[Solution] ATI HD4890 on 10.6.2

amit_talkin

21 posts in this topic

So, as everyone, i was also looking to get my HD4890 working on my 10.6.2 SL. I am using Hazard's distro of 10.6.2. I choose "Graphics enabler" while installing SL on my system. There was an option "Darwin 48x0 ID injector"but it always give me problem booting into OS. OS always stuck at "VoodooHDAdevice : Performingsystemstatechange (2,1)"when i use 48x0 injector. so I choose graphics enabler only.

anyways, here are the steps I used to get my HD4890 working on 10.6.2 with native resolution.before installing these packages, it was showing only ATI device with 256MB RAM in system profiler!

I am totally new to Mac and I can understand the problem newbies ( like me ) facing while installing patches, kexts, etc or understanding about unclear steps given on some topics,so i have given detailed steps below.

1st of all, here is the proof that it is working ( atleast for me )

SS.jpg

Now,

Solution :

1. Download attached "Packages.zip" file. and extract it. you will find 3 package files inside named "Enabler_for_Nvidia_and_multiple_ATI_cards.pkg' , "QE_CI_Exotic patch 10.6.2.pkg" and "QE_CI_Exotic_cards.pkg"

2. 1st run "QE_CI_Exotic_cards.pkg"

3. Now run "Enabler_for_Nvidia_and_multiple_ATI_cards.pkg"

4. Now run "QE_CI_Exotic patch 10.6.2.pkg"

5. Reboot.

Done!

Let me know if this worked for your or not.

Amit

Packages.zip

Thanks for understanding it takes a clear explanation to install a radeon. The fact that you didn't spend months trying to get this working is a truly remarkable thing. Please give an exact model (brand) name and as much specifics as you can on you card. I guess someday the ATI brains HERE will explain WHY they don't have a section on ATI cards that work and don't work, instead of making everyone crazy trying to get their ATI working with SL