Jump to content

Best Laptops With Full Hardware Support and Acceleration


  • Please log in to reply
280 replies to this topic

#81
quasar_x

quasar_x

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

Dell Inspiron 9400


Any idea if the Express card slot is working in Dell Inspiron 6400/9400 models? Does it show up anywhere?
Not that this would really be crucial, but I recently found a cheap PCMCIA to Express adapter.

#82
skyfox

skyfox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Halifax, NS, Canada
I just noticed that Newegg has a Compaq laptop for $485. With shipping its still under $500 (by a hair). I don't own this laptop, but generally any laptop with GMA950 and a Celeron M 4xx shouldn't have too much trouble with Mac OS. Avoid Celeron M 3xx and Pentium M chips, as they are only SSE2.

Specs:
Operating System Windows XP Home
CPU Type Intel Celeron M 410(1.46GHz)
Screen 15.4" WXGA
Memory Size 512MB DDR2
Hard Disk 40GB
Optical Drive DVD/CD-RW Combo
Graphics Card Intel GMA950
Video Memory shared memory
Communication Modem, LAN and WLAN
Card slot 1 x Express Card
Dimensions 14.1" x 10.4" x 1.38-1.77"
Weight 6.5 lbs.

Linky:
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16834147395

#83
quasar_x

quasar_x

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

I just noticed that Newegg has a Compaq laptop for $485. With shipping its still under $500 (by a hair). I don't own this laptop, but generally any laptop with GMA950 and a Celeron M 4xx shouldn't have too much trouble with Mac OS. Avoid Celeron M 3xx and Pentium M chips, as they are only SSE2.


Well, looks good for the price. However, I would first check what LAN, WLAN and audio chipset they are using. As an example, the Compaq/HP NX-series are generally looking good as well (GMA950), but as far as I can see noone has ever got any sound out of them (AD1981HD chipset).
If searched long enough on the forums and through the Wiki now for laptops with a high compatibility.
In the end I had to choose between the Acer Travelmate 2480/2490-series and the Dell E1505/6400. I went finally for the Dell. Sigmatel 9200 seems to be working now, LAN is working and I went for a TrueMobile 1390 which also seems to work fine after some editing. CPU is a Dual Core T2250, so I will have to deactivate one core and hope there will be any solution to this in the future kernel.

#84
babs

babs

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Any idea if the Express card slot is working in Dell Inspiron 6400/9400 models? Does it show up anywhere?
Not that this would really be crucial, but I recently found a cheap PCMCIA to Express adapter.


No my hackingtos doesn't recognized it and it doesn't show op...

#85
jexxer

jexxer

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Some findings about Lenovo T60:

There are many different configurations out there.
T60 with Intel Graphics: should work ok. AFAIK.
T60 with ATI X1400 does work with CI & QE but you cannot change resolutions. You can not run a split desktop with external monitor. Mouse tearing at ist best ;)

T60 wide: ATI X1400 graphics are a pain in the a**. Resulotion is locked in 4:3 (1400x1050) mode. No way to get it to 16:10 (1680x1050). The internal display is always recognized as a CRT and not as a LCD. You have heavy mouse tearing and ugly 140px wide black boarders on each displayside.

I have the T60 wide and did not manage to get sound working very well. sound out kinda works, but only plays files with 44.1khz for me. wav files with 22kHz have heavy distortion. No Input at all.

If you'd ask me, the T60 (with X1400) is no recommendation for OSX86.

#86
quasar_x

quasar_x

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

No my hackingtos doesn't recognized it and it doesn't show op...


Now that's a pity. While I have no use for it now, it might have become interesting in the future. I thought there was quite some chance for it to be working, since AFAIK the Express slot can work in PCI-Express (1x) mode. Would be interesting to know what kind of Express card controller genuine Mac HW is using.

#87
diamonda

diamonda

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
AMILO M1425
Fine work all, except internal card reader.

#88
The Shaun

The Shaun

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts
  • Location:North of Atlanta
diamonda: Does sleep work? QE/CI?

#89
cayman

cayman

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
I have Acer Aspire 1652wlmi Pm-1.7\ 512mb ddr2\ 80gb\ X300 64mb
qe, ci, openGL are working with callisto and koverg patch, wide screen 1280x800 no artifacts with mighty mouse
network card work too, have wright acces on NTFS.
Everything work good.
xbench v1.2 result 49.78

#90
eXcalibUr88

eXcalibUr88

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pilipinas
ecs g556 is working super.. ;) ethernet, usb, dvd, graphics (ati mobility radeon 9700), touchpad, sound are all working after install. laptop is really fast, havent encountered any problem yet other than mouse tearing which is very to solve.. by the way, what is qe/ci? how can i know it is working for my vid?

#91
baxterb

baxterb

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I have an Acer Aspire 3680 too. I have found that 10.4.7 runs better on this than 10.4.8. Everything is working nicely, this includes sleep, video (CI + QE), WiFi (Atheros). No issues whatsoever during install/first boot. Sound requires patch (can't remember which) and only works with internal speakers. Ethernet I haven't tested. Battery indicator works with ACPI patch but sleep works perfect without it. I tried 10.4.8 but much more work would be needed to get sleep working properly if at all - I can't function without sleep. Best value Hacky around (In Oz at least) picked this up for $600 AU, 1/3 of MB price ($1749) which can't even burn DVD's.

#92
Reptar

Reptar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
Baxterb,

When you say sleep works in 10.4.7 are you refering to deep sleep. By this I mean suspend to RAM where all power is "off" including LCD and fans, but when you wake from sleep you quickly return to where you left off. Basically real Macintosh behavior. Also, is this sleep mode you refer to initiated by closing the lid, selecting sleep from the apple menu, or by the energy saver timing out based on your settings. Or all 3.

As you can see from my signature, I have the 3680 also. A great deal on a decent computer, but I have no deep sleep or ethernet ( using usb to ethernet adapter works though). I have it set to never sleep because I can't get it to wake. I just have it set to spin down disk and turn off lcd if I close lid, or energy saver times out. If I select sleep from apple menu, then it won't wake.

#93
baxterb

baxterb

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Yes DEEP sleep. Sleep to RAM or whatever you want to call it. All fans are off LCD HDD everything. This can be initiated by closing the lid, selecting sleep in Appl menu or letting it go to sleep through energy saver. Apart from being able to upgrade OS's easily this works much the same as a real macbook, no niceties like magsafe or mini DVI but at the price I am very happy. I am a long time Mac user and have always relied on their great power management/sleep functions and this is as good. Wakes up just as fast, you have to press a key on the KB though to get it to wake (opening the lid is not enough). Also can be put to sleep by power button which brings up menu for shutdown sleep restart etc. Also being a 4** series celeron supports SSE3 which is nice. Speed is fine for me, but because no speed step I only get about 2 - 2.5 hours out of the battery. I have a t2050 coming for it though am pretty sure I'm going to get a black screen with that one. Hope this helps.

#94
Reptar

Reptar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
baxterb,

That is interesting. I am running 10.4.9 w/8.9.1 kernel. I can't get S3 at all, let alone wake. I just get the screen to go black and HDD spindown, but fan continues to run. Overall everything works well, just a few minor ( at least to me) issues, like sleep. However, being a long time Mac user, I do miss deep sleep. I may try downgrading the kernel to see if that makes a difference. Although that may also require some extension changes as well.

#95
baxterb

baxterb

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
I'd be interested to hear how you get on as I would like to run a later kernel but can't be without sleep, It would be useless to me if I couldn't just open the laptop and be working within seconds. I have been very happy with this laptop in OS X it is much faster than my t42 mainly because of the SSE3 and proper vid support but even still you'd expect a 'proper' pentium m would be quicker. For the price it is really quite good, just hope the t2050 will work with full speedstep etc.. but I doubt it. Also reading some posts it seems the 533 CD's require 1 core to be disabled so it may not make it any faster anyway under OS X, bit better battery life would be nice too though.

#96
Tyrone Shoe

Tyrone Shoe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
Compaq NW8000 Mobile Workstation

Video - 100% working
Sound - 90% working (can't use headphones)
Wireless - 100% working
Built-in Ethernet 100% working
CardBus - 100% working
Keyboard/TrackPad - 100% working
SD Card Slot - Not Working

#97
lewdvig

lewdvig

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
A T60 with GMA 950 is going to cost a lot more than a MacBook. Is you are going to buy a hackintosh, you should at least buy one that is way cheaper than the genuine article.

The Acer TM 2428 (I wrote a review for notebookreview.com) would be a great place to start. The HP sounds great too.

#98
Stellair

Stellair

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Gender:Male

Some findings about Lenovo T60:

There are many different configurations out there.
T60 with Intel Graphics: should work ok. AFAIK.
T60 with ATI X1400 does work with CI & QE but you cannot change resolutions. You can not run a split desktop with external monitor. Mouse tearing at ist best ;)

T60 wide: ATI X1400 graphics are a pain in the a**. Resulotion is locked in 4:3 (1400x1050) mode. No way to get it to 16:10 (1680x1050). The internal display is always recognized as a CRT and not as a LCD. You have heavy mouse tearing and ugly 140px wide black boarders on each displayside.

I have the T60 wide and did not manage to get sound working very well. sound out kinda works, but only plays files with 44.1khz for me. wav files with 22kHz have heavy distortion. No Input at all.

If you'd ask me, the T60 (with X1400) is no recommendation for OSX86.


I've got the same as you, T60 2gb ram, 120gb hd, x1400, wide screen

Everything is correctly installed with 10.4.8 kernel 8.8.1. My resolution is 1400x1050 and I can't go above that :tomato:
Sound is working, mouse tearing is almost gone, wifi doesn't work, ...
It's not the best machine you can get for a hackintosh but if you received it from work you won't say 'no' :)

#99
sierrabeat

sierrabeat

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colombia
Dell D510 Latitude, Celeron M 1,5 Ghz

14" screen

HDD 60 Gb, 2 partition

CD/DVD Burner OK

Video OK

Audio OK

USB OK

Wireless OK

LAN OK

#100
gritmaster

gritmaster

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

baxterb,

That is interesting. I am running 10.4.9 w/8.9.1 kernel. I can't get S3 at all, let alone wake. I just get the screen to go black and HDD spindown, but fan continues to run. Overall everything works well, just a few minor ( at least to me) issues, like sleep. However, being a long time Mac user, I do miss deep sleep. I may try downgrading the kernel to see if that makes a difference. Although that may also require some extension changes as well.


Reptar - have you tried this yet? - I bought a 3680 at Best Buy y'day because they were $399 again - graphics, wifi, etc... work great on 10.4.8 but I cannot sleep either - just wanted to see if a second person has verified 10.4.7 allows for deep sleep and, if so, if you lost the ability to use any hardware that was working with 10.4.8 and above?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   Web hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy