Jump to content

10.6.3 nVidia Blank Screen Issue with DVI/HDMI on 9800GT


  • Please log in to reply
433 replies to this topic

#101
el_charlie

el_charlie

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maracaibo, Venezuela

maybe your backup installation was booted by the chameleon on the main hdd where the vbios was injected?

No, I triplechecked that I was booting from the backup HD and the BIOS is not injected. I selected the USB hard drive from the boot menu of my Mobo BIOS and I have the backup bootloader set at 1024x768 and the main bootloader at 1920x120. So, the difference between both is HUGE, therefore I can tell which disk I'm booting from.

The only settings in common between my two bootloaders is the PciRoot=1 and GraphicsEnabler=1. I don't know if PciRoot=1 has some effect on this.

I have attached a screenshot of my system profiler showing that my BIOS version on my backup installation is "XXXXX - internal" and the contents of the com.apple.Boot.plist for the backup HD. Notice that with either injecting the bios or not, on the Screens preference pane, I have HDTV resolutions available to select.

Cheers!

Attached Files



#102
KiwiSammy

KiwiSammy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Auckland, New Zealand

macpro8800gt.rom works here for xfx 9800gtx+ 512mb 2xdvi 1xtvo AND in other hackintosh for gainward gts250 512mb 1xdvi 1xhdmi 1xvga.

Hi All, Unfortunately with my 9800GTX+ the MacPro8800GT.ROM injection only worked halfway with the DVI-HDMI
Let me explain, I have tried my own bios injection no luck, blank screen
Tried injecting the MacPro8800GT.ROM, thought it was working because it got to my desktop full QE/CI but then within 10seconds it freezes, with video artifacts.

I have gone back to DVI-VGA. I'm out of ideas.

Cheers
Sammy

#103
VCH888

VCH888

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 585 posts

I just purchased a GT 220, and am unable to get it working. what did you do to get it to work?


You can see my sig for GT220/GT240.

#104
skyhack

skyhack

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Success !!!!!

I finally got my HDMI display working on my production system ( please see system specs in my signature ). I first tried using el_charlie's method of extracting my video rom with NiBiTor ( and XP ) and then modifying my com.apple.Boot.plist. I remove the EFI string and added the following:-
<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>yes</string>
<key>VideoROM</key>
<string>NVIDIA.rom</string>
<key>VBIOS</key>
<string>yes</string>

This still did not work so I tried bigfish's macpro8800gt.rom and renamed it NVIDIA.rom.
( http://www.insanelym...howtopic=219232 )

Bingo, my system now boot 10.6.3 with DVI to HDMI.

Big thanks to bigfish and el_charlie !!

#105
afadzli

afadzli

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
hi guys,

is it possible to use bigfish's macpro8800gt.rom on other card, lets say 8600gt?

#106
xristoforos

xristoforos

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Success !!!!!
I tried bigfish's macpro8800gt.rom and renamed it NVIDIA.rom.
( http://www.insanelym...howtopic=219232 )


Success !!!!!

I can confirm that the bigfish's method with the macpro8800gt.rom renamed to NVIDIA.rom worked for my 9800gt (two displays connected: one with dvi and one with hdmi).

#107
hypnotic4life

hypnotic4life

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
This trick did not work for me. I am still pretty new with OSX so i could not find the log files to check if chameleon loads the NVIDIA.rom.

I noticed that the german post from bigfish stated something about unregistering your 9800GT in dsdt.aml.

die einträge für die grafik aus der dsdt.aml entfernen


I tried the DSDT editor from EvOSX86 but that app has a bug so i could not check the contents of my dsdt.aml file. Tried to find another editor but have not found one yet.

Anybody a suggestion? or some information how to check if the NVIDIA.rom is actually loaded or to check what is in dsdt.aml?

#108
altares

altares

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

Success !!!!!
I tried bigfish's macpro8800gt.rom and renamed it NVIDIA.rom.
( http://www.insanelym...howtopic=219232 )

Hi, I also have a 9800GTX+ 1GB but with your method (modifying the plist file + NVIDIA.rom) I only got software mode working, the GPU acceleration disappears even though I forced it in OSX86 tools.
When I check the system profiler, the video card seem to be : NVIDIA 16Mb.
I don't know what I did wrong. Please confirm that you have Quartz GL fully up with this technique.
Thank you.

#109
goodbye losers

goodbye losers

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 261 posts

Anybody a suggestion? or some information how to check if the NVIDIA.rom is actually loaded or to check what is in dsdt.aml?

in the systemprofiler --> "ROM-Version: xx.xx.xx - NVIDIA.rom"

check the dsdt.aml try this one...

Attached Files



#110
will1384

will1384

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
I have a GTS 250 and just got an HDTV, and it only has HDMI and Component
and yea as soon as I hook up a DVI to HDMI adapter the Hackintosh locks up,
I tried most of what was in this thread, nothing works :rolleyes:

I did get it working, I went out and got a VGA to Component Transcoder, the
one I am using is the "Audio Authority 9A60" its not as sharp as VGA or DVI,
but it works, I am using "SwitchResX" to setup the correct HDTV resolutions,
its not a "real fix" but it does work

#111
hypnotic4life

hypnotic4life

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

in the systemprofiler --> "ROM-Version: xx.xx.xx - NVIDIA.rom"

check the dsdt.aml try this one...


I seems it will not load the nvidia.rom.
I got "ROM-Version: xx.xx.xx - internal
Gonna try your dsdt.aml now.
Thanx!

This version of DSDTSE also gives me an exception of class NilObjectException so cannot look in my dsdt.aml.

#112
Beerkex'd

Beerkex'd

    Content Provider

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Brazil
Get the latest version of DSDTSE here:
http://www.osx86.es/?p=610
And the latest version of iasl here:
http://www.insanelym...howtopic=189272
You can use it to upgrade the iasl compiler that's included with DSDTSE. Right-click iaslme.app, click show contents, find the iasl binary, open DSDTSE.app in the same way and copy the new iasl there.
If you find an iasl binary in ~/Library/Application Support/EvOSoftware/DSDT, replace that with the new one as well.

#113
hypnotic4life

hypnotic4life

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
No version of DSDTSE works for me, all errors on starting the application. BUT I could decompile the dsdt.aml with cmd line iasl but there is no reference to my 9800gt or something with nvidia in it. I tried putting the NVIDIA.rom in /extras and directly on the root, I tried to play a bit with the capitals in the filename but no combination will give me the nvidia.rom in the system profiler (and with hdmi connected SL keeps on crashing). Happen to know any other factors that could prevent chameleon from loading the nvidia.rom?

#114
hypnotic4life

hypnotic4life

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Just made a dump of my 9800gt bios and tried to load that file but system profiler keeps showing me the internal rom instead of the file.

#115
glitchman

glitchman

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
come to think of it, trying this rom trick, i am having the same issue getting it to actually load. it still says "internal" in there for me as well. anyone have any idea why?

#116
Beerkex'd

Beerkex'd

    Content Provider

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Brazil
Because you're using an injection method that also patches the ROM?

#117
hypnotic4life

hypnotic4life

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Problem solved. I was apparently using another boot loader nl. AsereBLN Booter - Based on Chameleon RC4 / PCEFI10.5 which needs different parameters.

1. had to rename macpro8800gt.rom -> 10de_0614.rom and put it in /Extra
2. had to put this in boot.plist

<key>UseNvidiaROM</key>
<string>yes</string>
<key>VBIOS</key>
<string>yes</string>

Now everything works!
Very happy with the usb kakewalk method!

#118
goodbye losers

goodbye losers

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 261 posts

come to think of it, trying this rom trick, i am having the same issue getting it to actually load. it still says "internal" in there for me as well. anyone have any idea why?


you must remove from the dsdt.aml and com.apple.boot.plist any graphic strings...put the rom in extra folder and copy this to the boot.plist:

<key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
<string>Yes</string>
<key>VideoROM</key>
<string>nvidia.rom</string>
<key>VBIOS</key>
<string>yes</string>


http://www.insanelym...howtopic=219232

#119
probskats

probskats

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
I have XFX 9800GT 512MB dual DVI Ports. This workaround does not work for me.

When I set it to load this MacPro8800GT ROM as per bigfish instruction. I get video(no blank screen) over dvi/hdmi connection(cable with DVI male on one end and HDMI male on the other). But soon after login my display freezes. It does that as soon as I do something that would trigger QE/CI.

I dumped my XFX 9800GT rom and its 64kb vs 128kb for Mac version.

My VGA cable using DVI/VGA converter works fine.

Did anyone run into something like this?

#120
hypnotic4life

hypnotic4life

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
What bootloader do you use?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy