Jump to content

Chameleon RC4 is out!

* * * * * 18 votes

  • Please log in to reply
1054 replies to this topic

#41
arya

arya

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
anybody know how PC EFI 10.5 get ethernet mac address and use it in Hardware UUID in system profiler..?

#42
sk1nhead

sk1nhead

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Manila

Be careful, because I bet applications like superduper won't work without RC4 or with the PlatformUUID addon, test it just to see that some apps require more that what was done in PCEFI 10.5, Chameleon RC4 does it better with system-id/platform-uuid settings.
Needless to say you won't have this side effect, nor the iTunes reg. side effect with my modded RC4 :)


I see. anymore apps affected aside from superduper? havent tried your modded RC4 yet but quick question?

will i just copy the boot file? and where do i need to paste this "SystemID=XXXX-XXXX-XXX" in my boot plist?

like this?

<key>Kernel Flags</key>
<string>SystemID=XXXX-XXXX-XXX</string>

or a new entry?

<key></key>
<string>SystemID=XXXX-XXXX-XXX</string>

sorry for the noob question : D, will deauthorize my iTunes account first just to be sure..

#43
arya

arya

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
i use :

<key>SystemID</key>
<string>00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000</string>

change 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000 with some UUID

#44
sk1nhead

sk1nhead

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Manila

i use :

<key>SystemID</key>
<string>00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000</string>

change 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000 with some UUID


hahaha.. got it, so both my examples are wrong then.. will the "boot" file do the trick or i need to terminal install boot1h and boot0 too? just making sure since i'll be doing this on my main os.

how bout the UUID error 35? so far i have these in my system

screenshot: http://grab.by/1fea

EDIT:

tried the modded RC4 but no joy here displaying the correct UUID.

tried adding my SystemID=00000000-0000-1000-8000-00241D389BBD but i got this?
Posted Image

so then i tried the UUID from my drive using diskutility which is 1DF44348-8231-338D-AF3E-713AE5C09F4C but i got this instead :)
Posted Image

oh well, still thanks Arya for the help..

#45
arya

arya

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
you can just replace the "boot" to try it..

you will not have UUID Err 35 with RC4 (_CFGetHostUUIDString: unable to determine UUID for host. Error: 35)

#46
scrax

scrax

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,704 posts
  • Gender:Male

tried adding my SystemID=00000000-0000-1000-8000-00241D389BBD but i got this?

Hi,
If you read the ALL thread , you can understand that is the way it goes... :D

#47
Detrich

Detrich

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
OK, just for info, here are some UUIDs from real macs:

Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-000A95C2E73F
00:0a:95:c2:e7:3f (en0)

Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-001451634A83
00:14:51:63:4a:83 (en0)

Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-00145166A1E7
00:14:51:66:a1:e7 (en0)

#48
d00d

d00d

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 476 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:41.648324, -70.635260

OK, just for info, here are some UUIDs from real macs:

Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-000A95C2E73F
00:0a:95:c2:e7:3f (en0)

Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-001451634A83
00:14:51:63:4a:83 (en0)

Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-00145166A1E7
00:14:51:66:a1:e7 (en0)

Which real macs?
The format changes in the MacPro line (?=alphanumeric);
MacPro1,1: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-???????????? (last 12 is en0's MAC)
MacPro2,1: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-???????????? (last 12 is en0's MAC)
MacPro3,1: ????????-????-????-????-???????????? (?)
MacPro4,1: ????????-????-????-????-???????????? (?)

#49
edgar87

edgar87

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
my UUID from my REAL iMac7,1: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-001B639AD7D4

#50
Beerkex'd

Beerkex'd

    Content Provider

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Brazil
Why are you guys posting these?

#51
MacUser2525

MacUser2525

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Why are you guys posting these?


I'll go with helping people with the correct formatting of the string..

#52
rocksteady

rocksteady

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
Right!

And since when your REAL Macs have 0s in the first fields?

C'mon people, get real

#53
downlord

downlord

    InsanelyMac Greek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lisboa

Right!

And since when your REAL Macs have 0s in the first fields?

C'mon people, get real


FYI my REAL PowerMac G4 867DP, w/ Leopard 10.5.8 has indeed a lot of 0's at the beginning of the string.
My other REAL G5 and my other REAL macbook are still running Tiger, so it's difficult to tell.
;)

Have a good day.

#54
Beerkex'd

Beerkex'd

    Content Provider

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Brazil

I'll go with helping people with the correct formatting of the string..


It won't! (everyone who saw this coming, raise your hand!)

Read post #22 again until you understand what it says.

#55
Snake222

Snake222

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I know this might be slightly off-topic, but could someone please suggest why chameleon fails to install on my hard drive. I have followed insanelymac's guide up to this step and am stuck. Any suggestions?

Thanks

#56
rekursor

rekursor

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Retired Developers
  • 369 posts

I know this might be slightly off-topic, but could someone please suggest why chameleon fails to install on my hard drive. I have followed insanelymac's guide up to this step and am stuck. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Can't help : too few info.
Please submit more info about your config : mobo,processor,graphics card, memory, hdds.
Then give more info on what exact guide did you read and what version of chameleon did you try to install.

#57
cyberbuddhah

cyberbuddhah

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts

I know this might be slightly off-topic, but could someone please suggest why chameleon fails to install on my hard drive. I have followed insanelymac's guide up to this step and am stuck. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Do a manual install, says your your "OSX" volume is on diskXsY, in ther Terminal issue commands

sudo fdisk -f boot0 -u -y /dev/rdiskX


sudo dd if=boot1h of=/dev/rdiskXsY


sudo cp boot /Volumes/OSX



#58
Beerkex'd

Beerkex'd

    Content Provider

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belo Horizonte - Brazil
There are some nice installation guides posted over at the VoodooProjects forums.

#59
digital_dreamer

digital_dreamer

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,096 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri USA
So, it would appear that if the same SystemID is presented in the boot plist with this modified RC4 boot file, the same Platform UUID will be produced. Duh! Right?! Otherwise, we would have multiple UUID mayhem on each reboot.

For those of us who already have a working Platform UUID (and ByHost directory full of them), is there a way to reverse engineer this UUID? That is, present a known UUID and get the SystemID from it, and then use it to plug into the boot plist and keep our existing setup? I'd like to be able to use the existing platform UUID, if possible.

If this isn't easily achievable, then, I understand. We should just de-authorize our iTunes account before installing. The ByHost directory will take on a different UUID. And, I'll likely just get rid of the older, non-used one.

Thanks for your work, Chameleon team and rekursor!

kind regards,
MAJ

#60
rekursor

rekursor

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Retired Developers
  • 369 posts
The only way to have a reproducible, unique platform id and system-id at boot level was to permit to change the system-id. Fortunately, doing this also permit to have a unique and reproducible platform-id that is created from this system-id.
What does Platformuid.kext is publishing the platform ID as a resource, by using the IOKit services that we don't have yet at boot time (according to assembly code, that I disassembled just by curiosity).
AFAIK, it is not possible to do that at boot level, and should not be necessary anyway to ensure that your config will have unique and reproducible system-id and platform-id's.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy