Jump to content

Information on VESA modes in ATI&NVIDIA bios


  • Please log in to reply
255 replies to this topic

#121
MasterLen

MasterLen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location:Berlin

Yep same here on my ATI 5770.
This was a really simple edit to make. Used RBE and WinFlash in Windows.

WinFlash to extract ROM, RBE Hex dump to search 20 03 00 01 58 03 and edit to, in may case:
80 07 00 01 38 04 for 1920x1080 and save.
Reflashed with WinFlash.

Many Thanks DieBuche for the method :gun:

D


Hi FKA,

I have a saphire ATI 5770 and I searched in RBE for 20 03 00 01 58 03 but I couldn't it I can only find 20 03 00 01 58 02

I need 1920x1080

Hoping for your help FKA.

Thanks and best regards

#122
FKA

FKA

    are we there yet?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,626 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi FKA,

I have a saphire ATI 5770 and I searched in RBE for 20 03 00 01 58 03 but I couldn't it I can only find 20 03 00 01 58 02

I need 1920x1080

Hoping for your help FKA.

Thanks and best regards


That's a typo on my part, now corrected! as per the first post you are looking for > 20 03 00 01 58 02

swap for > 80 07 00 01 38 04 < if you need 1920x1080!

D

#123
MasterLen

MasterLen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location:Berlin
Great!!! It's working!!!

Unstretched GUI & Spinner!

Thanks FKA!

Greetings

#124
jsfullr

jsfullr

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
Followed FKA's process to get my 5770 booting at correct resolution!!!!

Tools used: RBE (Radeon BIOS editor) and WinFlash in Windows.

1. Used WinFlash to extract ROM

2. Loaded ROM in RBE and used Hex dump to search 20 03 00 01 58 02

4. In Hex dump edited to, in my case: 80 07 00 01 B0 04 for 1920x1200 and saved.

5. Reflashed with WinFlash.

Much thanks to DieBuche and FKA for the guide! :P

#125
dickhouse

dickhouse

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Gunners HomeTown
Do this hack works also for 6470, how to get native res for my 14inch laptop @ 1360x780. I dont wanna bricked my new laptop. Please guide step by step, espc in hex code what should i look for.. Thanks

#126
rama

rama

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
Hey, i've been trying this for about 4 hours now... no luck. I did manage to finally get my chameleon boot screen to display 1920x1200 by changing the theme.plist "width" and "height" fields. BUT... the next screen.. the loading spinner is still fat and ugly. I successfully modded the bios twice, with the setup mentioned on the first post, and the updated version of page 2.... neither helped. I am using a MSI Nvidia gtx275. I can see the modes in the chameleon video info list, the last one on the list is 17d, 1920x1200... but how do i force it to use that on boot? graphicsmode in the apple.com.boot.plist doesnt work, i have it in there already... tripple checekd it, omiting the @60 on the end... still no diff.

I am using Cartri's M/b bios/dsdt... maybe that has something to do with it? i can't understand why it doesn't work.

Oh, and when i run the ./AnalyseVBIOS from terminal i get this:

Found 1. possible NVIDIA Mode at 0x7df1(Decimal:32241)
Empty Table at 0x7f11(Decimal:32529)
Empty Table at 0x7f91(Decimal:32657)
Empty Table at 0x7fd1(Decimal:32721)

whats with the empty tables... i dont need to worry about those right?

Thanks.

#127
DislikeYou

DislikeYou

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts

And isn't that what all this BIOS editing is supposed to fix? Or am I missing something? Also, why wouldn't my card support 1920x1080? I take it even the (almost identical, but older) 8800GT does.


Hmm i also thought this is to modify your vesa to use an mode that is not listed on video info at chameleon. And i also wonder how does Vesa of an old card support 1920x1080 and fermi does not. So i am out of luck :[

Btw for me is listed same resolutions as you posted.

#128
MasterLen

MasterLen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location:Berlin
@FKA

a few days ago I wrote about success with my saphire ati 5770...

There are no issues when I am connected with DVI but now I am connected with Displayport cable.
In bios and in chameleon there is no full screen...I see black bars on all sites!

Do we have to modifie other things in the rom for Displayport?

Thanks for you help FKA!

Greetings
Masterlen

#129
FKA

FKA

    are we there yet?

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,626 posts
  • Gender:Male

@FKA

a few days ago I wrote about success with my saphire ati 5770...

There are no issues when I am connected with DVI but now I am connected with Displayport cable.
In bios and in chameleon there is no full screen...I see black bars on all sites!

Do we have to modifie other things in the rom for Displayport?

Thanks for you help FKA!

Greetings
Masterlen


Hi Masterlen


I also see this on my seconday HDMI monitor as I also do when booted into windows.
In windows you would need change the overscan settings in Catalyst to correct.

In BIOS and Chameleon I don't think there is a fix - unless your monitor has some 'overscan' / 'normal scan' setting?

But then ofcourse you will have to 'underscan' once in the OS to correct for you 'overscan' of the monitor.

D

#130
MasterLen

MasterLen

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Location:Berlin
Same issue with HDMI, no full screen in bios and chameleon.

Only DVI has NO issues with chameleon and bios!

#131
DislikeYou

DislikeYou

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
hmm i swaped fermi card with an gtx 260 i had laying around, same thing until i used vga cable instead and now i have native resolution in vesa only thing is that fonts looks blurry in osx :S

#132
ifrit05

ifrit05

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wyandotte, MI
Can someone help me patch my 8400GS BIOS? HexFiend is difficult.
I want to have 1600x900x32 (native) but my VESA codes only go up to 1280x800x32. :(

Terminal output:

Attempting to open 8400GS.rom
Length:62464
Found 1. possible NVIDIA Mode at 0x7e89(Decimal:32393)
Empty Table at 0x7fa9(Decimal:32681)
Empty Table at 0x8029(Decimal:32809)
Empty Table at 0x8069(Decimal:32873)
Correct number of finds
Mod should be working

GeForce 8400GS BIOS File:Attached File  8400GS.rom.zip   41.54KB   14 downloads

#133
Mac Boy

Mac Boy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
You definitely did something wrong. I looked at the differences between your bios files and you accidentally added the new table at 0x7fe5, when you should have used the 1st empty table at 0x8105.

If done correctly, running AnalyseVBIOS on your modified bios should have the same results as before, but the 1st empty table will be 0x8185.

Here's a better view of your G92original.rom bios:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------Table 2: 16 modes, 32 bytes each------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 1 32741 [1024 x  768] 0004ff030000ff0317049f043f050003ff020000ff0202030803250300ff302a 2 32773 [1280 x 1024] 0005ff040000ff042f059f0597060004ff030000ff0300040304290400ff302a 3 32805 [1280 x 1024] 0005ff040000ff042f059f0597060004ff030000ff0300040304290400ff302a 4 32837 [1400 x 1050] 7805770500007705a705170697061a041904000019041a041d04290400ff483f 5 32869 [1600 x 1200] 40063f0600003f067f063f076f08b004af040000af04b004b304e10411ff204e 6 32901 [2048 x 1536] 0008ff070000ff072f083f085f080006ff050000ff0510061106120611ff5456 7 32933 [2048 x 1536] 0008ff070000ff073f085f083f090006ff050000ff0510061106120611ffa00f 8 32965 [ 800 x  600] 20031f0300001f034703c7031f04580257020000570258025c02730211ffa41f 9 32997 [1280 x  768] 0005ff040000ff042f059f0597060003ff020000ff0202030803210301ff000010 33029 [   0 x    0] 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ff952511 33061 [1440 x  900] a0059f0500009f05df05ff05df068403830300008303860389038f0300ff952e12 33093 [1680 x 1050] 90068f0600008f06bf06df062f071a041904000019041b042104370400ff2f3f13 33125 [1920 x 1200] 80077f0700007f07e30703088708b004af040000af04b104b704d20400ff000014 33157 [   0 x    0] 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ff421d15 33189 [1280 x  800] 0005ff040000ff04c305f305ff0520031f0300001f03240327032b0300ff000016 33221 [   0 x    0] 0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000ff0056-------------------------------------------------------------------------------Table 1: 32 modes, 9 bytes each------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 1 19359 [ 320 x  200] 4001c8002818080805 2 19368 [ 320 x  200] 4001c800281808080d 3 19377 [ 320 x  200] 4001c8002818080805 4 19386 [  40 x   25] 280019002818080805 5 19395 [ 320 x  240] 4001f000281d080805 6 19404 [  40 x   25] 2800190028180e0805 7 19413 [ 320 x  400] 400190012818100805 8 19422 [  40 x   25] 280019002818100904 9 19431 [  80 x   25] 50001900501808080510 19440 [ 640 x  200] 8002c800501808080511 19449 [  80 x   25] 50001900501808080512 19458 [ 640 x  350] 80025e0150180e080513 19467 [  80 x   25] 5000190050180e080514 19476 [ 640 x  400] 80029001501810080515 19485 [ 640 x  480] 8002e001501d10080516 19494 [ 640 x  480] 8002e001501d10080517 19503 [  80 x   25] 5000190050180e090418 19512 [  80 x   25] 50001900501810090419 19521 [ 800 x  600] 200358026424100c0520 19530 [ 800 x  600] 200358026424100c0521 19539 [1024 x  768] 00040003802f10100522 19548 [1024 x  768] 00040003802f10100523 19557 [1280 x 1024] 00050004a03f10170524 19566 [1280 x 1024] 00050004a03f10170525 19575 [1280 x  720] 0005d002a02c10070726 19584 [1280 x  800] 00052003a03210230727 19593 [1400 x 1050] 78051a04af4a0e210128 19602 [1440 x  900] a0058403b43810240329 19611 [1600 x 1200] 4006b004c84a10190530 19620 [1680 x 1050] 90061a04d24110250331 19629 [1920 x 1200] 8007b004f04b10260332 19638 [2048 x 1536] 000800060060102201

BMW3series, here's a quick and safe way to correctly add this mod to your BIOS from the terminal. Don't forget to press enter after the last line. It should say 32 bytes transferred in 0.000398 secs (80418 bytes/sec). Let me know if it works because I also have a 9800GT.

MODE="80 07 7F 07 00 00 7F 07 E3 07 03 08 87 08 38 04 37 04 00 00 37 04 39 04 3F 04 5A 04 00 FF 00 00"XSTR=`echo $MODE | sed -E 's,^| ,\\\x,g'`cp G92original.rom G92Mod.romprintf $XSTR | dd conv=notrunc of=G92Mod.rom bs=1 seek=33029

PS: This will work for any bios. All you have to do is change the MODE to the one you want to add, and make sure the seek is the decimal offset of your 1st empty table.

#134
stevekicks

stevekicks

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
hey guys..

i'm having some issues changing my rom to enable 1920x1200. i want to replace the resolution 1856x1392 because it's straight up weird. my card is a gigabyte 5770.

i've found 40 07 xx xx 70 05 (1856 x 1392) in the rom - but when i change it to 80 07 xx xx 38 04 and try to reflash it, it says the rom isn't valid (tried both winflash and atiflash).

i've attached both the rom and my attempt at modifying.

any help or guidance would be great!


ignore all that.. i just followed jsfullr's instructions in this post and worked perfectly.

thanks!

#135
MeAngry

MeAngry

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eindhoven, Netherlands
I just wanted to thank whoever came up with this idea, as I've successfully altered and flashed the BIOS of my Radeon HD5770 yesterday and can now use 1920x1200 in Chameleon. :)

#136
flydeprut

flydeprut

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark
This worked brilliantly on my system (Radeon 6850). I now have 1680x1050 on the bootscreen.

I used Winflash and RBE, like FKA suggested.

Thanks!!

#137
nmapped

nmapped

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Thanks DieBuche for this excellent guide :P

I'm trying to add a new VESA mode with my screen's native resolution using the empty table it somehow didn't work even after re-flashing my graphic card with the newly modded BIOS.

Tried the method suggested by Mac Boy with same results as well.

The following is the output after running AnalyseVBIOS V2 against my stock rom:

Found 1. possible NVIDIA Mode at 0x4122(Decimal:16674)
 	 Empty Table at 0x4242(Decimal:16962)
 	 Empty Table at 0x42c2(Decimal:17090)
 	 Empty Table at 0x4302(Decimal:17154)

Stock ROM extracted from my EVGA GTX 580 Black Ops Edition:

Attached File  GTX580.ROM.zip   44.83KB   13 downloads

Any assistance in patching my rom would be much appreciated :)

#138
ifrit05

ifrit05

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wyandotte, MI
Anyone wanna still try to help mod my Nvidia BIOS?

#139
Mac Boy

Mac Boy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
ifrit05, this adds 1600x900 to your bios. Paste the 3 lines in terminal and make sure your 8400GS.rom is in the same directory! Also make sure your rom is the exact same size before flashing.

Let me know if it works.

MODE="40 06 9F 05 00 00 9F 05 DF 05 FF 05 DF 06 84 03 83 03 00 00 83 03 86 03 89 03 8F 03 00 FF 95 2E"
XSTR=`echo $MODE | sed -E 's,^| ,\\\x,g'`
printf $XSTR | dd conv=notrunc of=8400GS.rom bs=1 seek=32681




For nvidia users who can't get the bios patch to work, I posted another solution here: How to Unstretch the Chameleon Boot Screen

#140
pasha_infest

pasha_infest

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ukraine
don't work 4 me! nvidia 9600 GT! max resolution 1280x1024

wanna 1920x1080

flashed pached bios but can't see any positive results

Attempting to open 9600.rom
   Length:65024
   Found 1. possible NVIDIA Mode at 0x7fd1(Decimal:32721)
		 Empty Table at 0x80f1(Decimal:33009)
		 Empty Table at 0x8171(Decimal:33137)
		 Empty Table at 0x81b1(Decimal:33201)
   Correct number of finds
   Mod should be working

MODE="80 07 7F 07 00 00 7F 07 E3 07 03 08 87 08 38 04 37 04 00 00 37 04 39 04 3F 04 5A 04 00 FF 00 00"
   XSTR=`echo $MODE | sed -E 's,^| ,\\\x,g'`
   cp 9600.rom 9600Mod.rom
   printf $XSTR | dd conv=notrunc of=9600Mod.rom bs=1 seek=33009
   32+0 records in
   32+0 records out
   32 bytes transferred in 0.000159 secs (201226 bytes/sec)
   
   ./vbios 9600Mod.rom
   Attempting to open 9600Mod.rom
   Length:65024
   Found 1. possible NVIDIA Mode at 0x7fd1(Decimal:32721)
		 Empty Table at 0x8171(Decimal:33137)
		 Empty Table at 0x81b1(Decimal:33201)
   Correct number of finds
   Mod should be working






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy