

 

PM me if you need further assistance. 



#564
blazer296

blazer296

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi, I bought one of your cables some time ago (Still working perfectly)

Here's my problem:

I am once again using a mobo without firewire... so was looking around for the pdf which was sent to me detailing where the firewire jumper cable needs to be attached, cant seem to find the pdf and the dropbox link has expired   :(

Any help please?


Also, looks like I'll now be needing the audio jumper, any chance of purchasing this separately? cheers



#565
BlackCH

BlackCH

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,617 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BCN

Hi, I bought one of your cables some time ago (Still working perfectly)

Here's my problem:

I am once again using a mobo without firewire... so was looking around for the pdf which was sent to me detailing where the firewire jumper cable needs to be attached, cant seem to find the pdf and the dropbox link has expired   :(

Any help please?


Also, looks like I'll now be needing the audio jumper, any chance of purchasing this separately? cheers

 

I'll send you the link for the new PDF.

Also I can send you a jumper for free if you pay the shipping costs.

Cheers!



#566
Shantonu

Shantonu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:To Know the unknown, To see the unseen....

PM´ed

Black CH, Back 9 months ago I purchased a cable from you. Now I changed the mobotherboard where there is no 1394 or Firiwire connection. How do I can power up my PC with your cable? Please advise me / give me the link your installation pdf.

 

Thanks


PM´ed

Black CH, Back 9 months ago I purchased a cable from you. Now I changed the mobotherboard where there is no 1394 or Firiwire connection. How do I can power up my PC with your cable? Please advise me / give me the link your installation pdf.

 

Thanks



#567
BlackCH

BlackCH

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,617 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BCN

 

Black CH, Back 9 months ago I purchased a cable from you. Now I changed the mobotherboard where there is no 1394 or Firiwire connection. How do I can power up my PC with your cable? Please advise me / give me the link your installation pdf.

 

Thanks

 

Hi, I've sent you a PM with the details. Cheers!



#568
3skimo

3skimo

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi BlackCH,

 

I have just had to rebuild my hack and cannot find the PDF for connecting the cable. The link in the pm that you originally sent me no longer works.

 

Would it be possible to resend the link please?

 

Many thanks,

 

Shane



#569
BlackCH

BlackCH

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,617 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BCN

Hi BlackCH,

 

I have just had to rebuild my hack and cannot find the PDF for connecting the cable. The link in the pm that you originally sent me no longer works.

 

Would it be possible to resend the link please?

 

Many thanks,

 

Shane

 

I've sent you a PM with the link.

Cheers!



#570
BiTRiP

BiTRiP

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 309 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

I have a new cable leftover.

People from NL can contact me.

 

[ Sold! ]



#571
whatever_42

whatever_42

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Hi BlackCH,

 

I am also interested in one of your cables. Could you please pm me further information?

 

Thank you.



#572
Flybye

Flybye

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Hi all. 

 

What is the cable that should be jumped if you can not power up the mb?



#573
BlackCH

BlackCH

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,617 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BCN

Hi all. 

 

What is the cable that should be jumped if you can not power up the mb?

 

You need to get the ground signal through the firewire connector...



#574
Flybye

Flybye

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

You need to get the ground signal through the firewire connector...

Thanks!  So basically just ground any of the ground cables on the fireware connector to any random ground pin I can find on the mb.



#575
BlackCH

BlackCH

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,617 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BCN

Thanks!  So basically just ground any of the ground cables on the fireware connector to any random ground pin I can find on the mb.

 

No. You need to connect any ground from the motherboard to pin 3/4 on the firewire connector.



#576
Niko-Studio

Niko-Studio

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male

Update 06/04/2011

This are the cables Im making:

attachicon.gifNewCable2.jpgattachicon.gifNewCable3.jpgattachicon.gifNewCable4.jpg


...and the cable in place:
attachicon.gifcable3_.jpgattachicon.gifcable2.jpg

They're about 70cm long, all-covered with black nylon braided sleeve, with the apple 18 pin connector in one end and standard ATX firewire, audio, USB, power button and led connectors in the other.

Each cable is tested before shipping. If your motherboard doesnt have on-board firewire (AKA IEEE 1394) you will need to use the inlcuded ground jumper.

Z68 and Z77 Gigabyte boards will need the included audio jumper to activate the front audio connector. Probably other boards will need this jumper too. Its just matter of experiment a bit with and without the jumper. 

They cost 25€ a piece, including traceable shipping and jumpers. Cables are shipped from Spain.
I accept Paypal or international bank transfer. Please make sure you add your correct shipping address with your payment.

If you want one drop me a message here in the forum! Alternatively, you can contact me through my page. There I also host pictures of some of my mods, useful links, etc

IMPORTANT:
The cable is compatible with this front panel board (present in all G5 models except the "Late 2005" G5):
attachicon.gif24313.jpg
Apple 922-5979, 630-4805, 820-1560. PowerMac G5 Front Panel Board

Make sure you have a similar one (there are a few more serial numbers for the same board). An easy way to check without taking the board out is to look for the 18 pin connector on the board (black square conector on the right of the picture). This connector is visible without the need of removing the board.

The solution for those who have the "Late 2005 G5" cases and want to use this cable would be to replace the front panel board with one from an earlier G5 model. It fits perfectly as the case's holes for the ports and screws are the same.

Once you extract the front panel board on the late 2005 G5 you'll end up with this (photo by rekd):
attachicon.giflate2005G5.jpg

You'll need to unscrew those two tabs/inserts, and then the old model board will fit perfectly. The G5 front board replacement (Apple 922-5979, 630-4805, 820-1560) can be puchased at ebay or some other online shops.

Hello BlackCH,

 

The first time I heard about APPLE connectors to ATX connectors wires was in a YouTube video http://youtu.be/4I_jdYHGGvo?t=5m51s
(very useful for all the G5-geeks).

 

Niko-Studio







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: G5 ATX cables, G5 mod, G5 Front Panel, g5 modding, g5 convertion


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy