i7 build Success For Pro Audio & Video use Help Page

23 posts in this topic

OK so finally got build finished with help from Digital Dreamer, Noizyboy & Cindori (Many Thanks!)

Build consists of everything in my signature and with install of OSX 10.6.2 using DD's script and then removing what wasn't needed i.e few kexts (thanks Tonymacx86 and Cindori) I'm over the moon.

I am a Mac Tech and have 12 yrs under my belt BUT due to needing PCI slots for my Digidesign Pro Tools HD cards I was left to fend for myself if I wanted to use something newer than a 2.7Ghz PCI G5 Powermac to run them (was a great machine but come on!)

I also really wanted rackmount capability to get the Mac in a Rack (have wanted that for about 6 yrs!)

In all honesty what I have now is nothing short of amazing considering I also have an 8 Core 2.26Ghz Mac Pro specced out (over £3000 in total) and did this machine at just under £1300! OK so not Dual i7 and it has 6GB ram instead of 12GB on my Mac Pro, BUT Geekbench shows roughly the same mark on both and it really is like sh*t off a shovel.

I really would like to be able to help fellow users if I can in the future that use High end PCI cards such as Digidesign, Avid, AJA etc etc to get systems running if they want to give it a try or simply need to do real time stuff tbut maybe don't have a spare £3000-4000 in the bank.

This is one case where the Hackintosh community is making it easier for the smaller guy to continue using their preferred platform (Mac) with cards that the manufacturer deems "Old technology" and still get work done without re-mortgaging their house to buy a new Mac AS WELL as new cards (aimed directly at Digidesign!!!!)

Please post if you want to find out more.