Shell command from XCode interface

14 posts in this topic

Hi, I am very new to XCode and I try to write a small tool for an entry of parameters for a shell command.

The Purpose is to make an QT preferences changing easier, here in case of entering MediaKeys.

Because for those who have to use Quick Time X it is neccessary to use the Terminal to enter MediaKeys. The Shell command for that is: qtdefaults write MediaKeys "Category" "MediaKey"

I want to create an Interface, where it is possible to enter Category and Key and press a button and the command will be executed with the special parameters.

i have read some Tutorials and got now used to the dev Tools and to the handling of the Interace Builder.

I have a Class AppDelegate.m

@implementation AppDelegate

-(void)clickButton: (id)sender;

{

NSString *text = [textField stringvalue];

And a class AppDelegate.h

@interface AppleDelegate : NSObject {

IBOutlet NSTextField *textField;

IBOutlet NSTextField *textField;

}

- (IBAction)clickButton: (id)sender;

@end

Could anyone help me, to finish this...would be great and I could learn something. For me it looks like only a few lines could complete this job. Or the most Important thing is the line how to send the command to the terminal... Ok THX for answers I hope it was understandable, i must realize my english got bad... :thumbsup_anim:

AppDelegate.h

@interface AppleDelegate : NSObject {
	IBOutlet NSTextField *categoryTextField;
	IBOutlet NSTextField *mediaKeyTextField;
}
- (IBAction)clickAddButton:(id)sender;
@end

AppDelegate.m

#import "AppDelegate.h"

@implementation AppDelegate

-(IBAction)clickAddButton:(id)sender;
{
	NSString *defaultArgument = @"qtdefaults write MediaKey";
	NSString *categoryText = [categoryTextField stringValue];
	NSString *mediaKeyText = [mediaKeyTextField stringValue];

NSArray *argumentsArray = [NSArray arrayWithObjects:defaultArgument, categoryText, mediaKeyText, nil];