Jump to content

Dell Studio 1557 Discussion Thread


  • Please log in to reply
106 replies to this topic

#1
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts
##########################################################################################################
(Update 8 April 2011)
10.6.7 ATIFramebuffer.kext which already patched for ATI HD4570 is available at Post #63.
##########################################################################################################

##########################################################################################################
(Update 16 March 2011)
Successfully enabled QE/CI on all ports (LVDS, VGA & HDMI) with 10.6.6 kexts. Please read post #36 for detail information.
##########################################################################################################

##########################################################################################################
(Update 9 March 2011)
Successfully enabled QE/CI on external monitor with Lion's kexts (10.7). Please read post #35 for details information.
##########################################################################################################


My Dell Studio 1557 Specification:-

Intel Core i7 720QM
4GB DDR3 1333Mhz
ATI HD4570 512MB
Intel WiFi 5300
Seagate Momentus 320GB HDD
WLED 1366x768 15.6"

Except Intel Core i7 720QM, the notebook specification are varied, according to user configuration during online purchased.

Mac OS X version:-
Mac OS X 10.6.6

kizwan

#2
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts
If you're installing Mac OS X using Retail DVD 10.6.0, you will need a patched kernel to successfully boot & install.

Bootloader:-

Empire EFI v 1.085 R2
- already with patched kernel.
- support for Intel Core i3, i5 & i7 mobile CPU.

Boot flags:-
-x -v

If you want to use your own/favourite Boot-132/EFI bootloader (e.g. Chameleon RC2, PC EFI) for the installation, you will need to extract the patched kernel (mach_kernel) and IONetworkingFamily.kext (add support for Realtek NIC) from the Empire EFI v 1.085 R2 bootloader image. Copy the patched kernel to your Extra folder in your bootloader. If you're using USB or EFI partition or Boot-132 partition as your bootloader, please make changes like this in com.apple.Boot.plist file (in your bootloader):-
<dict>
		  <key>Kernel</key>
		  <string>bt(0,0)/Extra/mach_kernel</string>
This will make the bootloader to load the patched kernel instead. With this patched kernel, you will need additional kext to prevent kernel panic.

Additional Extra kext:-

NullCPUPowerManagement.kext

When the installation finished, update the Mac OS X. From what I read, 10.6.2 already add support for Intel Core i7 CPU. After applying the update, you will need to remove the patched kernel to allow the vanilla kernel to be use. You can also remove the NullCPUPowerManagement.kext because Intel Core i7 CPU is supported by vanilla kernel (>10.6.2).

kizwan

#3
fallchild

fallchild

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
Hey kizwan just wondering how ur making out. I recently bought a dell 1545 and came to realize QE/CI support is probably never going to happen. So im looking to go another way.. does the ati card in ur laptop have QE/CI support?

#4
fiddles88

fiddles88

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NYC
cool!

#5
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

Hey kizwan just wondering how ur making out. I recently bought a dell 1545 and came to realize QE/CI support is probably never going to happen. So im looking to go another way.. does the ati card in ur laptop have QE/CI support?

I don't have external monitor to confirm about the QE & CI support. So far, there is no display at internal LCD & it only boot with GraphicsEnabler=Yes. However, I can access remotely from other computer using VNC. I'm guessing we can get display at external monitor with full resolution with QE & CI supported. So far I didn't use any injector/enabler kext for the graphic card. I just successfully compiled 1557's dsdt last night. I'm going to try dsdt injection if it is possible.

#6
c0ke

c0ke

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Venezia Bari, Italy
  • Interests:multimedia interaction design.

I don't have external monitor to confirm about the QE & CI support. So far, there is no display at internal LCD & it only boot with GraphicsEnabler=Yes. However, I can access remotely from other computer using VNC. I'm guessing we can get display at external monitor with full resolution with QE & CI supported. So far I didn't use any injector/enabler kext for the graphic card. I just successfully compiled 1557's dsdt last night. I'm going to try dsdt injection if it is possible.




Hi,
I've got a 1545 with mobility hd4330, anyway similar situation than yours... I can declare that with the graphic enabler=yes the system fully supports the graphics with QE/CI but it doesn't recognize any display.

see here:

http://www.insanelym...p;#entry1399989

It seems that apple uses different lvds display connector for its ati mobility cards, so the framebuffer actually cannot work with any lvds connected display.

The only way seems to be developing a better alternative framebuffer, like the dong's one, which can also give access to the acceleration stuff, since actually it doesn't work with the apple kexts like x2000...

#7
fallchild

fallchild

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
I think we are pretty much screwed. It's been months and months and have no info really on getting QE to ever work. Especially on the 4500 in the 1545 :\

#8
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

.....................................

It seems that apple uses different lvds display connector for its ati mobility cards, so the framebuffer actually cannot work with any lvds connected display.

The only way seems to be developing a better alternative framebuffer, like the dong's one, which can also give access to the acceleration stuff, since actually it doesn't work with the apple kexts like x2000...

Dong's framebuffer doesn't works for me. Only with framebuffer disabler kext can get me display on internal LCD. Maybe I will try with both later.

#9
bobby99

bobby99

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi,

I have a Dell Studio 1557, Core i7 720QM, 1980x1080, ATI 4570 512 Mo. Perhaps we could tweak the DSDT for our internal display to be used. I have not succeeded (yet) , but i have been able to patch my DSDT to have something compilable [there was a ton of errors with the one is extracted with iasl]. I attache it here in case it can help someone to work on this,

PS: I use RadeonHD kext from Dong in my day to day use but it isn't compilable in 64bits as far i know and didn't help to have QE/CI).

Attached Files



#10
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

Hi,

I have a Dell Studio 1557, Core i7 720QM, 1980x1080, ATI 4570 512 Mo. Perhaps we could tweak the DSDT for our internal display to be used. I have not succeeded (yet) , but i have been able to patch my DSDT to have something compilable [there was a ton of errors with the one is extracted with iasl]. I attache it here in case it can help someone to work on this,

There is an illegal IF statement in DSDT that preventing successful compilation.
// start remove illegal If statement
				  // If (CondRefOf (FPED))
				  // {
					  // FPED ()
				  // }
				  // end remove illegal If statement
  
				  Name (DBTB, Package (0x15)
				  {
					  Zero,
					  0x07,
					  /* skipped */
Search for it (FPED ()) & commented out the entire IF statement just like the above.

PS: I use RadeonHD kext from Dong in my day to day use but it isn't compilable in 64bits as far i know and didn't help to have QE/CI).

Can you elaborate more about your setup? Boot flags (com.apple.Boot.plist)? I can't get RadeonHD to work with internal display.

This is the DSDT injection I put in DSDT, trying to get the graphic card to properly recognized. It is properly injected (confirmed by IORegistryExplorer application). So far no display on internal LCD.
Device (M86)                 {                     Name (_ADR, Zero)                     Method (_DOS, 1, NotSerialized)                     {                     }                      Name (_DOD, Package (0x03)                     {                         0x00010100,                          0x00010110,                          0x0210                     })                     Method (_STA, 0, NotSerialized)                     {                         Return (0x0F)                     }                      /* skipped */                      // start injection for ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570                     Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)                                 {                                     Store (Package (0x20)                                         {                                             "@0,ATY,EFIDisplay",                                              Buffer (0x04)                                             {                                                 "LVDS"                                             },                                               "@0,compatible",                                              Buffer (0x0D)                                             {                                                 "ATY,Peregrine"                                             },                                               "@0,device_type",                                              Buffer (0x08)                                             {                                                 "display"                                             },                                               "@0,VRAM,memsize",                                              Buffer (0x04)                                             {                                                 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x20                                             },                                               "@0,display-connect-flags",                                              Buffer (0x02)                                             {                                                 0x00, 0x04                                             },                                               "@0,name",                                              Buffer (0x0D)                                             {                                                 "ATY,Peregrine"                                             },                                               "@1,compatible",                                              Buffer (0x0D)                                             {                                                 "ATY,Peregrine"                                             },                                               "@1,device_type",                                              Buffer (0x08)                                             {                                                 "display"                                             },                                               "@1,VRAM,memsize",                                              Buffer (0x08)                                             {                                                 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x20                                             },                                               "@1,display-connect-flags",                                              Buffer (0x02)                                             {                                                 0x00, 0x04                                             },                                               "@1,name",                                              Buffer (0x0D)                                             {                                                 "ATY,Peregrine"                                             },                                               "ATY,Card#",                                              Buffer (0x0E)                                             {                                                 "109-B77101-00"                                             },                                               "ATY,Rom#",                                              Buffer (0x0F)                                             {                                                 "113-B7710C-176"                                             },                                               "device_type",                                              Buffer (0x13)                                             {                                                 "ATY,PeregrineParent"                                             },                                               "VRAM,totalsize",                                              Buffer (0x04)                                             {                                                 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x20  /*<-----------Ram Amount: 0x40 = 1024mb, 0x20= 512mb, 0x10= 256mb */                                             },                                               "model",                                              Buffer ()                                             {                                                 "ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4500 Series" /* Change name here  */                                             }                                         }, Local0)                                     DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))                                     Return (Local0)                                 }                     // end injection for ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570
I'm running 10.6.3 with GraphicsEnabler=Yes (no display). I got kernel panic with normat boot or with GraphicsEnabler=No.

@bobby99, any particular reason why you put it in Device (GFX0)?
Device (GFX0)
			{
				Name (_ADR, 0x00020000)
				Method (_STA, 0, NotSerialized)
				{
					Return (Zero)
				}

				Method (_INI, 0, NotSerialized)
				{
					If (CondRefOf (FPED))
					{
						FPED ()
					}	
					Store (One, CLID)
				}


#11
rastaman

rastaman

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Hi Kizwan,

thanks for your interest,

There is an illegal IF statement in DSDT that preventing successful compilation.

I have no compilation problem with the DSDT i have attached to my previous post, did you use the same iasl version ?
Mine is :
Mac-de-Lxxxx:DellStudio1557 ludo$ ../iasl Intel ACPI Component ArchitectureASL Optimizing Compiler version 20091214 [Dec 16 2009]Copyright © 2000 - 2009 Intel Corporation

Can you elaborate more about your setup? Boot flags (com.apple.Boot.plist)? I can't get RadeonHD to work with internal display.


Well there is nothing special in my setup i think. I had to remove the ATI* kext from /S/L/E, then repair the permissions and it has worked. I have attached my boot.plist and smbios.plist files to this post (notice that the boot.plist contain duplicate entries - i have not cleaned it yet).

This is the DSDT injection I put in DSDT, trying to get the graphic card to properly recognized. It is properly injected (confirmed by IORegistryExplorer application). So far no display on internal LCD.

I will try this on my computer and let you know the result.


I got kernel panic with normat boot or with GraphicsEnabler=No.

Have you tried to remove ATI4500Controller.kext and ATIRadeonX2000.kext ? IIRC when these exts were still in /S/L/E i had kernel panic.

@bobby99, any particular reason why you put it in Device (GFX0)?

Device (GFX0)
			{
				Name (_ADR, 0x00020000)
				Method (_STA, 0, NotSerialized)
				{
					Return (Zero)
				}

				Method (_INI, 0, NotSerialized)
				{
					If (CondRefOf (FPED))
					{
						FPED ()
					}	
					Store (One, CLID)
				}

Well i didn't remember, it's not in the original dsdt ? i would have think so.

I will continue today to hack my dsdt and let you know the results, have a good day, i hope you will succeed to at least use the RadeonHD kext, i you follow point by point the instruction given by dong it should work, good luck!

hi, about the previous post, it is written by rastaman but in fact it's to answer for bobby99 (sorry i didn't remember i have 2 accounts (and even why i have 2 accounts) )

Attached Files



#12
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

Hi Kizwan,

thanks for your interest,


I have no compilation problem with the DSDT i have attached to my previous post, did you use the same iasl version ?
Mine is :

I fixed my dsdt by commented out the illegal IF statement. What is your BIOS version? A03? I use BIOS A05.

Well there is nothing special in my setup i think. I had to remove the ATI* kext from /S/L/E, then repair the permissions and it has worked. I have attached my boot.plist and smbios.plist files to this post (notice that the boot.plist contain duplicate entries - i have not cleaned it yet).
...........................................
Have you tried to remove ATI4500Controller.kext and ATIRadeonX2000.kext ? IIRC when these exts were still in /S/L/E i had kernel panic.

I don't want to remove any original kext in /S/L/E. I'm thinking to inject device id using DSDT injection (faking it so that OS will load the ATIRadeonX2000.kext without KP). However, I will moved both ATI kext to another location so that I can at least get display at internal LCD for the time being.

..........................
I will continue today to hack my dsdt and let you know the results, have a good day, i hope you will succeed to at least use the RadeonHD kext, i you follow point by point the instruction given by dong it should work, good luck!

Good day to you too.

hi, about the previous post, it is written by rastaman but in fact it's to answer for bobby99 (sorry i didn't remember i have 2 accounts (and even why i have 2 accounts) )

Just use one account. Don't make me confuse. :D

#13
JDizz

JDizz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I have the exact same machine.. working hard for fixes... can you help?

#14
JDizz

JDizz

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
[quote name='kizwan' date='May 17 2010, 11:29 PM' post='1470484']
My Dell Studio 1557 Specification:-
Intel Core i7 720QM
4GB DDR3 1333Mhz
ATI HD4570 512MB
Intel WiFi 5300
Seagate Momentus 320GB HDD
WLED 1366x768 15.6"

Except Intel Core i7 720QM, the notebook specification are varied, according to user configuration during online purchased.

Mac OS X version:-
Mac OS X 10.6.3

Extra Kexts:-
AppleACPIPS2Nub.kext
ApplePS2Controller.kext
fakesmc.kext
IONetworkingFamily.kext (Extracted from Empire EFI v 1.085 R2 - to enable internal Realtek NIC)
OpenHaltRestart.kext (not sure this is required or not)

Bootloader (either one):-
Chameleon 2 RC4 (untested)
PC EFI v 10.6 (untested)
Netkas's 10.6.2 Betabooter (Add GraphicsEnabler support for ATI Radeon HD 4XXX)

Tested boot flags with both 32bit & 64bit modes:-
-x -v --> Stuck on verbose message at internal LCD but can access remotely using VNC from another computer.
GraphicsEnabler=Yes -v --> Blank screen at internal LCD but can access remotely using VNC from another computer.

----------------------------------------------

INSTALL THIS PACKAGE BEFORE UPGRADING to 10.6.2 or above
note: This package must be installed on a system that is up & running.

http://www.tonymacx8...PC-EFI 10.6.zip
-THIS FIXES VIDEO ISSUE [ for my system at least ]

Dell Studio 1557 | ATi 4570
4Gig of DDR3 RAM
500GB HD
15.6 screen

#15
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

........................................................
INSTALL THIS PACKAGE BEFORE UPGRADING to 10.6.2 or above
note: This package must be installed on a system that is up & running.

http://www.tonymacx8...PC-EFI 10.6.zip
-THIS FIXES VIDEO ISSUE [ for my system at least ]

Dell Studio 1557 | ATi 4570
4Gig of DDR3 RAM
500GB HD
15.6 screen

Thank you JDizz. I assume this is modified version of PC-EFI v10.6.

#16
jdleung

jdleung

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Does it work on inpiron 14r too?

#17
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

...........................................
INSTALL THIS PACKAGE BEFORE UPGRADING to 10.6.2 or above
note: This package must be installed on a system that is up & running.

http://www.tonymacx8...PC-EFI 10.6.zip
-THIS FIXES VIDEO ISSUE [ for my system at least ]

Dell Studio 1557 | ATi 4570
4Gig of DDR3 RAM
500GB HD
15.6 screen

It doesn't works for me. Did you means the video is displayed on internal LCD with QE/CI when you installed PC-EFI 10.6 from tonymacx86?

#18
kizwan

kizwan

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,422 posts

Hi Kizwan,

thanks for your interest,
.....................

Hi rastaman, can you confirm that you got full resolution with:-
- radeonHD
- stock DSDT
- without ATIRadeonX2000.kext & ATI4500Controller.kext?

Can you confirm that you got display on external monitor (full resolution & QE/CI) with:-
- stock DSDT
- GraphicsEnabler=Yes (KP workaround)
- with ATIRadeonX2000.kext & ATI4500Controller.kext?

;)

#19
flashempire

flashempire

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

My Dell Studio 1557 Specification:-
Intel Core i7 720QM
4GB DDR3 1333Mhz
ATI HD4570 512MB
Intel WiFi 5300
Seagate Momentus 320GB HDD
WLED 1366x768 15.6"

Except Intel Core i7 720QM, the notebook specification are varied, according to user configuration during online purchased.

Mac OS X version:-
Mac OS X 10.6.3

Extra Kexts:-
AppleACPIPS2Nub.kext
ApplePS2Controller.kext
fakesmc.kext
IONetworkingFamily.kext (Extracted from Empire EFI v 1.085 R2 - to enable internal Realtek NIC)
OpenHaltRestart.kext (not sure this is required or not)

Bootloader (either one):-
Chameleon 2 RC4 (untested)
PC EFI v 10.6 (untested)
Netkas's 10.6.2 Betabooter (Add GraphicsEnabler support for ATI Radeon HD 4XXX)

Tested boot flags with both 32bit & 64bit modes:-
-x -v --> Stuck on verbose message at internal LCD but can access remotely using VNC from another computer.
GraphicsEnabler=Yes -v --> Blank screen at internal LCD but can access remotely using VNC from another computer.

IOReg & System Profiler dump:-
http://www.mediafire.com/?zot0ihyt32z

Screenshots:-
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

The CPU detected as Quad-Core Intel Xeon with 4 core detected. The battery not fully detected (no 3rd party battery kext installed) but at least battery setting exist in System Preferences. SATA & USB controller properly detected by Mac OS X. The graphic card somehow detected but maybe only with external monitor (untested). It definitely accessible using VNC.

TODO:-
Need to find workaround so that GUI is displayed at internal LCD with QE & CI supported.

kizwan


how did you install it ? with empire1063-ati or empireEFI_V1085_for intel core processors??? with -x -v???
I have the same DEll Studio like you! and only Snow Leopard Mac OS X v10.6??? will this work too???
Thanks a lot

#20
dt_matthews

dt_matthews

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

how did you install it ? with empire1063-ati or empireEFI_V1085_for intel core processors??? with -x -v???
I have the same DEll Studio like you! and only Snow Leopard Mac OS X v10.6??? will this work too???
Thanks a lot

Can some kind soul reconfirm in noob language the 'working' (video-wise) solution - I have a retail SL disk and am looking to get it running on my 1557 but I could do with a detailed series of steps / links to achieve this!

TIA,
dan





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy