ASUS P5N-E SLI drivers / setup for Snow Leopard

diablo900t

7 posts in this topic

I'm new to this whole scene, so forgive me if i haven't found the right resources I should have.

I'm attempting to get snow leopard running on my machine:

Intel Q8300

4 GB RAM DDR2 PC6400

200 GB SATA (for Mac OS X - separate from my windows drives)

Nvidia Geforce 8800GTS

ASUS P5N-E SLI mobo

I found a guide here on the forums - http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=184224

I tried to follow the instructions and was able to get Snow Leopard installed successfully by using the boot disk and a retail copy of Snow Leopard.

My problem now is that I can only boot into the system in Safe Boot, if i try normally i get the "you must restart your computer" message.

I'm uncertain where to go from here, and not really sure how to actually install drivers in the OS (first time i've ever used a Mac), and which kernel i should be using. Last night i tried installing vanilla kernel 9.5.0 i think and it would boot, but then there would be no signal to my monitor.

Basically i've done a clean install of Snow Leopard and I need some help as to what i need to do next in order to get it running out of Safe Boot.

I'm new to this whole scene, so forgive me if i haven't found the right resources I should have.

I'm attempting to get snow leopard running on my machine:

Intel Q8300

4 GB RAM DDR2 PC6400

200 GB SATA (for Mac OS X - separate from my windows drives)

Nvidia Geforce 8800GTS

ASUS P5N-E SLI mobo

I found a guide here on the forums - http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=184224

I tried to follow the instructions and was able to get Snow Leopard installed successfully by using the boot disk and a retail copy of Snow Leopard.

My problem now is that I can only boot into the system in Safe Boot, if i try normally i get the "you must restart your computer" message.