How stable is your OSx86 machine?

macman88

47 posts in this topic

I'm really interested in making my own OSx86 machine to compliment my Mac mini (you try running final cut on a mac mini without it yelling at you about latency or taking forever to render), but being that I make videos for a living, i'm not sure if i want a fake mac dying on me in the middle of a project. Have your hackintoshes ever froze up and/or suffered a fatal crash? Also, would you risk putting important time-sensitive data on the internal hard drive (think college term paper that you'll print up the night before :) )?

I'm running OSX 10.4.7 on the following machine:

Intel Pentium D920 Dual Core

Intel 945G chipset

2GB RAM

2x 160GB SATA harddrives (Seagate)

256MB Asus EAX1600XT Silent

Sigmatel 9220 HD Audio (Sound Blaster Audigy HD)

My machine is fully compitable with OSX, and I have not experienced any slowdowns, crashes or other problems. I have QE/CI, 2D QE, rotation, mirror and full resolution via DVI. In Xbench I get scores between 98-105, and that's very good!

I actually just deleted my Windows partition, because I really don't use it anymore. The few games I play are available on mac - I use it the most for DTP and graphics in general. I think that OS X is by far the better OS - it is stable (no blue screens, virus, spyware ect.) It just superb! ;)

x86 10.4.7 running 100% fast & stable on my Toshiba Satellite P100-191 Laptop with Intel Centrino Duo Core, which I am writing from right now. However, no sound, Network via USB 2.0 to my LAN/USB DLS-Modem/Router/Switch (which is fine with me, always connects to my Windows machine in less than a second), no WiFi which I do not need (and if, then it's enough from Windoze, or I could insert a x86 compatible WiFi card if I wanted). Graphics up to 1490 x 900 on a 17'' which is great, but no CI (Graphics accelleration). OpenGL works, however.