Is it legal to install OSX 10.6 on a PC?

• Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

yamcha

yamcha

InsanelyMac Geek

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 192 posts
Hi guys,

Just out of curiosity is it legal to install OSX on a PC, a lot of people are saying it is not, but there are also people who say it is legal..

Can someone clarify this for me? I'm not worried or anything but just wanted to know..

Appreciate your help :]

Hagar

Hagar

Project Dogsbody

• Administrators
  • 2,352 posts
DISCLAIMER: The opinions expressed below are mine & do not necessarily reflect the views of insanelymac or its owners. Secondly, I am not a lawyer, and the following is merely the legal position to the best of my knowledge, errors & omissions excepted etc etc.

If you have *not* legally purchased a copy of OS X:

Any installation is illegal, as you do not have any kind of license to the software. This includes *any* distro-based installation as these are pirated by definition, as well as *any* installation of 10.4.* Tiger, as this was never sold separately in an intel-capable form.

If you *have* legally purchased a copy of OS X:

It depends on the laws where you live, as regards software licensing, EULAs and sales/post-sales contracts.

If you live in a country that regards the EULA as legally binding (e.g. the USA), you are subject to the clause that says the software may only be installed on a single apple-labelled computer. Some people have speculated that placing an Apple sticker on your computer fulfils this obligation, although this has not been tested in court, I doubt it would hold up.

If you live in a country that does not consider the EULA or post-sales contracts legally binding, like certain european countries, and/or where laws protecting interoperability and reverse-engineering exist, It is most likely legal.

Hope this helps.

leafhound

leafhound

InsanelyMac Geek

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 124 posts
Agree with Hagar